Extended Audio Sample

Download Blue Monday: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Blue Monday: A Novel, by Nicci French Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,981 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Nicci French Narrator: Beth Chalmers Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Frieda Klein Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The stunning first book in a new series of psychological thrillers introducing an unforgettable London psychotherapist

Frieda Klein is a solitary, incisive psychotherapist who spends her sleepless nights walking along the ancient rivers that have been forced underground in modern London. She believes that the world is a messy, uncontrollable place, but what we can control is what is inside our heads. This attitude is reflected in her own life, which is an austere one of refuge, personal integrity, and order.

The abduction of five-year-old Matthew Farraday provokes a national outcry and a desperate police hunt. And when his face is splashed over the newspapers, Frieda cannot ignore the coincidence: one of her patients has been having dreams in which he has a hunger for a child. A red-haired child he can describe in perfect detail, a child the spitting image of Matthew. She finds herself in the center of the investigation, serving as the reluctant sidekick of the chief inspector.

Drawing readers into a haunting world in which the terrors of the mind have spilled over into real life, Blue Monday introduces a compelling protagonist and a chilling mystery that will appeal to readers of dark crime fiction and fans of In Treatment and The Killing.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001856

Quotes & Awards

  • Fast-paced and spooky…it leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come.

    People (****)

  • A neat puzzle with a satisfying resolution and a terrific twist at the end.

    The New York Times Book Review

  • A superb psychological thriller…With its brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters, this series debut will leave readers eager to discover what color Tuesday will be.

    Publishers Weekly, starred review

  • With its smart plot, crisp prose, and a stunning final twist, this is psychological suspense at its best. Absolutely riveting. Booklist, starred review
  • This is psychological suspense done right. The authors pace themselves and build the tension slowly while carefully developing each of the players. For fans of Tana French’s and Lisa Gardner’s moody, dark, twisty thrillers.

    Library Journal

  • A searing psychological thriller in the rich vein of Kate Atkinson and Laura Lippman, Blue Monday is powerful and gripping—a page-turner with heart and soul.  Psychotherapist Frieda Klein is an enormously appealing new series hero. Joseph Finder, bestselling author of Buried Secrets
  • Unrelenting …unnerving…unforgettable. Psychological dynamite.

    Alan Bradley, bestselling author of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

  • Nicci French creates a haunting and complex psychological puzzle about memory and heredity, with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until the very end. This gripping thriller certainly bodes well for the future of the series and I look forward to reading more about unlikely heroine Frieda Klein.

    Camilla Läckberg, bestselling author of The Ice Princess

  • A fabulous, unsettling, and riveting look at motives and memory and relationships. And what drives people to do the unthinkable.

    Louise Penny, bestselling author of A Trick of the Light

  • Nicci French is undeniably at the top of British psychological suspense writing.

    The Observer (UK)

  • Complex and flawed, Frieda Klein is a refreshingly human protagonist, an intriguing debut for a truly unique character.

    Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road



Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Dara | 2/12/2014

    " Thought this impulse beach read was actually pretty good. I have read so many books of this genre that it is hard to fool me, but there was one aspect ofne ending that I couldnt have guessed. It gets big pnt for that alone! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Tracy | 2/11/2014

    " I really enjoy Nicci French, & wasn't disappointed with this. The story had the potential to be predictable, but, other than an obvious "twist" at the end, this was a very enjoyable, easy read. I look forward to reading more of the new character, Freida Klein, who is likable, but not perfect. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Pam | 2/8/2014

    " Great Book. I read another book by Nicci French a few years ago but don't remember it being this good. Two children are abducted 20 years apart and A psychoanalyst gets envolved with a police detective to help solve this exciting thriller. Once again there are several surprise endings. One I saw coming and the other totally tricked me. I was told by a friend that this is going to be a series. I am looking forward to the next installment. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Nina | 1/31/2014

    " A new injection into this writing duo's novels with a really interesting main heroine and a really good story line. I like that it's set in London where I am and that it has a sense of reality blurred with the surreal. Really well done - I was impressed. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations