Extended Audio Sample

Download America’s Secret War: Inside the Hidden Worldwide Struggle between America and its Enemies Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample America’s Secret War: Inside the Hidden Worldwide Struggle between America and its Enemies, by George Friedman Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (351 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: George Friedman Narrator: Brian Emerson Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Dubbed by Barron’s as “The Shadow CIA,” Stratfor is one of the world’s most respected private global intelligence firms with an unmatched ability to provide clear perspective on the current geopolitical map. Here, drawing on Stratfor’s vast information-gathering network, George Friedman delivers the geopolitical story that the mainstream media has been unable to uncover: the startling truth behind America’s foreign policy and war effort in Afghanistan, Iraq, and beyond.

In America’s Secret War, Friedman identifies the United States’ most dangerous enemies, delves into presidential strategies of the last quarter century, and reveals the real reasons behind the attack of September 11 and the Bush administration’s motivation for the war in Iraq. Here, in eye-opening detail, is an insightful picture of today’s world that goes far beyond what is reported in the news media.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Predictions have made George Friedman a hot property these days.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • “[Friedman] is compelling.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “[Friedman] delivers a clearer, deeper, and subtler understanding of the post-9/11 world than we will ever get from listening to the cacophony of talking heads on television.”


  • “The Friedmans: better than the CIA.”

    Industry Standard

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Jasmine | 2/20/2014

    " I honestly did not get a whole lot of this book since it is a couple of years old. I still need to educate myself on what is currently happening in the middle east. (I am not a huge news buff so politics is a little hard for me to stay current on...) and thought that this book would be a good one to help spell out some things that I am still unclear on. But the book focused on mainly things that occurred during 9/11 so I wasn't very interested listening to it during my commute... (I tried to listen to it on audioCD...) "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Nathan | 1/14/2014

    " a yawner. nothing here that you haven't already read in the newspaper. the bob woodward books were much more interesting. this book read like an chronological outline that the author collapsed into prose with a rotating and repetitive set of transition words. "First...", "Second...", "Additionally...", "However...". I was speed reading by the end. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jim Johnson | 1/11/2014

    " Assuming that the author's sources were correct, he did a superb job changing my perceptions of the United States' involvement with Iraq. Although things got a bit dry at times, Friedman aptly presented a lot of background and historical analysis that was very enjoyable. It is refreshing to approach a subject in a novel way and to (hopefully) gain some insight. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Zach | 1/11/2014

    " This book seemed unjustly sympathetic to the US Military's perspective and derisive of the peace movement. That said, it did expand my view of the recent US campaigns in the middle east by filling in the blanks with names, places, and dates to check with a different source. Overall I found the author's expertise valuable. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations