Extended Audio Sample

Download Newt’s Emerald: Magic, Maids, and Masquerades Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Newt’s Emerald: Magic, Maids, and Masquerades, by Garth Nix Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Garth Nix Narrator: Faye Adele Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $18.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Inspired by the works of Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen, Garth Nix’s Newt’s Emerald is a Regency romance with a fantasy twist. New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger calls it “charming; quite, quite charming.”

After Lady Truthful’s magical Newington Emerald is stolen from her, she devises a simple plan: go to London to recover the missing jewel. She quickly learns, however, that a woman cannot wander the city streets alone without damaging her reputation, and she disguises herself as a mustache-wearing man. During Truthful’s dangerous journey she discovers a crook, an unsuspecting ally, and an evil sorceress—but will she find the emerald?

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A surprise from Garth Nix: a Regency romance with magic. Charming; quite, quite charming.”

    Gail Carriger, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Quick-changes, mistaken identities, treachery, and an evil sorceress make this story an utter delight. Truthful and Harnett’s rapport smacks of Austen’s Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy, as propriety and quips mask their begrudging affection for each other. Part comedy of manners, part fantasy adventure, this lighthearted romp is ridiculous fun.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “At her eighteenth birthday party, Lady Truthful, daughter of Admiral the Viscount Newington, is presented with the fabulous Newington Emerald, an heirloom of great magical power—which is immediately stolen by persons unknown…Nix describes meals and clothing in delicious detail…This romance should please the author’s regular readers and Georgette Heyer fans alike.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “An author known for his imaginative worldbuilding tackles fantasy Regency romance…Entertaining.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations