Extended Audio Sample

Download Travel Team Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Travel Team Audiobook, by Mike Lupica
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (2,889 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Mike Lupica Narrator: Oliver Wyman Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Danny Walker Series Release Date: October 2005 ISBN: 9780307281654
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 28 votes

Twelve-year-old Danny Walker knows something the coaches don’t: You can’t measure heart.

Danny Walker may be the smallest kid on the basketball court, but don’t tell him that. Because no one plays with a bigger love of the game. Or a better sense of how to hit the open player with the perfect pass. Which is why his world shatters when he is cut from the local travel team for being too small. Not just any travel team, either–the very same one his father had led to the national championship on ESPN when he was a kid.

Turns out Danny wasn’t the only kid cut for the wrong reasons. And Danny’s father is about to give them all a second chance–something he could use himself. After washing out of the NBA, Richie Walker washed out of life, too. But together, these castoffs prove something Danny knew all along: You can’t measure heart.

In the tradition of The Bad News Bears and Hoosiers, author, nationally syndicated sportswriter, and ESPN personality Mike Lupica delivers a rousing tale of the underdog that will leave you cheering to the final word. Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_000279

Quotes & Awards

  • “Lupica has penned a basketball novel as exciting as any Hollywood sports film.”

    Barnes & Noble, editorial review

  • “A taut, realistic story not just about the game but about heart, character, and family. A winner.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Even non-sports fans will find themselves rooting for Danny’s underdog team and will be caught up in the realistic descriptions of their games.”

    School Library Journal

  • A New York Times bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Christina | 2/6/2014

    " Travel team by Mike Lupica is absolutely one of the best books I have read this year. Directed at young basketball players, Travel Team is the story of Danny Walker, who is cut from the town's traveling team because of his size. The story enthralls the detials of Danny Walker forming his own team of the rejects, and making his comback. This novel inspires shorter basketball players that anyone can play the sport if they really love it. I can definitely related to this book and I found myself glued to the pages unable to put the book down. Highly recommended only people who are interested in basketball read this book because there are some terms that may be confusing or unfamiliar to people who do not know basketball "lingo". "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim Parker | 2/2/2014

    " Excellent read for a young athlete. Old school values in a modern setting w/some wonderful basketball lingo. Really appreciate Mike Lupica even more now (more tha just a great sports reporter). "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Joey Reinberg | 1/31/2014

    " Travel team is one of the best books I have ever read. It is so good I am now reading the sequel. Travel Team is about a young boy named Danny Walker. Danny is one of the best basketball player's in Middletown and gets cut from basketball for the wrong reasons. That reason is his size. All this does though is motivates him to become better and his dad and him create there own team of all the knockoffs. I can connect to this because I didn't make the A team for travel baseball. But that didn't let me down I still tried to get better every year and am trying my hardest. Sometimes sports is not about how good you are its about how much heart you put in. So I tried out for a new team that was very well coached by a local high schools varsity coach and made it. To this day that was the best discion I have ever made in my sports career. I learned so much and improved my game by 200%. Not only did I get better I made so many new friends. Overall sports is not about plain athletic ability, it's about how much practice and heart you put into it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bo Ingraham | 1/29/2014

    " Awsome so far .I,m exited how it will end. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kyle | 1/26/2014

    " This book shows that it does not matter about your size for there your can accomplish anything you want. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hunter | 1/24/2014

    " Its is a awesome book on how a average kid makes his way up to the top "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Andy Amick | 1/18/2014

    " A very quick read, and a nice story about the "little guy" coming up big. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wayne | 1/3/2014

    " This book is pimptabulous. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Byron | 12/24/2013

    " This book is good if you like sports "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ryan Sikorski | 12/22/2013

    " the book Travel team by Mike Lupica, is a book for kids who love basketball but haven't had a chance because of there size. Also if you are in the shadows of your dad or moms sports career. i really love this book and recommend you read it "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michael T | 12/11/2013

    " I loved this book. It is very fun to read. If you like basketball you will love this book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Reneeantrosio | 5/31/2013

    " I enjoyed this. A good book for 6th graders who love sports. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Quintin Munoz | 4/30/2013

    " The novel Travel Team is an excellent novel based on a young boy who someday wishes to play on the team his dad led the Nationals. I thought the novel had very good discription and some suspenseful action. Overall, the novel was excellent. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rickywarren5 | 4/13/2013

    " I gave this book a four star rating because I really enjoy sport books and this book was very interesting. Mike Lupica is a very good author if you like sport books. What was the best about this book is that it was very hard to put down. I would strongly recommend this book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tim | 3/12/2013

    " Read this book with my son and we enjoyed it pretty well. My son (age 12) was disappointed with the ending as he wanted to hear about what happened after the big Vikings game. He said there should at least be an epilogue or something. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Anthony Passmore | 3/11/2013

    " This is a great underdog story about how a kid uses his hight disadvantage for the better and becomes great at basketball. I like this book because everybody mad fun of the kid because he was short and he came out on top in they end when he is great at basketball. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Craig | 3/11/2013

    " LOVED IT THE BOOK IS GREAT SHOWS HOW U CAN DO ANYTHING IN LIFE "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 lindsss:) | 2/23/2013

    " I would give this book a two or three... just because for me it wasnt too good. Nothing really exciting happened. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 1ashbrook_jon | 10/16/2011

    " Travel team was a very exciting book with twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat. I rate this book a 5 stars! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Joan | 8/4/2011

    " My son liked it even more than I did. This must mean that Lupica is doing a good job of appealing to his audience - young males. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 David | 4/28/2011

    " This book was not that good but it was okay. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Reneeantrosio | 4/22/2011

    " I enjoyed this. A good book for 6th graders who love sports. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Andy | 4/4/2011

    " A very quick read, and a nice story about the "little guy" coming up big. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michael | 2/21/2011

    " Such a great book. This is one book you will not be able to put down. Starting with the tension to the excitement of the games. This is just an all around book that is just an amazing story to tell. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Affrick | 2/15/2011

    " I think this book related to my life. It was a little bit boring I got lost it. This is a realistic fiction book. You could compare it to anyone's life that loves basketball. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Spencer | 2/15/2011

    " Mike Lupica strikes again with an amazing award winning sports novel. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Triple Crown | 2/9/2011

    " Triple Crown Maffucci plans on reading this book next month. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Mike Lupica

Mike Lupica is a New York Times bestselling author of several books for young readers. He has carved out a niche as the sporting world’s finest storyteller. His column in the New York Daily News is syndicated nationally. He lives in Connecticut with his wife and their four children.

About the Narrator

Oliver Wyman is an actor and award-winning audiobook narrator. His first full-length audiobook, It’s Not about the Bike, won an Audie Award. Quickly renowned for his versatility, he went on to win several Audie Awards and eighteen AudioFile Earphones Awards in genres ranging from drama and humor to nonfiction and children’s stories.