Extended Audio Sample

Download The Cold Dish Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Cold Dish, by Craig Johnson Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.00058055152395 out of 54.00058055152395 out of 54.00058055152395 out of 54.00058055152395 out of 54.00058055152395 out of 5 4.00 (3,445 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Craig Johnson Narrator: George Guidal Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Walt Longmire Mysteries Release Date:
Regular Price: $29.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Walt Longmire is sheriff of Absaroka county in Wyoming. His wife has died, and he has lost interest in pretty much everything except the nightly drink that allows him to sleep each night.

He is merely going through the motions until the murder of Cody Pritchard forces him into action. Cody had been one of the four boys who, two years earlier, had escaped punishment after raping a young Cheyenne girl and could have been murdered by almost anyone in the town. Cody is the second of the two boys who have been killed, so he must draw upon all of his resources to protect the other two. Someone is bound and determined to wreak revenge, and it is Walt's job to stop that person.

The last thing Walt Longmire wants to get involved in is conducting an investigation of people he has known and respected, which include many of his colleagues and even his best friend.

The setting of this novel is against the backdrop of breathtaking mountains and scenic beauty. This natural landscape plays into its appeal, as do the rich traditions of the Northern Cheyenne people and life on their reservation.

Craig Johnson is author of the Walt Longmire mystery series, and has won numerous awards for his books. The series has served as the basis for the popular A & E drama, Longmire, starring Robert Taylor.

Johnson lives in Ucross, a small town in Wyoming with population of under 50, where he continues to write. His knowledge of the western landscape and skill at writing lifts his book far above the typical cowboy or western novel one might expect.

Introducing Wyoming’s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies. The Walt Longmire Mystery series is the basis for Longmire, the hit A&E original drama series.

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr, and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel in the series, set in Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody was one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.

With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A winning piece of work, and a convincing feel to the whole package.”

    Washington Post

  • “We in the West have a major new talent on our hands.”

    Denver Post

  • “A strong sense of place, a credible plot, and deft dialogue lift Johnson’s good-humored debut novel.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “A multilayered whodunit mystery, stands out in its genre.”


  • A 2006 Dilys Award Finalist
  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by David Caligaris | 2/15/2014

    " I really liked this book. It was his first effort and a subject he knows well. Humorous asides, and, had me wondering 'who did it' to the very end. Hey, my living in 'another square state' (CO) didn't hurt. I knew many of the places he talked about. Hell, I think I was even married in Wyoming once. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Cody | 2/14/2014

    " It was interesting, but it wasn't great. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Lauren | 2/4/2014

    " Pretty good but a bit slow moving. Interesting protagonists (Walt Longmire and Henry Standing Bear. Victims not so well developed or interesting. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Tabitha | 2/4/2014

    " Well written. I enjoyed reading his writing. I know my boys in class who like CJ Box, Wyoming, and wilderness books will like this series, too. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Craig Johnson

Craig Johnson is New York Times bestselling author of a number of critically-acclaimed mystery novels. His novel The Cold Dish was a DILYS Award finalist and won the Prix du Roman Noir as the best mystery novel translated into French in 2010. Death without Company was selected by Booklist as one of the top ten mysteries of 2006 and won the Wyoming Historical Society’s fiction book of the year. The television series Longmire is based on Johnson’s novels and premiered in 2012 on A&E. Johnson currently lives with his wife in Ucross, Wyoming.