Shots Fired: Stories from Joe Pickett Country Audiobook, by C. J. Box Play Audiobook Sample

Download Shots Fired: Stories from Joe Pickett Country Audiobook

Shots Fired: Stories from Joe Pickett Country Audiobook, by C. J. Box Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
Author: C. J. Box Narrator: David Chandler Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc. Audio Length: Series:The Joe Pickett Series Release Date: July 2014 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781490618715

Publisher Description

From C. J. Box, the New York Times -bestselling author of the Joe Pickett novels, comes a thrilling book of suspense stories about the Wyoming he knows so well-- and the dark deeds and impulses that can be found there. Over the course of eighteen books, C. J. Box has been consistently hailed for his brilliant storytelling and extraordinary skills at creating character, suspense, and a deep sense of place. All of those strengths are in the ten riveting stories-- three of them never before published-- that make up Shots Fired . In " One-Car Bridge," one of four Joe Pickett stories, Pickett goes up against a " just plain mean" landowner, with disastrous results, and in " Shots Fired," his investigation into the radio call referred to in the title nearly ends up being the last thing he ever does. In " Pirates of Yellowstone," two Eastern European tough guys find out what it means to be strangers in a strange land, and in " Le Sauvage Noble," the stranger is a Lakota in Paris who enjoys playing the " noble savage" for the French women-- until he meets Sophie. Then he discovers what " savage" really means.

Download and start listening now!


  • “An exceptionally well-told story that will entertain, thrill, and maybe even outrage its readers.”

    - USA Today
  • “Superlative. The best installment yet in an already rich series.”

    - Cleveland Plain Dealer
  • “An explosive thriller that careens from one unpredictable twist to another.”

    - South Florida Sun-Sentinel
  • “Artistry, creativity, and craftsmanship are hallmarks of Box’s writing. Each story is packed with adventure and intriguing characters that his fans have come to expect in his superlative storytelling. Nonstop adventure and mystery are omnipresent with unexpected twists and turns that will leave readers begging for more.”

    - Library Journal (starred review)
  • “Bestseller Box, author of Stone Cold and thirteen other Joe Pickett novels, proves in his first story collection that he’s also adept at the short form. The ten selections, which include four Joe Pickett tales, are filled with Box trademarks: drama, darkness, surprise twists, and a palpable sense of a wild, magnificent, and sometimes cruel Wyoming.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “David Chandler narrates in a rough-edged whiskey voice that suggests summer heat, bitter winters, and windswept prairies, guiding the listener through ten adventures of men like Fish and Game Officer Joe Pickett. Chandler brings the listener into this strange world where, more often than not, men have to create their own justice. His performance of the economical stories, some rarely seen, is perfect.”

    - AudioFile
  • “This collection includes ten [short stories] in all, three of them new. The surprise for some readers may be that only four of these tie in to the Joe Pickett series. And, while those are a pleasure, it’s the others that are most interesting, demonstrating the author’s versatility with a diverse array of ideas…Here’s hoping we won’t have to wait long for more short stuff from Box.”

    - Booklist
  • “If you’re looking for rising tension played out against spectacular natural scenery, nobody does it better.”

    - Kirkus Reviews


  • A New York Times bestseller
  • Barnes & Noble's Biggest Books, July 2014

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Narration Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Story Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " These stories are fairly varied, and have the ability to keep your interest right up to the end, and the ending always leaves you with the desire to hear more. Not a disappointment, but a desire to go to more C. J. Box titles. "

    - Bill, 3/6/2018

About the Author

C. J. Box is the New York Times bestselling author of the Joe Pickett series, six stand-alone novels, the Cody Hoyt series, the Cassie Dewell series, and a story collection. He has won the Edgar, Anthony, Macavity, Gumshoe, and Barry Awards, as well as the French Prix Calibre .38, and the Mountains & Plains Independent Booksellers Association Award for fiction. He has also been a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. His novels have been translated into twenty-seven languages. A Wyoming native, he has worked on a ranch and as a small-town newspaper reporter and editor. He is an executive producer of ABC TV’s Big Sky, which is based on his Cody Hoyt/Cassie Dewell novels, as well as executive producer of the upcoming Joe Pickett television series for Paramount TV.

About the Narrator

David Chandler is an Earphones Award–winning narrator who has read numerous titles for New York Times bestselling authors William Kent Krueger and C. J. Box, among others.