Extended Audio Sample

Download Strip Tease Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Strip Tease, by Carl Hiaasen Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (7,476 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Carl Hiaasen Narrator: George K. Wilson Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 1993 ISBN: 9781436125826
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

When a deranged Florida congressman falls for a gorgeous but virtuous stripper, he dedicates himself to pursuing this tasselled princess. Not only is she a real beauty, she’s a damsel in distress. The effects of his quest will ripple through the spotlights of the strip joint, the sugar cane fields of south Florida, and some powerful political careers. Fueled by innocent lust and dizzy miscalculations, this story will keep you howling with surprise.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_004474

Quotes & Awards

  • “[A] cross between Dave Barry and Elmore Leonard…Among his freaks and obsessives, his corrupters and corrupted, his brain-dead and his frenetically active, the author has dropped a real honest-to-God human being, an appealing young woman named Erin Grant. Her presence, her history and goals, make the cartoon nastiness around her less cartoony and more nasty than in previous Hiaasen novels.”

    Donald E. Westlake

  • “Sardonic, hilarious…a deeply satisfying read…Strip Tease is a bubble of oxygen in the stagnating pond of crime fiction in the 1990s, proof positive, in the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Donald Westlake, that humor is an effective treatment for the cancer of corruption.”

    Washington Post Book World

  • “A deadly caper…Hiaasen’s energetic dialogue and warm-hearted humor make the book hard to put down. Inventive, witty, and refreshingly entertaining, Hiaasen scores a hit with this madcap adventure.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “His decidedly best novel…Strip Tease is revealing, titillating, and funny as hell.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “Sharp but never slick humane but never sentimental, Hiaasen is fast emerging as our most nimble satirist.”

    Newsweek

  • “Inventive blackmail schemes, grisly murders, power politics, greed, revenge, and sex all figure in Hiaasen’s latest comic crime novel…[a] consistently entertaining, warm-blooded tale.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Prime Hiaasen, and with a new edge: sexier, more violent, more political, but just as funny.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lee | 2/19/2014

    " A whole lot better than the movie!!! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nita Shaw | 1/25/2014

    " I love anything Carl Hiassen writes. He has such a way of finding such interesting and wacky characters for his books. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nancy | 1/24/2014

    " A good fast read with a plot offering twists and turns, but stays believeable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brendan Powell | 1/19/2014

    " Another fun Carl Hiaasen book...nice easy and fun reads! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 christie | 1/17/2014

    " this book is about a congressman, a stripper, sugar subsidies, custody battles, fraud and probably some other stuff too. good fluff. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Eciroli | 1/16/2014

    " Three and a half stars! I'm glad I never saw the movie! A great vacation read! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katy | 1/15/2014

    " another fun Hiaasen book "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Terri Milstead | 1/12/2014

    " Didn't finish this one. I was a little tired of reading about a stripper with a heart of gold to finish it. Disappointing because I have enjoyed all of the Hiaasen books I've read up to this one. I will continue to read his work, but I did have to just put this one down. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mike Metcalf | 1/10/2014

    " This book reads as fast as fluff but I keep coming back to it for more than just enjoyment. It packs a lot more than expected into its engaging tale than just weird characters. The social commentary may be its most valuable part. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Susan Mangigian | 1/4/2014

    " Just finished this book. I love these books. They are a great diversion. My mom can't stand them and we usually agree on books. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Beth | 12/15/2013

    " fun guilty pleasure at the beach. (If even half of what he writes about the sugar industry is true, I may have to switch to unsweet iced tea.) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Riina | 12/10/2013

    " Read this as an illeagal (without cover) copy bought from a street vendor in Kolkata (the Calcutta) and I don't know if the books was really that funny or was it just that it was exhilarating to read something so not proper (I was being very proper, even by Indian social standards). "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Linda Verdicchio | 12/6/2013

    " Humorous--what a collection of characters! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dave | 12/3/2013

    " Enjoyed it but it is not as well crafted, nowhere as wild and smooth as Sick Puppy. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 J L Rehman | 11/29/2013

    " This is an author who pays attention to details and does his homework. He listens to what people say and how they say it and we get the benefit. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sarah | 10/10/2013

    " Another excellent Hiaasen! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Theresa | 7/11/2013

    " Laughing out loud brightens my day! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kenneth Fredette | 5/24/2013

    " Was a good read. Even being from the 90's. I like how he puts everyone in their place in the end. I read it in one day and it took my mind off thing. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Anne | 5/23/2013

    " Not as funny as Stormy Weather, and the characters don't have as much dimension, but an enjoyable read (or, rather, listen, since I listened to the audiobook) nonetheless. George Wilson is the perfect reader for Hiaasen's books. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michael | 12/30/2012

    " An audaciously clever example of the superb genre of comedy-noir, in which the story revolves around a stripper who's dealing with divorce, politically corruption, and the hypocrisy of a fundamentalist christian judge, need I say more? "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Nancy Jo | 12/6/2012

    " A bit quirky to the point of few characters being downright laughable. I finished the book mostly out of curiosity. Not likely that I will read anything else by him. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Eva | 10/8/2012

    " so funny! especially the part about meryl streep's stage name being chesty lefrance was genius. great read "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tina | 9/21/2012

    " I am dying to see the the movie (though I heard it's not that good) just to see Burt Reynolds play the part of the congressman. I hope they left the cowboy boots and vaseline part intact! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tink | 8/10/2012

    " Missed the governor, but fun. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim | 3/17/2012

    " Ah - I loved all of his books. Mindless entertainment wondering how could people possibly BE so mindless and idiotic characters contrasting with idiotic reality that has made such a mess of things. Particularly in south Florida. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Amber | 3/5/2012

    " based on a true newspaper headline! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Patti | 7/2/2011

    " Hiassen is always a quick, fun read with his crazy characters and his passion for the natural Florida. Striptease was less formulaic than his other books, though is still included at least one of his trademark gruesome, creative deaths. His books are fun "mind candy." "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations