Extended Audio Sample

Download Close to Home Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Close to Home, by Lisa Jackson Click for printable size audiobook cover
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lisa Jackson Narrator: Joyce Bean Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson comes an atmospheric and riveting novel of suspense that uncovers the horrifying secrets buried within a ramshackle house.

Vowing to make a fresh start, Sarah McAdams has come home to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren’t impressed by the rundown property on the shores of Oregon’s wild Columbia River. As soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories—of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found on the widow’s walk, feverish and delirious.

Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumors that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past.

But there’s a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters’ safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house’s walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more.

Download and start listening now!

bbv5

Quotes & Awards

  • “Readers who enjoy chilling tales with an element of the supernatural will find this fast-paced novel difficult to put down! The mansion at the center of the story is as much of a character as the people living in it. Jackson blends a modern thriller and a romantic reunion with a haunted past that reaches into the lives of even the youngest characters.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “A haunted house provides the stage for this exciting novel of romantic suspense.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Bestselling author Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers’ nerves, and Close to Home is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding’s suspense novels and fans of Mary Higgins Clark who don’t mind a bit more graphic grit in their stories.”

    Booklist

  • “Narrator Joyce Bean’s light tone makes this the perfect audiobook for those looking for a bit of romance-thriller-supernatural escape. Bean handles characters exceptionally well. A number of kidnapped girls figure into this book about a woman’s decision to return to her unhappy childhood home, and Bean’s voice adopts the personality of each…Bean makes each unique and three dimensional…Bean’s performance is a winner.”

    AudioFile

  • “Narrator Joyce Bean’s light tone makes this the perfect audiobook for those looking for a bit of romance-thriller-supernatural escape. Bean handles characters exceptionally well. A number of kidnapped girls figure into this book about a woman’s decision to return to her unhappy childhood home, and Bean’s voice adopts the personality of each. There’s the whiny one, the tough one, and the obnoxious goody two shoes—Bean makes each unique and three-dimensional…Bean’s performance is a winner.”

    AudioFile

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller
  • A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
  • One of Barnes & Noble's Biggest Books of August 2014
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations