Extended Audio Sample

Download Breaking Point Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Breaking Point Audiobook, by C. J. Box Click for printable size audiobook cover
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00 (3 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: C. J. Box Narrator: David Chandler Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Joe Pickett Series Release Date: March 2013 ISBN: 9781470335922
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The thrilling new Joe Pickett novel from New York Times bestselling author C. J. Box

Critics called Force of Nature an“amazing” (Associated Press), “outstanding” (Minneapolis Star Tribune), “warp speed…showdown between good and evil” (Denver Post).

Breaking Point, however, takes Joe Pickett into uncharted territory. The question is: What will he do when he gets there?

It was always good to see Butch Roberson, Joe thought—a hardworking, upright local business owner whose daughter was friends with his own. Little did he know that when he talked to Butch that day in the forest, the man was about to disappear. He was heading into the mountains to scout elk, he said, but really he was running. Two EPA employees had just been murdered, and all signs pointed to him as the killer.

As the manhunt organized itself, Joe heard more of the story—about the tract of land Butch and his wife had bought to build their retirement home on, until the EPA declared it a wetland; about the penalties they charged him when he balked, new ones piling up every day, until the family was torn apart and finally, it seems, the man just cracked.

It was an awful story. But was it the whole story? The more Joe looks into it, the more he begins to wonder—and the more he finds himself in the middle of a war he never expected and never wanted. Powerful forces want Roberson not just caught but dead, and the same goes for anyone who stands in their way.

Every man reaches his breaking point. Joe Pickett may just have reached his.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “As always, C. J. Box has produced a mystery thriller with the feel of the Wyoming wilds, strong characters, and a sturdy plot.”

    Barnes & Noble, editorial review

  • “Excellent…Thrilling wilderness chases, chilling stories of the abuse of power, and Pickett’s indomitable frontier spirit power this explosive novel.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Thrilling…[You’ll] have a hard time putting this one down and turning off the light.”


  • “Box doles out the complications and misfortunes with masterly control…One of [Box’s] most exciting [novels].”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

C. J. Box is the author of the award-winning Joe Pickett series, including Open Season, Savage Run, Winterkill, Trophy Hunt, Out of Range, and In Plain Sight. He has also written numerous other stand alone novels, short stories, and essays. He is the winner of an Anthony Award, the Macavity Award, the Barry Award, and an Edgar Award for Best Novel. An avid outdoorsman, Box has hunted, fished, hiked, ridden, and skied throughout Wyoming and the mountains of the West. He lives outside of Cheyenne, Wyoming and serves on the board of directors for the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo.

About the Narrator

David Chandler is an audiobook narrator who has read numerous titles for William Kent Krueger and C. J. Box, among others. He is the winner of two AudioFile Earphones Awards.