Download And the Weak Suffer What They Must?: Europe's Crisis and America's Economic Future Audiobook

And the Weak Suffer What They Must?: Europes Crisis and Americas Economic Future Audiobook, by Yanis Varoufakis Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Yanis Varoufakis Narrator: Yanis Varoufakis, Leighton Pugh Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2017 ISBN: 9781478917878
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $25.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A #1 Sunday Times bestseller [UK]

A titanic battle is being waged for Europe's integrity and soul, with the forces of reason and humanism losing out to growing irrationality, authoritarianism, and malice, promoting inequality and austerity. The whole world has a stake in a victory for rationality, liberty, democracy, and humanism.

In January 2015, Yanis Varoufakis, an economics professor teaching in Austin, Texas, was elected to the Greek parliament with more votes than any other member of parliament. He was appointed finance minister and, in the whirlwind five months that followed, everything he had warned about-the perils of the euro's faulty design, the European Union's shortsighted austerity policies, financialized crony capitalism, American complicity and rising authoritarianism-was confirmed as the "troika" (the European Central Bank, International Monetary Fund, and European Commission) stonewalled his efforts to resolve Greece's economic crisis.
Here, Varoufakis delivers a fresh look at the history of Europe's crisis and America's central role in it. He presents the ultimate case against austerity, proposing concrete policies for Europe that are necessary to address its crisis and avert contagion to America, China, and the rest of the world. With passionate, informative, and at times humorous prose, he warns that the implosion of an admittedly crisis-ridden and deeply irrational European monetary union should, and can, be avoided at all cost.
Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • The emerging rock-star of Europe s anti-austerity uprising. The Daily Telegraph
  • A brilliant economist. Bloomberg
  • The most interesting man in the world. Business Insider
  • [A] fiery maverick. Fortune
  • Mr. Varoufakis tends to speak in thoughtful and theatrical tones that can prompt strong reactions. New York Times
  • European finance ministers have got an opponent who will not recede easily. And one who, furthermore, appears to have the stamina of a long distance runner to go the whole way. The Guardian
  • A new politician...who is poised to change how you and I think about those we elect to lead us. Huffington Post
  • “The book is…highly readable. It is also important, outlining a perspective on global economics that influences policy thinking in broader circles than the radical left.”

    Financial Times

  • “A brilliant economist.”


  • “The most interesting man in the world.”

    Business Insider

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Yanis Varoufakis is the former finance minister of Greece and the co-founder of an international grassroots movement, DiEM25, campaigning for the revival of democracy in Europe. He is the author of And the Weak Suffer What They Must? and The Global Minotaur. After many years teaching in the United States, Britain, and Australia, he is currently professor of economics at the University of Athens.

About the Narrator

Leighton Pugh trained at the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art after studying modern languages at Queen’s College, Oxford. He has narrated audiobooks for Penguin, HarperCollins, Macmillan, Random House, Hachette, and Quercus. His radio work includes the plays Murder by the Book and Scenes from Provincial Life for BBC Radio 4 and the voice of Heinrich von Kleist in the BBC Radio 3 documentary The Tragical Adventure of Heinrich von Kleist. From 2010–2011 he was in four productions at the National Theatre, including The Habit of Art and A Woman Killed with Kindness.