Extended Audio Sample

Download Saint’s Gate Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Saint’s Gate Audiobook, by Carla Neggers Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (499 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Carla Neggers Narrator: Carol Monda Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Sharpe & Donovan Series Release Date: July 2012 ISBN: 9781464029011
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Two people isolated by their pasts; an obsessive killer who will force them together. Welcome to Saint’s Gate.

Emma Sharpe is summoned to a Maine convent, partly for her FBI art crimes work, partly because of her past with the Order. At issue is a mysterious painting of Irish lore and Viking legends. But when the nun who contacted her is murdered, it seems legend is becoming deadly reality.

Colin Donovan is one of the FBI’s most valuable deep-cover agents. Back home in Maine after his latest mission, a contact clues him in to the intrigue of murder, international art heists, and long-held secrets—and it’s just too tempting to resist. As danger spirals ever closer, Colin is certain of only one thing: Emma Sharpe is at the center of it all.

New York Times bestselling author Carla Neggers has amassed legions of fans for her engaging blend of romance and suspense, and with Saint’s Gate she has penned another winner.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_005597

Quotes & Awards

  • “A fast-paced, action-packed tale that will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson and Lisa Gardner.”

    Library Journal

  • “Outstanding.”

    USA Today

  • “Neggers shows her skill in the feisty couple’s romantic skirmishes.”

    Publishers Weekly

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kimberlee | 2/18/2014

    " I really enjoy this storyline, Emma a FBI agent who works recovering stolen art. Colin and undercover FBI agent also a Maine lobsterman when home. Together the solve a crime at a convent that restores art. Together they bring justice and manage to fall in love. Really enjoyed the suspense as well as the dynamics of Colin and Emma and their growing relationship. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Vikki | 2/17/2014

    " Typical Carla! Loved it. Can't wait for the second book to come out! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marguerite | 2/10/2014

    " Murder, art theft, bombs, boats, and coastal Maine as back drop. Throw in a trip to Ireland in search of a murderer. Emma, FBI agent, and Colin, undercover FBI agent, cross paths after a nun is murdered at the convent were Emma was once a novice. There were sparks between Emma and Colin, but ... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Oshila | 2/6/2014

    " I love this book! Ms.Neggers is my favorite author and this book did not dissapoint me! I loved every single page of this book. I waited long for this book and it was worth it. it has a great story and even greater characters. EVERYONE who loves Ms.Neggers' work should read this book. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Erica K | 1/14/2014

    " I tried, I really did. This is the second Carla Neggars book I've attempted to read, but there is something about her writing style that I find jarring. The first book of hers that I picked up (several years ago) was a galley copy, and when I couldn't finish it, I thought perhaps it was because it just needed more editing so that the story flowed more smoothly. However, this second book, a fully-vetted, published copy, felt the same - stilted dialogue and jerky plot movement with random tidbits of info thrown in that don't seem to have any rhyme or reason, (the priest comes home, takes his coat off, makes a 10 second phone call, gets a call back within a few minutes, and then he puts his coat back on again and leaves. Why describe the removal of clothing if it is irrelevant to the scene? Extra word count?). Descriptions of characters' actions & feelings/thoughts don't seem to coincide with what they are saying, nor do they represent what I feel would be natural/organic interactions between people. I felt a general underlying confusion the whole time I was reading, but kept pushing on because the storyline was intriguing. Unfortunately, it just wasn't enough to keep my frustration at bay, and I had to give up and put the book aside. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jess | 1/5/2014

    " I'd give this 2.25 stars. Kind of boring, kind of predictable. Not horrible though. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kathy | 9/7/2013

    " Loved this book!!! Can't wait to read part 2. Emma and Colin -- two outstanding characters. Loved this one like I've loved all her books!!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Diane | 8/25/2013

    " I enjoyed the book but the main characters seemed to over think their relationship with each other. It felt awkward. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nan | 7/8/2013

    " Easy mystery set in Maine. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joanne | 5/12/2013

    " Great read by Carla!!!!!!!! Love her books, suspense, edge of your seat read!!!!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kerstin | 3/31/2013

    " Loved it! I hadn't read Carla Neggers in a while, and I am glad there are more books in the series to look forward to. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 A | 2/23/2013

    " The plot of this book just did not keep my interest. I have read her other books and they have been much better. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kate Brown | 1/24/2013

    " Very good read, I liked the characters. I am looking forward to the sequel, but waiting for a drop in price. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Emily | 9/26/2012

    " i could not get into it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Karyn | 9/26/2012

    " I really liked this story. I felt her research was very well done and the turns in the story were suspenseful. I look forward to more with these characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michelle Taylor | 9/12/2012

    " I found this book hard to follow for most chapters. The book is listed as " a novel of suspense " but it only gets really suspenseful in the last 50 pages or so. The rest of this book seems to me to just be one big art history lesson. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Deb | 5/16/2012

    " I read Carla Neggers because it is like sitting down with a blanket and a hit chocolate. Nothing earth shattering but consistent and entertaining. Thus book like her others follows a similar formula that I find comforting to read between other more complex story lines. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Carla Neggers

Carla Neggers is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than sixty contemporary romance and romantic suspense novels. Her notable works include the New York Times bestseller Cider Brook. She is a founding member of the New England chapter of Romance Writers of America and has served as vice president of International Thriller Writers.

About the Narrator

Carol Monda is an award-winning actor known for her work in Out of Season, After You Left, and The Gentlemen. She is an accomplished voice-over artist and an AudioFile Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator, having lent her voice to over one hundred audiobooks, including New York Times bestsellers by Jodi Picoult, Lucia Berlin, Lisa Jackson, Chuck Palahniuk, Colum McCann, and Carla Neggers.