Extended Audio Sample

Download The Second Opinion Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Second Opinion Audiobook, by Michael Palmer Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.63 out of 53.63 out of 53.63 out of 53.63 out of 53.63 out of 5 3.63 (38 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael Palmer Narrator: Franette Liebow Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2009 ISBN: 9781597370783
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Dr. Thea Sperelakis has always been an outsider. She has a brilliant medical mind and a remarkable ability to recall details, but her difficulty in dealing with hidden agendas and interpersonal conflicts has led her to leave the complex, money-driven dynamics of a hospital and to embrace working with the poor. Her father, Petros, is one of the most celebrated internal medicine specialists in the world and the founder of the cutting-edge Sperelakis Center for Diagnostic Medicine at Boston’s sprawling, powerful Beaumont Clinic. When Petros is severely injured by a hit-and-run driver, no one thinks he will survive. Two of Petros’s other children, both physicians, battle Thea and their eccentric brother, Dimitri, by demanding that treatment for their father be withheld. Meanwhile, Petros lingers in the Beaumont Clinic’s intensive care unit, where Thea is his only advocate. As Thea uncovers the facts surrounding the disaster, it seems more and more to be no accident. Petros himself is the only witness. Who would want him dead? The answers are trapped in his brain...until he looks at Thea and begins to slowly blink a terrifying message. In The Second Opinion, Michael Palmer has created a cat-and-mouse game where one woman must confront a conspiracy of doctors to uncover an evil practice that touches every single person who ever has a medical test. With unforgettable characters and twists and betrayals that come from the most unlikely places, The Second Opinion will keep you guessing...and looking over your shoulder. Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_001558

Quotes & Awards

  • “Not merely a thriller but also an exploration of its central character’s unique gifts and her determination to communicate with her comatose father despite overwhelming odds. Another winner from a consistently fine writer.”

    Booklist

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debby | 2/14/2014

    " I found this medical thriller even more interesting because two of the characters in the book have Asperger's Syndrome. Michael Palmer's son was diagnosed with Asperger's when he was 4. Palmer's knowledge of and personal experience with Asperger's is quite evident in the story. I suggest listening tot he book on CD for a much fuller experience of this book. The narrator does a fantastic job on the voices of Thea and Demetri, which helps you get a better picture of Asperger's from these two characters thought processes, actions and dialogue. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lisa | 2/5/2014

    " Interesting with the Aspbergers/Autism angle but in the end the mystery didn't get tied together to my satisfaction. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Marcia | 2/4/2014

    " I really liked this book. The focus on Asberger's (which Boston Legal made me aware of) and Electronic Medical Records (because I work in the healthcare field) were very interesting and made for a good page turner. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Brooke | 2/3/2014

    " Decent medical thriller....nice to have a different aspect/setting for my most recent suspense read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katrin | 2/1/2014

    " Sort of slow building up to the plot but got good at the end. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephanie | 1/31/2014

    " Quick fun beach read. Medical suspense story. A few interesting characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Elaine | 1/29/2014

    " It was interesting to get in the head of someone with Aspergers Syndrome, but this wasn't my favorite Michael Palmer novel. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Charles | 1/19/2014

    " Very good thriller. Lot of great information on the autism spectrum- specifically Ausperger's "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nan | 1/6/2014

    " A fun to read medical thriller...easy. Very Palmer. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Claudia | 12/31/2013

    " Decent. A bit disturbing. Also an interesting insight into Asperger's syndrome. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 CodyAnne | 12/25/2013

    " Being ADHD myself, I *very* much enjoyed this book. It seemed like it was skipping around at the beginning, but I promise it does all tie together. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kay | 10/15/2013

    " This thriller grabbed me from the get go. VERY unusual and interesting main characters, a fast moving plot and a surprising ending all goes together to make a fine piece of reading!!! I apprecite this author who doesn't give up his talent to mass produce too many weak books. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gloria | 9/15/2013

    " I really enjoyed this one. In fact I read it in three days, I ever figgured out the ending 0 It was quite suspenseful., "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ann Dornblaser | 7/23/2013

    " This was just a don't think too much, easy read. It kept me entertained but wouldn't recommend it as a must read! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jody | 7/2/2013

    " This is a fast paced medical thriller with a couple of intertwined mysteries. Who tried to kill Thea's father and are they now after her? And why? And how about that wonder cure for pancratic cancer leading to big donations to the hospital. Who is behind this data manipulation? "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Diane | 5/31/2013

    " This is a "medical thriller" that I read in between my more literary choices. Sometimes I just like mindless books. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 barry | 2/25/2013

    " Second book I read by Michael Palmer...Great author!!!Great story. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rosalie | 2/14/2013

    " This seemed a little harder to get into than some of his books but was still good. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Laura | 11/22/2012

    " Interesting story, main character has autism, I wonder if this is why I found the author to be more jumbled in his writing? I enjoyed First Patient MUCH more. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rob Daly | 11/2/2012

    " Welcome summer reading. It was a good book, a page turner. It felt a little hacky. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Steve Davis | 4/22/2012

    " A good medical yarn that I was going to give 4 stars...but after reading all the way to the end (do NOT read the epilog first!) I gave it a five. Unexpected climax! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Susan | 1/9/2012

    " I am a sucker for Michal Palmer's stories and this one was one that literally sucked me in from word one. The protagonist is a doctor with asberger's syndrome and that, alone, was fascinating. This also had one of the most creative murders I've ever read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Grace G | 11/16/2011

    " this was an excellent medical thriller full of suspense twists n turn..totally could not put book down.. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Barbara | 6/20/2011

    " Readable but forgettable. The author seems to be using this novel to instruct us about Asperger's syndrome in the context of an implausible plot set with unappealing characters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sue | 5/6/2011

    " This was an interesting story about a doctor that has Asperger's syndrome. I wish it had ended differently, but I think it was well written. I thought Michael Palmer did a good job of portraying Thea Speralakis as the main character. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kw | 4/14/2011

    " I always enjoy Michael Palmer's books, and this one is no exception. Great characters and interesting
    information regarding Asperger's syndrome. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Karen | 4/6/2011

    " This was very good. A good "Who Done It" book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 kathi | 4/4/2011

    " I enjoy reading books by this author as he is also a doctor. There is a credibility in his writing due to that fact....it was an okay book and i would recommend it if you enjoy medical thrillers. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rebecca | 3/25/2011

    " Predictable and at times annoying. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 CodyAnne | 2/22/2011

    " Being ADHD myself, I *very* much enjoyed this book. It seemed like it was skipping around at the beginning, but I promise it does all tie together. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jesi | 2/11/2011

    " Meh? The romance in the story seemed very secondary and unnecessary to the story and almost tacked in to satisfy some unknown formula. The rest of the emotion in it seemed very remote, even the action scenes. Otherwise, a decent "who done it." "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julie | 1/19/2011

    " What are the chances of finding another book about people with asbergers? This one was good, but the characters didn't display symptoms as strong as the first book. At the end I discovered that the author actually has a son with the disorder. It was exciting and education at the same time. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gary | 1/17/2011

    " Autism and adult Asperger Syndrome in the novel made it unique. The Author's Note at the end was very interesting too. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary | 1/3/2011

    " Amazing how twins can be so different even when sharing Asperger's syndrome. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jim | 12/22/2010

    " Excellent plot. NOT written well, "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joan | 12/1/2010

    " I found the insights into Aspergers Syndrome fascinating. The main character was not a flawless superhuman as is the typical protagonist. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Bill | 11/26/2010

    " I liked this book. It was well-written and I'm pleased to see that this author has written many others that I'd like to read. It was a good page-turner and contained a lot of interesting medical information. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 John | 11/19/2010

    " OK read...fairly typical of the author. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Michael PalmerMichael Palmer (1942-2013) wrote internationally bestselling novels of medical suspense, including The First Patient, The Second Opinion, The Last Surgeon, A Heartbeat Away, Oath of Office and Political Suicide. His book Extreme Measures was adapted into a movie starring Hugh Grant and Gene Hackman. His books have been translated into thirty-five languages. Palmer earned his bachelor's degree at Wesleyan University, and he attended medical school at Case Western Reserve University. He trained in internal medicine at Boston City and Massachusetts General Hospitals. He spent twenty years as a full-time practitioner of internal and emergency medicine. In addition to his writing, Palmer was an associate director of the Massachusetts Medical Society Physician Health Services, devoted to helping physicians troubled by mental illness, physical illness, behavioral issues, and chemical dependency. He lived in eastern Massachusetts.