Extended Audio Sample

Download The First Patient: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The First Patient: A Novel Audiobook, by Michael Palmer Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,092 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael Palmer Narrator: Phil Gigante Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2008 ISBN: 9781597370684
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Gabe Singleton and Andrew Stoddard were roommates at the Naval Academy in Annapolis years ago. Today, Gabe is a country doctor and his friend Andrew has gone from war hero to governor to President of the United States.

One day, while the United States is embroiled in a bitter presidential election campaign, Marine One lands on Gabe’s Wyoming ranch, and President Stoddard delivers a disturbing revelation and a startling request. His personal physician has suddenly and mysteriously disappeared, and he desperately needs Gabe to take the man’s place. Despite serious misgivings, Gabe agrees to come to Washington.

It is not until he is ensconced in the White House medical office that Gabe realizes there is strong evidence that the President is going insane. Facing a crisis of conscience—as President Stoddard’s physician, he has the power to invoke the Twenty-fifth Amendment to transfer presidential power to the Vice President—Gabe uncovers increasing evidence that his friend’s condition may not be due to natural causes.

Who? Why? And how? The President’s life is at stake. A small-town doctor suddenly finds himself in the most powerful position on earth, and the safety of the world is in jeopardy. Gabe Singleton must find the answers, and the clock is ticking....

Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_000010

Quotes & Awards

  • “An exciting thriller that is full of surprises and captures the intense atmosphere of the White House. I thoroughly enjoyed it.”

    President Bill Clinton

  • “The roller-coaster ride of a plot builds to an undeniably shocking conclusion.”

    Publishers Weekly

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Tina Gaudet | 2/19/2014

    " Interesting book especially the nano tech and the 25 Amendment. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Michael | 2/16/2014

    " predictable but still a good read. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Allison | 2/13/2014

    " tiny robots in your brain? ooooook. but totally worth the 10 cents i paid for it. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Christian | 2/7/2014

    " Meh. I thought I had read some Palmer before, but if I had I probably wouldn't have picked this up. A little TOO soap opera-y for me. Not enough political thriller. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Paige Hackler | 1/28/2014

    " A disappointment. I had only read one other book by this author, The Fifth Vial, and it was pretty good, but this one, not so much. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 1/24/2014

    " Mainstream novel (i.e. not a romance!!) I like medical thrillers once in a while. Interesting view of the president & his staff & advisors, etc. Has some nano-technology in it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Betty | 1/15/2014

    " Great book....I was pleasantly surprised. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Maret | 1/12/2014

    " good read in the genre of medical thrillers!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 1/11/2014

    " Not too bad, although there were a couple a of parts that made me wish I had paid attention in chemistry class. Probably not a book I would seek out if I hadn't seen it on the bargain table at Borders, but I will definitely try another book by this author. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Renz Alcantara | 1/11/2014

    " Read and you will never want to put down the book. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Linda | 12/24/2013

    " After reading two chapters I realized I had already read this book. My opinion may be tainted because the read was on its second trip. The story was easy to follow, and the book was well written. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dana | 12/14/2013

    " It was pretty good. I listened to it, and I probably would have liked it more if I had like the reader more. He tried to sound presidential times 10. Good story, kept wondering who dun it! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lorna | 12/10/2013

    " I enjoyed this book. It kept my attention and I loved the ending. This is a good choice when you want something easy to "read" and a mystery. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brian Tracey | 12/5/2013

    " A tight presidential thriller with a lot of great twists and turns. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Phil | 11/30/2013

    " Stretches credulity quite a bit. Good concept, not well executed. Dialog is not very realistic. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lisa | 9/18/2013

    " A serious page turner. A fun, fast read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 L | 6/3/2013

    " A real page turner! Full of suspense, twists and turns! I could not put it down. Politics, the White House, etc., a very good read. This is my first book by this author, I will look for more now. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jane | 3/12/2013

    " This was a really good book. It took several turns that I never saw coming. I will definitely read some of his other books. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joyce | 3/2/2013

    " I really liked this book. The plot was interesting and keep you turning pages! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jill | 2/26/2013

    " This suspense thriller was my first for this author. I loved the storyline - The First Patient is actually the President. Very cool plot that keeps you engaged - until toward the end when it all just seemed to die and become very predictable and a little trite. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary Alice Halkins | 11/24/2012

    " The plot is totally bind blowing. To think that our president could be so easily manipulated is very scary. But then who is to say if some form of this is not already happening. I liked it though the "love story" was not totally believable. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cindy | 5/16/2012

    " Intelligence, action and suspense...and not too much swearing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/4/2012

    " pretty cool medical thriller. who would have guessed all of the details surrounding keeping the president healthy? seems like the most powerful person in the world isn't the president of the united states but the president's doctor. my only complaint was that the store moved slowly in the beginning. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joy | 11/6/2011

    " Good twists in this thriller. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Denise | 10/13/2011

    " Nice thriller set in the White House - nanotechnology, conspiracy, plot twists, romance. Interesting characters - good read-alike for Baldacci fans. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Daniel | 8/8/2011

    " A good summer reading type of book. It hooked me, even if the plot was unbelievable. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cranbery | 7/17/2011

    " So far it is great!!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary | 4/29/2011

    " Fast reading, entertaining, somewhat predictable plot. I DID figure out who did it, but it was interesting to find out the "whys"....of course, also knew the romance would occur too..... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joyce | 4/11/2011

    " I really liked this book. The plot was interesting and keep you turning pages! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cactuskid2 | 4/10/2011

    " Select Editions Vol. 4, 2008
    Another good story about transferring power of the President but it got a little rushed at the end, plus how people got to the final showdown was confusing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tulsa | 4/6/2011

    " Not exactly the best thing I've ever read. It was a bit disjointed and loosely put together. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lynda | 3/23/2011

    " A real page turner! Full of suspense, twists and turns! I could not put it down. Politics, the White House, etc., a very good read. This is my first book by this author, I will look for more now. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jane | 3/10/2011

    " At Dick's suggestion I loaded this into my new Nook to am grateful Palmer for taking my mind off my fear of flying. For completely holding my attention, this one gets a high score. Palmer's cynicism regarding politicians reflects my own, and I enjoyed the details of life in the White House. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Barbara | 2/9/2011

    " An interesting read. Michael Palmer grasps the reader's attention with unlikely combinations of friends and holds the attention with a "who-done-it" motiff - Who is druging the President and how are they getting the drugs in him? This is not his best novel, but it's worth the read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/8/2011

    " Not too bad, although there were a couple a of parts that made me wish I had paid attention in chemistry class. Probably not a book I would seek out if I hadn't seen it on the bargain table at Borders, but I will definitely try another book by this author. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Annie | 2/6/2011

    " it was a good book.i was involved from the miute i picked it up "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jill | 1/26/2011

    " Well, I wasn't surprised by the ending, but the story was compelling. A little different plot from Michael Palmer, which I enjoyed. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Helen | 1/12/2011

    " Loved this one!!!! Loved the writing style, self-effacing, but light and serious at times. makes you really think about possibilities.... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kelly | 1/3/2011

    " I little too much science fiction for me but it was entertaining. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elizabeth | 1/1/2011

    " I read this book a couple years ago. I remember really liking it and will be reading more by this author. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim | 1/1/2011

    " Hard book to put down, since I really wanted to figure out the mystery. Also, you are constantly rooting for the main guy in this book.
    "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary Beth | 12/31/2010

    " Excellent medical thriller. Kind of funny that the last couple books I've read involved nano- technology, but this one is definitely best. Michael Palmer is quickly becoming a favorite author of mine. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dianne | 12/27/2010

    " 484 pages! Phew! What a crazy, winding, intriquate story. The ending was well worth the long journey, though. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Michael Palmer

Michael Palmer (1942–2013) authored twenty-one novels of medical suspense, all international bestsellers, including The First Patient, The Second Opinion, and The Last Surgeon. His books have been translated into thirty-five languages. Extreme Measures was the basis for a movie starring Hugh Grant and Gene Hackman.

About the Narrator

Phil Gigante has narrated more than two hundred audiobooks, earning ten AudioFile Earphones Awards and three of the prestigious Audie Awards for best narration. An actor, director, and producer with over twenty years of experience in theater, film, television, and radio, he is currently the artistic director of Gigantic Productions and Little Giant Children’s Theatre.