Extended Audio Sample

Download Whiskey Sour Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Whiskey Sour Audiobook, by J. A. Konrath Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.45 out of 53.45 out of 53.45 out of 53.45 out of 53.45 out of 5 3.45 (31 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: J. A. Konrath Narrator: Susie Breck, Dick Hill Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Jacqueline “Jack” Daniels Mysteries Release Date: September 2004 ISBN: 9781597109772
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Lieutenant Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels is having a bad week. Her live-in boyfriend has left her for his personal trainer, chronic insomnia has caused her to max out her credit cards with late-night home shopping purchases, and a frightening killer who calls himself "The Gingerbread Man" is dumping mutilated bodies in her district.

While avoiding the FBI and its moronic profiling computer, joining a dating service, mixing it up with street thugs, and parrying the advances of an uncouth PI, Jack and her binge-eating partner, Herb, must catch the maniac before he kills again...and Jack is next on his murder list.

Whiskey Sour is the first book in the bestselling Jack Daniels series, full of laugh-out-loud humor and edge-of-your-seat suspense.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_000791

Quotes & Awards

  • “Konrath’s most distinctive contribution to the serial-killer genre.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Dual voices add considerable interest to this debut novel…The production’s conversations sound more like those of a radio play than a reading, and one gets the feeling that both actors are having fun. This is a fine series opener.”

    AudioFile

  • A 2005 Anthony Award Finalist for Best First Novel
  • A 2005 Macavity Award Finalist for Best First Mystery Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brenda | 2/17/2014

    " Jack Daniels is a tough cop who chases serial killers and she kicks some serious ass! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tari | 2/13/2014

    " A little gruesome in parts but I love the character! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jon | 2/10/2014

    " Jack Daniels is like Stephanie Plum with a brain and serious set of brass balls. Also the Ginger Bread Man is one of the greatest villains I've every read. A great book and a great audio production. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Deane | 2/3/2014

    " Too graphically violent for my taste. Rec by Cathy "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kaye | 1/30/2014

    " Very intense book. Not what I normally read so at times I had to put it down to read something else (a light hearted book) so that I could get to bed. I liked the book and will definetly read another one of J.A. Konrath's books. Awesome read! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Linda | 1/23/2014

    " It was good but pretty graphic which was a turn-off for me. May read book 2 some day... "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Su Rankin | 1/20/2014

    " I'm not fond of books that spend a lot of time describing the serial killers acts. It felt like 40% of the book was from the killers narrative I guess just not my kind of book "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Synova | 1/15/2014

    " good mystery, a little gruesome for me. The chapters flopped back and forth between Jack (main character) and the killer. It was interesting to know who the killer was up front. I like the main character, so I may check out the next book (Bloody Mary), but I'm not sure yet. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Darcie | 11/29/2013

    " I loved this book, mystery with a side of really funny. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Eva Bartle | 11/27/2013

    " Quick read! Gotta love brain candy! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christen | 10/17/2013

    " Fun, quick read for the train. Fast paced and loved the references to Chicago. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Susan | 3/17/2013

    " This novel has some snappy dialogue between Jack Daniels and her partner. That was entertaining, but not enough for me to give this book a higher rating and not enough for me to want to seek out other titles by the author. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nancy | 1/13/2013

    " giving it 3.5 stars. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marleen | 12/6/2012

    " This book was ok. I liked "Jack" Daniels, and all the other good guys. I didn't like the segments in the book where the reader is invited into the Murderer's thoughts: too many of those. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kcamitta | 11/22/2012

    " Fun series that keeps you laughing & guessing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andrea | 10/30/2012

    " The Konrath books are fun. Anybody who has a chick detective named Jack Daniels is irresistible to me. Fans of Fforde, Moore and Rankin should like these, though they lack the literary merit of those writers. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Holly Davis | 9/19/2012

    " Loved it and it scared me to death starting at the beginning but loved Jack's character and fell in love with the story. Its gritty and very thrilling!! I love all the Jack Daniel's series "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Corky | 6/23/2012

    " Great story! Can't wait for more. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Linda Boyd | 6/18/2012

    " My first book by this author and a fun series - I will continue. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Heather Letalien Costa | 3/22/2012

    " Can't wait to move onto Bloody Mary! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Haley | 10/17/2011

    " I was listening to the audio version of this book, and it was extremely graphic. The reader was very good at portraying the villain. It was extremely disturbing. I'm sure if I had been reading as opposed to listening it would have been more enjoyable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gail | 5/31/2011

    " En joyed this book! misxture of Janet Evaonovich and Patricia Cornwell. Was surprised to learn author is male because the female protagonist was well written. Now I have to read the rest of the series! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Paulette | 5/13/2011

    " Gorey and sick but lots 0f wit . "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Stephanie | 5/11/2011

    " I am completely hooked on this series. Love and adore Jack, and the Gingerbread Man was honestly creepy. Partway through the second book now. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jake | 5/6/2011

    " Audio Book. Jack Daniels is a female detective in the Chicago PD. She is pretty tough and a crack shot but her personal life is a disaster. She is chasing the Ginger Bread Man killer. It was good and entertaining and a little bit gruesome. I will loo "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rebecca | 4/30/2011

    " a good quick read a little gruesome in places but never over done. I will certainly read the sequel
    "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary | 4/17/2011

    " Really liked this booked. It had great dialogue and a suspenseful story line. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Deborah | 3/27/2011

    " A decent mystery. I enjoy the main character Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels. Strong female cop with her share of faults, and a quick wit.I'll definetly read more of the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elizabeth | 3/15/2011

    " I really loked this book. Jack Daniels is a great heroine and there was just the right mix of humor and savage crime to keep the book moving and me wanting to know what was going to happen next. I look forward to reading the rest of the series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Susan | 3/10/2011

    " This novel has some snappy dialogue between Jack Daniels and her partner. That was entertaining, but not enough for me to give this book a higher rating and not enough for me to want to seek out other titles by the author. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

J. A. Konrath (a.k.a. Joe Konrath, Jack Kilborn, and Joe Kimball) is the author of eight novels in the Jack Daniels thriller series, including Whiskey Sour, Bloody Mary, Rusty Nail, Dirty Martini, Fuzzy Navel, Cherry Bomb, Shaken, and Stirred. Konrath writes horror under the pseudonym Jack Kilborn (Afraid, Trapped, and Endurance) and science fiction under the name Joe Kimball. He has sold over one million e-books.

About the Narrators

Susie Breck’s work has garnered awards both as narrator and director. She won an Audie Award, the audiobook industry’s top honor, for her narration of Sharyn McCrumb’s Ghost Riders. She is married to fellow voice talent Dick Hill, an AudioFile Golden Voice.

Dick Hill, named a Golden Voice by AudioFile magazine, is one of the most awarded narrators in the business, having earned several Audie Awards and dozens of AudioFile Earphones Awards. In addition to narrating, he has both acted in and written for the theater.