Extended Audio Sample

Download The Smell of Other People's Houses Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Smell of Other Peoples Houses, by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock Narrator: Erin Tripp, Karissa Vacker, Robbie Daymond, Jorjeana Marie Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $18.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

Download and start listening now!

bou2

Quotes & Awards

  • An honest, gritty, and moving portrait of growing up in Alaska. Only someone who knows and loves this place through and through could tell this story. This book is Alaska. Eowyn Ivey, author of the New York Times bestseller The Snow Child
  • As only a native of Alaska can, Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock blends narratives of indigenous and non- into a buffet of pain and beauty. Highly recommended. Tim Tingle, author of the series How I Became a Ghost

  •  
  • An exquisitely drawn, deeply heartfelt look at a time and place not often addressed. Hitchcock’s measured prose casts a gorgeous, almost otherworldly feel over the text, resulting in a quietly lovely look at the various sides of human nature and growing up in a difficult world. Booklist, Starred
  • Using alternating narratives, debut novelist Hitchcock deftly weaves these stories together, setting them against the backdrop of a native Alaska that readers will find intoxicating. . . . will resonate with readers of all ages. Publishers Weekly
  • “An affecting story of fractured love and surprising redemption. Shelf Awareness, Starred
  • A multifaceted glimpse into [a] rich cast of characters. . . . An excellent debut. SLJ
  • The Alaskan author depicts places and an era rarely seen in fiction for teens….All benefit from her journalist’s eye for detail. Kirkus Reviews
  • Grounded in emotional honesty. The Horn Book 
  • “An exquisitely drawn, deeply heartfelt look at a time and place not often addressed. Hitchcock’s measured prose casts a gorgeous, almost otherworldly feel over the text, resulting in a quietly lovely look at the various sides of human nature and growing up in a difficult world.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Four narrators tell the story of teens in a 1970s Alaska fishing town. Jorjeana Marie portrays Ruth in a soft, slow voice that expresses the character’s lyrical nature and a longing born of contrasts…Dora [is] portrayed by Erin Tripp in a weary tone. The voice of Alyce, read by Karissa Vacker, is brighter, reflecting the possibilities she has due to having money and parental understanding. Robbie Daymond dramatizes the burdened, fearful Hank, who has escaped a cruel stepfather. Stories connect and relationships build as these talented narrators weave individual experiences into a tapestry that evokes Alaska’s cultural and emotional landscape just after statehood. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • “Hitchcock deftly weaves these stories together, setting them against the backdrop of a native Alaska that readers will find intoxicating. The gutsiness of these four teens who, at heart, are trying to find their places in the world and survive against challenging odds, will resonate with readers of all ages.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “The Alaskan author depicts places and an era rarely seen in fiction for teens: shopping for winter clothes at the Fairbanks Goodwill, living in a summer fish camp on the Yukon River and on a small fishing boat. All benefit from her journalist’s eye for detail. Though compact, the novel features a large cast of sympathetic characters.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “The Alaskan setting, with its contrasts between bountiful natural resources and cultural traditions, and abject poverty, alcoholism, and broken families, provides a rich backdrop for the story. Hitchcock’s descriptive writing is full of images and details that bring this setting to life. The weaving of the four stories is carefully plotted, and readers will be fully drawn into each of the four narratives. The unfortunate title will necessitate some persuasive book talking, but readers who give it a try will be abundantly rewarded.”

    VOYA

  • “Four teenagers’ lives intersect in unexpected ways. Dealing with problems that continue to propel modern teens—unwanted pregnancy, alcoholism, difficult family situations, and ambition—they try to find a future that is theirs…Point of view moves among the four characters…[and] this vantage allows readers a multifaceted glimpse into the rich cast of characters…[A] work of…beauty and gentle emotional richness.”

    School Library Journal

  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations