The Push: A GMA Book Club Pick (A Novel) Audiobook, by Ashley Audrain Play Audiobook Sample

The Push: A GMA Book Club Pick (A Novel) Audiobook

The Push: A GMA Book Club Pick (A Novel) Audiobook, by Ashley Audrain Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Marin Ireland Publisher: Penguin Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 5.83 hours at 1.5x Speed 4.38 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: January 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780593289358

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

99

Longest Chapter Length:

13:18 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

05 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

05:14 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

4

Other Audiobooks Written by Ashley Audrain: > View All...

Publisher Description

A Good Morning America Book Club Pick | A New York Times bestseller!



“Utterly addictive.” —Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train


“Hooks you from the very first page and will have you racing to get to the end.”—Good Morning America

A tense, page-turning psychological drama about the making and breaking of a family—and a woman whose experience of motherhood is nothing at all what she hoped for—and everything she feared

Ashley Audrain's second novel, The Whispers, is on sale now


Blythe Connor is determined that she will be the warm, comforting mother to her new baby Violet that she herself never had.

But in the thick of motherhood's exhausting early days, Blythe becomes convinced that something is wrong with her daughter—she doesn't behave like most children do.

Or is it all in Blythe's head? Her husband, Fox, says she's imagining things. The more Fox dismisses her fears, the more Blythe begins to question her own sanity, and the more we begin to question what Blythe is telling us about her life as well.

Then their son Sam is born—and with him, Blythe has the blissful connection she'd always imagined with her child. Even Violet seems to love her little brother. But when life as they know it is changed in an instant, the devastating fall-out forces Blythe to face the truth.

For fans of Verity and We Need to talk about Kevin, The The Push is a tour de force you will read in a sitting, an utterly immersive novel that will challenge everything you think you know about motherhood, about what we owe our children, and what it feels like when women are not believed.

Download and start listening now!

"Interesting story line…it did hold my interest but probably won’t reread!"

— Principal98 (5 out of 5 stars)

Quotes

  • “The Push is uncomfortable and provocative, like a train wreck that demands your gaze.”

    — Washington Post
  • “Taut, chilling….Audrain has a gift for capturing the seemingly small moments that speak volumes about relationships.”

    — New York Times Book Review
  • “Narrator Marin Ireland delivers an emotionally charged performance in this story…Ireland’s performance starts off in a miasma of dark thoughts…[and] speaks in a way that thoroughly reflects every parent’s fears. In contrast, the voices of the other characters, Blythe’s loved ones and peers, express hope, desperation, and love. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    — AudioFile
  • “Hooks you from the very first page and will have you racing to get to the end.”

    — Good Morning America
  • “A chilling page-turner that asks provocative questions.”

    — Real Simple
  • “[A] twisty, harrowing ride to the dark side of motherhood Audrain pilots so skillfully. This is a sterling addition to the burgeoning canon of bad seed suspense, from an arrestingly original new voice.”

    — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • Starkly original and compulsively readable, Ashley Audrain's THE PUSH is a deep dive into the darkest nooks and crannies of motherhood.  Raw, visceral, and often disturbing, this is an intense psychological drama that will be embraced by serious book clubs and fans of Lionel Shriver's We Need to Talk about Kevin.

    — Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author
  • THE PUSH was a poetic, propulsive read that set my nerves jangling in both horror and recognition. I read it in one sitting and it stayed with me for days afterwards. Not to be missed.

    — Lisa Jewell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone
  • With its riveting prose and deep convictions, Ashley Audrain’s THE PUSH had me in its clutches from the first page. Audrain’s astute portrayal of motherhood was unsettling in its insights, yet highly entertaining on the page. Complex, nuanced, and unflinching, I inhaled this debut in one sitting.

    — Karma Brown, bestselling author of Recipe for a Perfect Wife“Intensely absorbing, gripping until the final page, The Push excavates the myths of motherhood, deftly exploring the shape-shifting landscape of parenting, the powerful impact of the past on the present, and the deep unease of our inability to ever fully know even those we hold the closest.
  • “The Push is written on the edge of a knife. It’s a howl in the face of what we think we know — or want to believe — about motherhood. Relentlessly compelling, distressing and beautiful, Ashley Audrain’s debut is the next Gone Girl, with shades of We Need to Talk About Kevin. I devoured it whole.

    — Marissa Stapley, bestselling author of The Last Resort
  • "Stayed up too late finishing [Audrain’s] deeply unsettling The Push about the darkest reaches of motherhood (and profound maternal ambivalence). Visceral, provocative, compulsive, and with the most graphic and relatable description of childbirth I've read (or written).

    — Sarah Vaughan, bestselling author of Anatomy of a Scandal
  • "Compelling, beautifully written and wickedly entertaining.... A tremendously thought-provoking read.

    —  Liz Nugent, author of Little Cruelties and Lying in Wait

Awards

  • A January 2021 LibraryReads Pick
  • A Good Morning America Selection for Book Clubs
  • New York Times bestseller
  • New York Times Bestseller in Audio
  • A Sunday Times (London) bestseller
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • Among shortlisted titles for Kobo Emerging Writer Prize, 2022
  • Winner of The Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence - Best Crime Novel, 2022
  • Among shortlisted titles for Kobo Emerging Writer Prize, 2022
  • Winner of The Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence - Best Crime Novel, 2022

The Push Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 (5.00)
5 Stars: 2
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Narration: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 (5.00)
5 Stars: 2
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Story: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 (5.00)
5 Stars: 2
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — kim topping, 6/15/2022
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Gwen Hauff, 7/21/2021

About Ashley Audrain

Ashley Audrain is the author of The Whispers and her acclaimed debut novel, The Push, a New York Times bestseller. She previously worked as the publicity director of Penguin Books Canada. Prior to Penguin, she worked in public relations.

About Marin Ireland

Marin Ireland is a voice artist who has won five Earphones Awards as well as the prestigious Audie Award for Best Female Narration in 2020. She is an award-winning actress known for her starring role in the Broadway show Reasons to Be Pretty, for which she was nominated for a Tony Award. She has appeared in a number of off-Broadway shows and television series, including Homeland, Unforgettable, The Killing, The Following, and others.