The Heroes of Olympus, Book Three: The Mark of Athena Audiobook, by Rick Riordan Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Heroes of Olympus, Book Three: The Mark of Athena Audiobook

The Heroes of Olympus, Book Three: The Mark of Athena Audiobook, by Rick Riordan Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
Author: Rick Riordan Narrator: Joshua Swanson Publisher: Listening Library Audio Length: Series:The Heroes of Olympus Series Release Date: October 2012 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780449014516

Plot Summary

Wisdom's daughter walks alone,

The Mark of Athena burns through Rome,

Twins snuff out the angel's breath,

Who holds the key to endless death.

Giants' bane stands gold and pale,

Won through pain from a woven jail.

That is the prophecy which sends Percy, Annabeth, and their companions on their latest quest in The Mark of Athena: The Heroes of Olympus, Book 3.

Percy Jackson and Jason Grace had been well-liked leaders of their respective camps (Percy at the Greek Camp Halfblood and Jason at the Roman Camp Jupiter) until the meddling goddess Hera/Juno erased their memories and forced them to switch places. Now their memories have been restored, and they have been reunited with their old friends, only to find out that they must set out again, this time to fulfill an ancient prophecy.

Things do not get off to a particularly good start, however, as these two camps have been feuding since, well, forever. Just when it seems as though a ceasefire might happen, a member of Camp Halfblood begins attacking Camp Jupiter, and the Roman Legion seeks to retaliate. Percy, Jason, and five of their friends are able to escape on a flying ship, however, and begin their quest to save the world.

But one member of their party has a secret. Annabeth Chase, daughter of Athena and girlfriend of Percy, has been given a special mission from her mother. A mission to follow the path of Athena, and to avenge a wrong which was once committed against her mother. As the seven set out to save the earth from destruction, Annabeth must choose whether her true loyalties lie with her friends who she knows and loves, or her mother who she respects and worships, but rarely hears from.

Rick Riordan is a former school teacher and bestselling author of three young adult fiction series, each focusing in the mythology of a different ancient culture. Having first found success with his Greek mythology-inspired Percy Jackson series, Riordan has since turned his attention to the worlds of Ancient Egypt and the Roman Empire.

Publisher Summary

Annabeth is terrified. Just when she’s about to be reunited with Percy—after six months of being apart, thanks to Hera—it looks like Camp Jupiter is preparing for war. As Annabeth and her friends Jason, Piper, and Leo fly in on the Argo II, she can’t blame the Roman demigods for thinking the ship is a Greek weapon. With its steaming bronze dragon figurehead, Leo’s fantastical creation doesn’t appear friendly. Annabeth hopes that the sight of their praetor Jason on deck will reassure the Romans that the visitors from Camp Half-Blood are coming in peace.

And that’s only one of her worries. In her pocket, Annabeth carries a gift from her mother that came with an unnerving command: Follow the Mark of Athena. Avenge me. Annabeth already feels weighed down by the prophecy that will send seven demigods on a quest to find—and close—the Doors of Death. What more does Athena want from her?

Annabeth’s biggest fear, though, is that Percy might have changed. What if he’s now attached to Roman ways? Does he still need his old friends? As the daughter of the goddess of war and wisdom, Annabeth knows she was born to be a leader—but never again does she want to be without Seaweed Brain by her side.

Download and start listening now!


  • A Publishers Weekly bestseller

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Rick Riordan is the New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, the Kane Chronicles, and the Heroes of Olympus. He is also the author of the award-winning Tres Navarre mystery series for adults, winner of the top three awards in the mystery genre. For fifteen years, he taught English and history at public and private middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Texas and was honored him with the St. Mary’s School’s first Master Teacher Award.

About the Narrator

Joshua Swanson is an actor and voiceover talent. He’s worked in major motion pictures and television and as a voice talent has worked in all facets of the business. An award-winning audiobook narrator with over sixty titles to his name, Swanson has won five AudioFile Earphones Awards.