Extended Audio Sample

Download The Last Song Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Last Song Audiobook, by Nicholas Sparks Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (174,478 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Nicholas Sparks Narrator: Pepper Binkley, Scott Sowers Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2009 ISBN: 9781600246425
Regular Price: $19.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

#1 bestselling author Nicholas Sparks's new novel is at once a compelling family drama and a heartrending tale of young love.
Seventeen year old Veronica "Ronnie" Miller's life was turned upside-down when her parents divorced and her father moved from New York City to Wilmington, North Carolina. Three years later, she remains angry and alientated from her parents, especially her father...until her mother decides it would be in everyone's best interest if she spent the summer in Wilmington with him. Ronnie's father, a former concert pianist and teacher, is living a quiet life in the beach town, immersed in creating a work of art that will become the centerpiece of a local church.
The tale that unfolds is an unforgettable story of love on many levels -- first love, love between parents and children -- that demonstrates, as only a Nicholas Sparks novel can, the many ways that love can break our hearts...and heal them.
Download and start listening now!

aasc

Quotes & Awards

  • “Nicholas Sparks’ blockbuster novels are like hot buttered Orville Redenbacher for the soul: highly consumable [and] comforting…Fans of The Notebook, Message in a Bottle, etc., will gobble [The Last Song] up with glee.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “Sparks’ legions of admirers will relish this emotional roller coaster ride narrated in two voices…Binkley’s voice is suitably youthful for the teenaged Ronnie and her Southern accents are consistent…[Sowers’] deep, serious voice imbues Steve’s quest for religion and family with purpose. Background piano music underscores the wistful yet uplifting mood of the story.”

    AudioFile

  • “As the story of The Last Song unfolds, novelist Nicholas Sparks weaves his magic, threading together the intricate story of three very different people tied inextricably together.”

    Barnes & Noble, editorial review

  • A #1 New York Times Bestseller
  • A #1 USA Today Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kalyn Schwartz | 1/31/2014

    " I am not much of a reader, but when I get into a good book I can't stop reading. This book caught my attention. I saw the movie which is why I considered reading the book. As in most cases, the book was MUCH better than the movie. The author really connects with the reader by giving detail and really putting a picture into your mind. I recommend this book to any teenager, not just girls. I think it really teaches you how not to take this for granted and how things aren't always what they seem. Keep the important things close to you. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sydney | 1/25/2014

    " i liked the movie. (actually its my favorite movie) but i loved the book. ronnie is a very complex girl i love it "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kayla Rodriguez | 1/19/2014

    " The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks is one of my favorite books. its all about romance and expecting things that you will have never thought would happen. its all about a teenage girl who falls in love and has to learn how to forgive people even if it hurts. it shows that letting go of grudges will make you forgive the person but all apreciate the person even more. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sarah Shackelford | 1/8/2014

    " I was flying through the first 2/3 of this book until I hit the end when I found out that Roni's dad is dying of cancer. That was hard. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lindsey | 12/19/2013

    " Very very incredible! Both the book and the movie blue me away! Really realistic! Hit home <3 "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mandy Fogleman | 12/2/2013

    " I absolutely loved this book.I seen the movie first and knew I HAD to read the book.It was sad at some parts....every now and then I had to stop reading and pull myself back together! Very moving journey for all ages. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sandra | 11/3/2013

    " This book was awesome! I saw the movie when I was halfway through with the book and then went back and finished it and I loved them both so much! Highly recommend! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jackson Barnett | 10/24/2013

    " So I actually liked this book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Maegen La grasta | 10/19/2013

    " Actually just finished this book and I to fell in love....never left my hands "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Danielle Van Heuklon | 10/4/2013

    " I definitely had another look on my family after reading this. I stopped and thanked God for every day I get to spend with them! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kirsty Jackson | 9/16/2013

    " Cried so much! Such a good book! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kristina Lenarczyk | 6/12/2013

    " It was a cute story that was definitely sad at times. I really enjoyed it, but I can't say it was one of my favorites. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 D'lisa Boss | 11/11/2012

    " Loved it. A quick read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Meriehellene | 8/25/2012

    " Youthful characters very refreshing. However, if you need to cry, this is the book for you. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Skyler | 5/28/2012

    " I really liked this book. But knowing Miley Cyrus played Ronnie really made me not like this book. Even though I have not seen the movie I just kept picturing Miley Cyrus as Ronnie and I just couldn't get over it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shelby Irby | 3/31/2012

    " really good book. i re read it...... a lot. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mèo Khìn | 12/3/2011

    " I LOVE Nicholas Sparks and his works. This story was kinda slowly for the first 100 pages but when it turned to the "hook-up", I just couldn't put it downn. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Beca MacKinnon | 11/25/2011

    " I loved this book so much, it was beautiful and heart-wrenching and just ah, so good. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Emily | 10/27/2011

    " Everyone I know prefers Nicholas Sparks movies to the novel, but in this case I feel both hold their own pretty well. I finished this book in two sittings and I highly recommend the book in this case! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bhakti | 10/12/2011

    " AMAZINGG STORY! Personally think it's better than movies. Cried the last hundred pages non-stop. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Honeybee | 5/23/2011

    " I'm not a big Nicholas Sparks fan, but my mom bought me a big pile of them for Christmas, so I thought I'd give the books a try. I was pleasantly surprised by this one! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Allison | 5/22/2011

    " Made me cry. Best of his books that I've read though. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lynn | 5/22/2011

    " Not a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, but enjoyed this one more than some of his others - it seemed more believable. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lynnphotos84 | 5/22/2011

    " Amazing book! Far better than the movie ;-) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Samantha | 5/22/2011

    " Best book I have EVER read! It was just amazing, I really loved how Nicholas Sparks had alot of drama in the book but he didn't go totally overboard with it.....Nicholas Sparks, Best author EVER!!! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Amanda | 5/21/2011

    " I hated the movie it just killed Ronnie... =( "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Klaudyna | 5/21/2011

    " This book was also very good, no surprise there. I cried a lot towards the end even though it ended sadly, at least there was a happy ending for Ronnie and I liked that the book ended on a good note. Again, I would recommend this book for anyone who enjoys Nicholas Sparks. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Samantha | 5/21/2011

    " I found it a bit bland durring the first half of the book. But really enjoyed the rest!, it was quite emotional in the end but i am so glad I did finish reading this book and would recommend it to anyone, but be prepared to cry a fair bit! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Maddie | 5/20/2011

    " Nicholas Sparks is one of my favorite authors, I highly recommend reading The Last Song. I have read it so many times, it is definitely my favorite book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Teodora | 5/20/2011

    " i really like this book..this is the first time i ever cried during reading a book.
    I would recommend it to everyone because of it, much can be learned ... How to forgive,how to love and to be loved.Fortunately first love is the right one and she finally wins.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Annie | 5/19/2011

    " the book version is a lot more cuter than the movie...since i watched the movie first then the book, i tend to compare....anyway Nicholas Sparks' books never failed me! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jessica | 5/19/2011

    " Really really good. Such a sad end "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Suzi | 5/19/2011

    " loved the book and loved the movie!!!
    "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 David | 5/18/2011

    " A slow developing story, the characters grow as you read. Another in the long list of good reads from Nicholas Sparks. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amy | 5/17/2011

    " I liked the movie, I loved the book. It adds a whole new depth to the father and I didnt have to stare and miley cyrus for two hours. My favorite summer book of last year. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Nicholas Sparks

With over 100 million copies of his books sold, Nicholas Sparks is one of the world’s most beloved storytellers. His novels include twelve #1 New York Times bestsellers. All his books have been New York Times and international bestsellers, and were translated into more than fifty languages. Ten Sparks novels have been adapted into major motion pictures, with The Choice in February 2016.

About the Narrators

Pepper Binkley is an American actress who has appeared in films such as Asylum Seekers, Morning Glory, and Let Them Chirp Awhile.  She attended the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art and is a member of the Ensemble Studio Theatre in New York City. Binkley also narrated the bestselling novel The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks.

Scott Sowers is an actor and audiobook narrator. AudioFile magazine named him the 2008 Best Voice in Mystery and Suspense.