Extended Audio Sample

Download North and South Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample North and South Audiobook, by Elizabeth Gaskell Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 5 4.26 (16 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Gaskell Narrator: Jenny Agutter Publisher: Copyright Group Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2014 ISBN: 9781780001296
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

When her father leaves the Church in a crisis of conscience, Margaret Hale is uprooted from her comfortable home in Hampshire to move with her family to the north of England. Initially repulsed by the ugliness of her new surroundings in the industrial town of Milton, Margaret becomes aware of the poverty and suffering of the local mill workers and develops a passionate sense of social justice. This is intensified by her tempestuous relationship with the mill-owner and self-made man, John Thornton, as their fierce opposition over his treatment of his employees masks a deeper attraction. In North and South, Elizabeth Gaskell skillfully fused individual feeling with social concern, and in Margaret Hale created one of the most original heroines of Victorian literature.

Download and start listening now!

BK_CSAW_000104

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Trudy | 11/4/2011

    " A classic. Can't help but love a Victorian hero desperately in love. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarah | 10/31/2011

    " I really liked this book, and am currently OBSESSED with the miniseries. Great period novel "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Susannayak | 10/25/2011

    " I read the book after watching the mini-series on Netflix. I like the idea of being changed by a place. And picturing Richard Armitage as John Thorton while reading certainly doesn't hurt! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Wendy | 10/23/2011

    " a little hard to get through, but the information was really good. relatable as a novel, as well. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Gloriavirtutisumbra | 10/22/2011

    " Forgot I read this in college. Not sure how I feel about Elizabeth Gaskell or her writing. I was left rather blase by this one, but that also could have been due to my professor in the class. Excitement, he was not. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joni | 10/19/2011

    " I enjoyed this book more as I got into it. It is in the manner of a Jane Austen book, but a little more serious as it tackles the problems of the time (early industrial revolution). "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Becky | 10/16/2011

    " Gaskell is a combination of Dickens and Austen. I love period romances with interesting characters and this delivered. Although Margret seemed a little preachy and the Higgins characters exaggerated and unrealistic, I loved all the characters. I heart Mr. Thornton. Love love love the last scene. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 April | 10/13/2011

    " Less satisfying than Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer. Some of the characters' ethical dilemas are strained and the actions of the main character, Margaret, are evidence of a lack of common sense. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bodagirl | 5/22/2011

    " It's a great book for any reader who is looking for a read-alike to Pride and Prejudice. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cranberrycuppycakes | 5/22/2011

    " one of the best period novels i've read :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarah | 5/12/2011

    " While I already knew the storyline of this book, I absolutely loved reading it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Becca | 5/11/2011

    " This book and the BBC miniseries is my least obsession. If you like Pride & Prejudice, you'll love this book and movie. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 5/5/2011

    " Reading this again with PEMBERLEY LADIES. LOVE it! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bridget | 5/4/2011

    " Second half of the book was better than the first. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christina | 5/4/2011

    " Loved the story and the characters. And loved the BBC movie! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Molly | 5/2/2011

    " 19th century romance + labor relations = right up my alley. Some of the religious sentiments carried on too much, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Elizabeth Gaskell

Elizabeth Gaskell (1810–1865) was an English novelist and short-story writer born in London and raised in Knutsford, Cheshire, which became the model for village settings in her novels. In 1832 she married William Gaskell, a Unitarian minister. Her first novel, Mary Barton, published in 1848, was immensely popular and brought her to the attention of Charles Dickens, who solicited her work for his periodical, Household Words, for which she wrote the series subsequently reprinted as Cranford.

About the Narrator

Jenny Agutter is an English film and television actress. She began her career as a child actor in the mid 1960s, starring in the BBC television series The Railway Children and the film adaptation of the same book. She moved on to adult roles with Walkabout, An American Werewolf in London, Logan’s Run, and Equus. Agutter is the winner of two AudioFile Earphones Awards.