Extended Audio Sample

Download The Prayer Box: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Prayer Box: A Novel, by Lisa Wingate Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lisa Wingate Narrator: Xe Sand Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A young woman, an old woman, and the story of a lifetime…

When Iola Anne Poole, an old-timer on Hatteras Island, passes away in her bed at ninety-one, the struggling young mother in her rental cottage, Tandi Jo Reese, finds herself charged with the task of cleaning out Iola’s rambling Victorian house.

Running from a messy, dangerous past, Tandi never expects to find more than a temporary hiding place within Iola’s walls, but everything changes with the discovery of eighty-one carefully decorated prayer boxes, one for each year, dating from Iola’s youth to her last days. Hidden in the boxes is the story of a lifetime, written on random bits of paper—the hopes and wishes, fears and thoughts of an unassuming but complex woman passing through the seasons of an extraordinary, unsung life filled with journeys of faith, observations on love, and one final lesson that could change everything.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “I am in awe of Lisa Wingate’s talent. She strikes the heart and turns my gaze toward heaven’s door. The Prayer Box is a masterpiece of story and skill.”

    Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author

  • “A book that transcends simple hope and healing while capturing the heart of the reader. Tandi’s story is an enchanting take on family ties, redemption, and of allowing oneself to be swept up into a river of grace regardless of one’s past. And, in the end, perhaps it’s also a testament to the fact that maybe, sometimes, you really can go home again.”

    Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Tenderly woven. Skillfully threaded. A grab-your-heart story about faith, the healing power of love, and how both are often found in unlikely places.”

    Charles Martin, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Readers will delight in this gorgeously written, true gem of a novel. Wingate has a way with phrasing that makes one stop and savor certain passages because they are incredibly meaningful—not only to the telling of the tale, but to the reader’s own life.”

    RT Book Reviews (4½ stars)

  • “Lisa Wingate writes with grace, beauty, and so much heart.”

    Sarah Jio, New York Times bestselling author

  • “With a careful eye to detail and a beautiful, lyrical style reminiscent of those of Mary Alice Monroe and Patti Callahan Henry, Wingate vividly sets Tandi’s struggles in a once beautiful Victorian mansion now falling to ruin and guarded by a cranky cat in a small town recovering from the ravages of a hurricane.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Masterful….At times both sweet and sad, soul-warming and heartbreaking, the accessible writing style and attention to detail serve to enrobe readers in the love poured into weaving together the lives of Iola and Tandi in a meaningful, rich way. Relatable characters and vivid portrayals of events both current and historical create an enchanting, memorable pilgrimage into the fullness of faith and love.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Two-time Carol Award winner Wingate has written a moving and inspiring story with interesting female characters and a colorful Southern backdrop. A good option for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Mary Alice Monroe.”

    Library Journal

  • “Lisa Wingate is a remarkably gifted storyteller. Her novels both captivate and cradle you, and The Prayer Box is Lisa at her finest. Tandi’s extraordinary journey of healing and hope on Hatteras Island is a mesmerizing thrill and a joy you’ll want to savor. However, beware, you will not be able to put this story down!”

    Beth Webb Hart, bestselling author of Moon over Edisto

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations