Extended Audio Sample

Download North and South Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample North and South (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Elizabeth Gaskell
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (36,784 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Gaskell Narrator: Charlton Griffin Publisher: Audio Connoisseur Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2007 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

This is the story of Margaret Hale, a young English woman who accompanies her family's move from rural southern England to the industrial north. It proves to be a difficult change, with all the attendant social conflicts and cultural misunderstandings consequent to such situations. It is a study in contrasts. Mrs. Gaskell created one of the Victorian era's greatest heroines in Margaret Hale, a young lady of passionate intensity. Always filled with a fiery sense of justice, she feels herself, nevertheless, spiritually isolated from society.

Margaret finds her new surroundings shocking. Though appalled by the dirt, noise and the gruffness of the mercantile city, she reserves her greatest contempt for the mill owners themselves. When charismatic mill owner John Thornton begins to take classics lessons from her father, Margaret's distaste for this vulgar new class of industrial magnates crystallizes.

Over time, Margaret's opinion of the mill workers begins to soften, though not toward the owners - which makes her strange attraction to John Thornton all the more remarkable. The wrenching series of labor problems and deaths that occur as the story progresses serves as a background to the inner struggles Margaret endures...the turmoil of private family life in contrast to the struggle against the overt poverty and deprivation she witnesses around her.

Listen to one of the greatest of all Victorian novels and let the artistry of Elizabeth Gaskell sweep you away to another time and place. Considered her finest work, North and South will keep you listening breathlessly to the very end.

Download and start listening now!

BK_ACON_000098

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rakesh | 2/3/2014

    " A really fine book and it reveals an in-depth understanding of Victorian society and the problems faced by it due to industrial revolution. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Peach | 1/20/2014

    " A beautiful love story that took place in the background of the class conflicts of North and South and the industrialization of the North. Margaret Hale and John Thornton were wonderful characters and both of them had strong family values. Margaret was a strong and courageous woman who was able to stand up to the trials and tribulations thrown her way. John was absolutely swoon-worthy and his unyielding love for Margaret made your heart swell. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michelle | 1/12/2014

    " Disappointed that I didn't like this more. I was looking for a great Austen-esque read. and this fell short. Gaskell has a lot to say here about unions, industrialization, religion, women's rights, etc. However, a lot of that just went on and on and got in the way of the story. Thornton is a good character, but Margaret is too busy hating his politics to see past that to the good man he is. And then at the end, all of a sudden, they fall in each other's arms. Rather unrealistic because they spend very little time getting to know each other, just talking about his mill and master vs. worker. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Tamara | 1/9/2014

    " I recently finished listening to North and South on my Ipad. It was fine, very predictable and nothing overly exciting. Just another book I can check off my list. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Drucilla | 1/4/2014

    " The background and setting for this book is remarkable. The industry is described with such color. If you're a fan of Dickens, but perhaps don't like the depressing nature some of his novels take, you should try this book. I will admit everything seems to be rushed towards the end, but everything works out. Oh, and if you like this book, be sure to read Shirley by Charlotte Bronte. It has similar themes to this book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nicola | 12/31/2013

    " I could not put it down. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Haidy Mohamed | 12/23/2013

    " It's an amazing and gloomy novel "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ashley Harris | 12/14/2013

    " Loved the book, but the frivolous part of me loves the movie better. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shannon | 12/4/2013

    " I really enjoyed this book but I wasn't prepared for the abruptness of the ending. I thought it out of character for the book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Emily Elizabeth | 10/19/2013

    " Good tension between the characters. Unconventional gender roles. The end wraps up too quickly. Overall, great read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Janelle | 5/15/2013

    " I simultaneously started watching the series of these (and have yet to finish them), and had a very different picture of what the protagonist should look/act like. I hear the ending of the movie is great, but I also liked the ending: abrupt yet satisfying. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carolyn Stow | 3/21/2013

    " Wonderful, wonderful book! If you liked the movie, the book is just as good. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Misteeyed | 11/13/2012

    " The storyline is too much like Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. I found no surprises and the pace of the story was too slow. The parsing of human emotions ad nausea, a popular 19th-century novel subject for female readers, is just not that interesting to me. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hannah Kolus | 11/1/2012

    " MOST ROMANTIC BOOK EVER. Although I prefer the ending as told by the Masterpiece mini-series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Paul Greer | 10/11/2012

    " Actually changed an opinion I had about the way I behave. Lots of people die in it, though. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bluenoon | 10/2/2012

    " Gaskell one of the best authors there ever was, and I love all her works. Her writing is a reflection of the pristine times we've lost as a species. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wagga Library | 8/2/2012

    " Oh, how I love this book! Like Jane Austen only better.... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chelsea Monroe-Cassel | 6/11/2012

    " Although a bit cumbersome in places, the story is enticing. Here and there, bits of prose stand out, memorable and striking. I enjoyed watching the BBC production first, as the show and book line up beautifully and suit one another. A lovely book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Claire | 2/14/2012

    " I finished this a while back, but it is a fantastic book. Light enough for easy reading, but with characters compelling enough that they stay with you. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bobword | 7/28/2011

    " Such a good classic read. Does not disappoint. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bodagirl | 5/22/2011

    " It's a great book for any reader who is looking for a read-alike to Pride and Prejudice. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cranberrycuppycakes | 5/22/2011

    " one of the best period novels i've read :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarah | 5/12/2011

    " While I already knew the storyline of this book, I absolutely loved reading it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Becca | 5/11/2011

    " This book and the BBC miniseries is my least obsession. If you like Pride & Prejudice, you'll love this book and movie. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 5/5/2011

    " Reading this again with PEMBERLEY LADIES. LOVE it! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bridget | 5/4/2011

    " Second half of the book was better than the first. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christina | 5/4/2011

    " Loved the story and the characters. And loved the BBC movie! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Molly | 5/2/2011

    " 19th century romance + labor relations = right up my alley. Some of the religious sentiments carried on too much, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Elizabeth Gaskell

Elizabeth Gaskell (1810–1865) was an English novelist and short-story writer born in London and raised in Knutsford, Cheshire, which became the model for village settings in her novels. In 1832 she married William Gaskell, a Unitarian minister. Her first novel, Mary Barton, published in 1848, was immensely popular and brought her to the attention of Charles Dickens, who solicited her work for his periodical, Household Words, for which she wrote the series subsequently reprinted as Cranford.