Extended Audio Sample

Download Blue Monday: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Blue Monday: A Novel Audiobook, by Nicci French Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,981 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Nicci French Narrator: Beth Chalmers Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Frieda Klein Series Release Date: March 2012 ISBN: 9781101538685
Regular Price: $17.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The stunning first book in a new series of psychological thrillers introducing an unforgettable London psychotherapist

Frieda Klein is a solitary, incisive psychotherapist who spends her sleepless nights walking along the ancient rivers that have been forced underground in modern London. She believes that the world is a messy, uncontrollable place, but what we can control is what is inside our heads. This attitude is reflected in her own life, which is an austere one of refuge, personal integrity, and order.

The abduction of five-year-old Matthew Farraday provokes a national outcry and a desperate police hunt. And when his face is splashed over the newspapers, Frieda cannot ignore the coincidence: one of her patients has been having dreams in which he has a hunger for a child. A red-haired child he can describe in perfect detail, a child the spitting image of Matthew. She finds herself in the center of the investigation, serving as the reluctant sidekick of the chief inspector.

Drawing readers into a haunting world in which the terrors of the mind have spilled over into real life, Blue Monday introduces a compelling protagonist and a chilling mystery that will appeal to readers of dark crime fiction and fans of In Treatment and The Killing.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001856

Quotes & Awards

  • With its smart plot, crisp prose, and a stunning final twist, this is psychological suspense at its best. Absolutely riveting. Booklist, starred review
  • This is psychological suspense done right. The authors pace themselves and build the tension slowly while carefully developing each of the players. For fans of Tana French’s and Lisa Gardner’s moody, dark, twisty thrillers.

    Library Journal

  • A searing psychological thriller in the rich vein of Kate Atkinson and Laura Lippman, Blue Monday is powerful and gripping—a page-turner with heart and soul.  Psychotherapist Frieda Klein is an enormously appealing new series hero. Joseph Finder, bestselling author of Buried Secrets
  • Unrelenting …unnerving…unforgettable. Psychological dynamite.

    Alan Bradley, bestselling author of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

  • Nicci French creates a haunting and complex psychological puzzle about memory and heredity, with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until the very end. This gripping thriller certainly bodes well for the future of the series and I look forward to reading more about unlikely heroine Frieda Klein.

    Camilla Läckberg, bestselling author of The Ice Princess

  • Fast-paced and spooky…it leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come.

    People (****)

  • A neat puzzle with a satisfying resolution and a terrific twist at the end.

    The New York Times Book Review

  • A superb psychological thriller…With its brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters, this series debut will leave readers eager to discover what color Tuesday will be.

    Publishers Weekly, starred review

  • A fabulous, unsettling, and riveting look at motives and memory and relationships. And what drives people to do the unthinkable.

    Louise Penny, bestselling author of A Trick of the Light

  • Nicci French is undeniably at the top of British psychological suspense writing.

    The Observer (UK)

  • Complex and flawed, Frieda Klein is a refreshingly human protagonist, an intriguing debut for a truly unique character.

    Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road



Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dara | 2/12/2014

    " Thought this impulse beach read was actually pretty good. I have read so many books of this genre that it is hard to fool me, but there was one aspect ofne ending that I couldnt have guessed. It gets big pnt for that alone! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tracy | 2/11/2014

    " I really enjoy Nicci French, & wasn't disappointed with this. The story had the potential to be predictable, but, other than an obvious "twist" at the end, this was a very enjoyable, easy read. I look forward to reading more of the new character, Freida Klein, who is likable, but not perfect. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Pam | 2/8/2014

    " Great Book. I read another book by Nicci French a few years ago but don't remember it being this good. Two children are abducted 20 years apart and A psychoanalyst gets envolved with a police detective to help solve this exciting thriller. Once again there are several surprise endings. One I saw coming and the other totally tricked me. I was told by a friend that this is going to be a series. I am looking forward to the next installment. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nina | 1/31/2014

    " A new injection into this writing duo's novels with a really interesting main heroine and a really good story line. I like that it's set in London where I am and that it has a sense of reality blurred with the surreal. Really well done - I was impressed. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Julia Allan | 1/29/2014

    " different from her usual books. found the first couple of chapters a bit slow but then it picked up speed. still not sure about the main character. i suspect this is the first in a new series of books.overall a good read but found the ending a bit stange "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sabrina | 1/28/2014

    " I really enjoyed this book. It was a little difficult to understand the style and get into the story at first but after a few short chapters I was hooked. It was a fast-paced detective/therapist story which kept me engaged throughout. There was a nice mix of characters (some to like and some to dislike) and I would recommend this for any fan of this genre. I look forward to the rest of the series and seeing how the characters develop. Thanks to the Firstreads program for giving me the opportunity to read and review this work. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Annick Vandenbroucke | 1/9/2014

    " Ik kwam iets trager in het verhaal dan bij de vorige Nicci French boeken maar uiteindelijk heb ik er met volle teugen van genoten. Ik kijk uit naar het volgende Frieda Klein-verhaal "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kate | 1/9/2014

    " Enjoyed the book bit slow to begin with and although I liked the plot the twist at the end was too obvious. What will make me read the next book however is the psychology of it all .....love it! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Susan B | 12/30/2013

    " Interesting book, will probably read the following book. There were times I wanted to push the main character Freida into making a decision, right up to the very end. I was disappointed that she never realized the deceit by Dean. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debra Morris | 12/25/2013

    " A solid mystery with a great new character. I love Frieda Klein. I did worry in the beginning that I wouldn't be able to keep track of the characters. But a third of the way through the story really picked up. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carol | 12/24/2013

    " Very good psychological mystery ....would read the next one in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lisa Haddow | 12/11/2013

    " Impulse buy at airport so no expectations: gripping, couldn't put down thriller. I'm still a bit creeped out about it and I finished it last night! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Sonja | 12/7/2013

    " liked the book up to chapter one, kept on going to page 68, than read other reviews in the hope it would get better, but they were not very good, so I gave up. I am seriously glad I didn't have to waste my money on it, as I borrowed it on my kobo from the library. Deleted. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tauna | 11/10/2013

    " A decent suspense/mystery procedural novel heavy on the psychological elements. I did appreciate the twist ending but I'm not dying to continue on with the series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rachael Grayson | 10/28/2013

    " This book has a great story line. The only issue I had was that they kept bringing in new characters with a little background, who didn't really relate to the story. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Liana | 8/30/2013

    " It took a little while to get into this book, but then I really enjoyed it. Not as dark as some of her earlier stories. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 John M. | 6/28/2013

    " A random pick that turned into a real page turner. Looking forward to the next installment in the series! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Anne B | 4/29/2013

    " A wonderful mystery. Great characters. Keeps you guessing and speculating even at the end. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Matt Tye | 3/20/2013

    " This was a really dark book and an interesting new perspective on crime fiction, being that of a psychologist rather than a police officer, lawyer or somebody else equally as involved with the case. It felt like a different genre to a degree. Can't wait to read her other books! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sheila | 3/11/2013

    " Not a bad book although I saw the final twist coming pretty early on. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tonia | 2/6/2013

    " I had read Tuesday's Gone first so it kind of spoiled the book for me since I knew how it would wrap up. Otherwise it was wonderful. I will be reading the 3rd in the Frieda Klein series for sure. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Robin Nenninger | 8/28/2012

    " Excellent read...one that you continued to think about after a chapter or two. Many twists and turns that I enjoyed. Looking forward to more by these authors (they are a team). "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Nicci French

Nicci French is the pseudonym for the internationally bestselling writing partnership of suspense writers Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. They are married and live in Suffolk and London.

About the Narrator

Beth Chalmers is an AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator. She has worked extensively as a television actress and a voice-over artist. Her acting credits include Groove High, Mike the Knight, Lucky Fred, Miranda, and Midsomer Murders, among many others. As a voice-over artist, she is best known as the voice of Bellatrix Lestrange in the Harry Potter video game series.