Extended Audio Sample

Download Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen, by Garth Nix Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Garth Nix Narrator: Graeme Malcolm Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Old Kingdom/Abhorsen Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The long-awaited fourth book in the New York Times bestselling Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix

Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the king. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself; yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the king?

Download and start listening now!

bbtd

Quotes & Awards

  • “In a prequel to his classic Old Kingdom series, set some six hundred years before the previous novels, Nix introduces Clariel, the seventeen-year-old daughter of a supremely talented goldsmith mother…Between striking characters—from the heroic if not entirely competent young Abhorsen-in-waiting, Belatiel, to the enigmatic, catlike Mogget—and Nix’s brilliantly complex magic system, this superb tale is exactly the book fans of the series have been awaiting.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Nix pens a compelling character in Clariel while his skill in rendering both politics and magic is strong. This excellent work can be enjoyed independently of the other Old Kingdom novels, but will certainly draw readers to those works.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Clariel is a deeply sympathetic character faced with complicated choices, the consequences of which are frighteningly uncertain as she is pulled between the wild Free Magic and the disciplined Charter. A bittersweet story.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Nix’s tale provides a complete experience unto itself. But his focus on this strong character whose overriding passion is to go her own way provides a hugely satisfying background to the other Abhorsen books. A suspenseful prequel to the much-loved Abhorsen books, showcasing the independent Clariel.”

    Shelf Awareness (starred review)

  • “Selfishness and betrayal provoke inexorable tragedy in this dark prequel to a beloved fantasy trilogy…A thunderstorm of a tale, bitter and brutal but dazzling in its ferocity.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Fans will treasure this long-awaited opportunity to return to a much-loved world, built with as much originality and richness as ever.”

    Horn Book

  • “Graeme Malcolm isn’t the obvious choice to narrate a fantasy about a teenaged girl, but his sonorous voice complements the seriousness of the main character, Clariel, as she grapples with duty, desire, and a murky moral landscape…Malcolm creates character voices that help listeners follow the story as Clariel becomes involved in a plot to overthrow the king and is tempted by dangerous Free Magic creatures. Malcolm paces his performance to heighten the tension as Clariel’s situation grows more complicated. This prequel will satisfy fans as well as those new to Nix’s Old Kingdom series.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations