Extended Audio Sample

Download Death without Company Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Death without Company Audiobook, by Craig Johnson Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.0009746588694 out of 54.0009746588694 out of 54.0009746588694 out of 54.0009746588694 out of 54.0009746588694 out of 5 4.00 (2,052 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Craig Johnson Narrator: George Guidall Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Walt Longmire Mysteries Release Date: December 2012 ISBN: 9781440781032
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Walt investigates a death by poison in this gripping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies. This is the second book in the Walt Longmire Mystery series, the basis for Longmire, the hit A&E original drama series.

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr, and Robert B. Parker will love Craig Johnson, who garnered both praise and an enthusiastic readership with his acclaimed debut novel featuring Sheriff Walt Longmire. Now Johnson takes us back to the rugged landscape of Absaroka County, Wyoming.

When Mari Baroja is found poisoned at the Durant Home for Assisted Living, Sheriff Longmire is drawn into an investigation that reaches fifty years into the mysterious woman’s dramatic Basque past. Aided by his friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and newcomer Santiago Saizarbitoria, Sheriff Longmire must connect the specter of the past with the present to find the killer among them.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_001244

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 abigail89 | 2/16/2014

    " As a fan of the TV series on A&E I wanted to read the source of the remarkable characters I came to love. In Johnson's hands Walt Longmire is much more humorous and he & Henry together are a hoot. Johnson's prose is clean & spare and very readable. I'm a fan. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Fred Salter | 2/15/2014

    " Good book with a lot of background character on Lucian the former Sheriff. This had a lot going for it. Loved it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 William | 2/12/2014

    " Good follow up to Cold Dish "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brandon | 2/8/2014

    " If you like mysteries and westerns this is a great option. Compelling characters, unexpected twists, and wonderfully dry humor. Days later and I'm still thinking about Walt, Henry, and Vic. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joanne | 1/29/2014

    " second book in this series...really like them! The characters develop individually and in relationship to each other in each of the books. If you like mysteries with a bit more depth and stories about the west, you'll like this series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Victoria | 1/28/2014

    " I enjoyed this story. A great summer mystery. I like the characters and the discription of the country. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jessica | 1/17/2014

    " Another great entry in the Longmire Series (#2). Some new characters are introduced in this book and I look forward to reading more about them. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Geoffrey Thorpe | 1/13/2014

    " Even better than The Cold Dish. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ellen | 12/29/2013

    " Addicted.... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lisa | 12/24/2013

    " Something a bit different. Interesting - a great read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Donna | 12/12/2013

    " I thought Walt was losing his touch at first. Great story. Loved the last 100 pages when it all went into FF. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim Barrett | 12/12/2013

    " Great characters, some nice twists, and a real feel for the Wyoming setting. I thought this book was better than the first. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kay | 12/9/2013

    " This, the second book in a series, is a well-written whodunit centered on the Basque sheepherders who play an important role in the Wyoming and Nevada regions of the West. I'm always eager to revisit Johnson's ensemble of quirky but appealing characters, both law enforcement and townspeople. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cynthia Rielley | 12/6/2013

    " Love Love Love this series. Fantastic characters, great pace and story. I laugh , tense up, laugh again. If you like sarcastic characters, you will love this series. Audible is the best way to enjoy these in my opinion, "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 James | 11/16/2013

    " I liked this book very much. Although grim in places, the interactions between the characters had me barking with laughter. The mystery was neither too obvious nor too obscured. Just about right. I am enjoying this series and am looking forward to the next book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Terry | 6/9/2013

    " This novel is structured as a mystery centered around Sheriff Walt Longmire of Durant, Wyoming. However, the plot seems somewhat secondary to the social issues of abuse, discrimination, and aging along with a nod to the universal themes of friendship, family, and greed. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sue Wargo | 2/9/2013

    " This is the second in the series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 kenpen | 1/11/2013

    " I think I part way love these books because I used to live in Sheridan, Wyo (kind of the setting for the books, but Johnson creates a fictional Wyoming county) and I feel connected to the books that way. A good mystery regardless of my connection to the setting. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lizziekate | 12/7/2012

    " Wow...this is one of the better series of books I've read. Great characters, interesting mysteries and just enough supernatural to make me smile. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christe | 7/12/2012

    " Another great read from Craig Johnson with a twist at the end. I love the mix of delicate, serious situations with Mr. Johnson's humor thrown in and the suspense. Also, the ongoing relationship with Sheriff Longmire & Henry is very entertaining. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Scout | 12/12/2011

    " This is the second book in the series and much better than the first. Worth reading if you like interesting characters and dialogue. There's also a humorous stakeout scene in the hospital. Longmire isn't your typical Western lawman. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Theresa Sivelle | 10/28/2011

    " I just love these stories. I enjoy each and every one of the characters and the man reading these is excellent. Great books. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sharon Hastings | 9/4/2011

    " Not as dark and I am loving the characters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Teresa R. | 7/16/2011

    " love the Wy setting. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jim | 6/15/2011

    " Solid sequel. Really enjoy the characters. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michael | 3/31/2011

    " This is the second one I read of this series, I still enjoyed and laughed out loud but for some reason his style in this earlier book was harder for me to read "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Johanna | 3/12/2011

    " I love the writing! The plot wasn't quite as good as I had hoped. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hrn1947 | 2/15/2011

    " second book in the series. It's hard to not like the main character. there is an open space feel to the story. Vic is something else. Should be read in order. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Janice | 1/23/2011

    " Mr. Johnson does near-death and struggling scenes to perfection. Even though I know there are more books in the series, so he will live, I was totally absorbed and worried. I thought this book was even better than his first. A great story with great characters. Thank you Craig Johnson. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vickie | 12/20/2010

    " Highly excellent and can't wait to listen to the next one. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michael | 11/11/2010

    " This series is getting better and better. I can't wait to see what Walt and his Native American friends are up to next. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John | 8/22/2010

    " Craig Johnson's mystery novels featuring Wyoming sheriff Walt Longmire is my favorite new series. Johnson was a police officer and has a good sense of humor. He creates sympathetic characters and handles suspense well. Longmire is a likeable character and the supporting cast are a good bunch. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Craig Johnson

Craig Johnson is New York Times bestselling author of a number of critically-acclaimed mystery novels. His novel The Cold Dish was a DILYS Award finalist and won the Prix du Roman Noir as the best mystery novel translated into French in 2010. Death without Company was selected by Booklist as one of the top ten mysteries of 2006 and won the Wyoming Historical Society’s fiction book of the year. The television series Longmire is based on Johnson’s novels and premiered in 2012 on A&E. Johnson currently lives with his wife in Ucross, Wyoming.

About the Narrator

George Guidall, winner of eighty-eight AudioFile Earphones Awards, has twice won the prestigious Audie Award for Excellence in Audiobook Narration. In 2014 the Audio Publishers Association presented him with the Special Achievement Award for an audiobook narrator of exceptional stature and accomplishment. During his thirty-year recording career he has recorded over 1,100 audiobooks, won multiple awards, been a mentor to many narrators, and shown by example the potential of fine storytelling. Among Guidall’s narration achievements are Crime and Punishment, The Iliad, and John Irving’s A Widow for One Year, which earned him an Audie Award for best unabridged narration of a novel, an honor he captured again for his rendition of Wally Lamb’s I Know This Much Is True. Guidall’s forty-year acting career includes starring roles on Broadway, an Obie Award for best performance off Broadway, and frequent television appearances.