The Wife between Us: A Novel Audiobook, by Greer Hendricks Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Wife between Us: A Novel Audiobook

The Wife between Us: A Novel Audiobook, by Greer Hendricks Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
Author: Greer Hendricks, Sarah Pekkanen Narrator: Julia Whelan Publisher: Macmillan Audio Audio Length: Release Date: January 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781427293046

Publisher Description

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of the 21st century's more cynical version of the O. Henry ending." The Washington Post From Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen comes the next hit audiobook thriller, an instant New York Times bestseller! When you listen to this audiobook, you will make many assumptions. You will assume you are listening to a story about a jealous ex-wife. You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love. You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle. Assume nothing. Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. Listen for the truth between the lies. Praise for The Wife Between Us: "Addictive domestic thrillers with twist-filled plots and unreliable narrators are increasingly popular. Add in assumptions that should not be assumed, shape-shifting, surprising characters and a complex chronology, and you have a hint of what you'll find in The Wife Between Us...All will be made clear, or perhaps not, as you listen to Julia Whelan's tautly paced performance." BookPage “A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman "Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris's Behind Closed Doors and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives in this domestic thriller." - Library Journal "A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." –Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire "A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada This audiobook contains a bonus interview with the authors

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard’s infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of the twenty-first century’s more cynical version of the O. Henry ending.”

    - Washington Post (audio review)
  • “Fiendishly clever…This one will keep you guessing.”

    - Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author
  • “In the didn’t-see-it-coming plot twist category.”

    - USA Today
  • “A jaw-dropping psychological thriller.”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession.

    - Javier Ramirez, The Book Table
  • “This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!

    - Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault
  • A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!

    - Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada
  • The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it.

    - Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew
  • A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing.

    - Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire
  • A clever thriller with masterful twists.

    - Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman
  • Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s Behind Closed Doors and Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller.

    - Library Journal, starred review
  • Addictive domestic thrillers with twist-filled plots and unreliable narrators are increasingly popular. Add in assumptions that should not be assumed, shape-shifting, surprising characters and a complex chronology, and you have a hint of what you'll find in the The Wife Between Us...All will be made clear, or perhaps not, as you listen to Julia Whelan's tautly paced performance.

    - BookPage
  • Hendricks and Pekkanen have written a complex story that will appeal to fans of slow-burn psychological thrillers.

    - AudioFile

Awards

  • A New York Times bestseller
  • An Indie Next List selection
  • A January 2018 LibraryReads Pick
  • A Wall Street Journal Pick
  • An AARP Magazine Editors’ Pick
  • A Glamour Magazine Pick of Most Anticipated Books of 2018
  • A Real Simple Pick
  • A Bustle Pick
  • Among longlisted titles for Amazon.com Best Books of the Year, 2018

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Full review: 50 to 5000 characters This is a thrilling book that is hard to stop listening too, if I had the time I would have listened from end to end. The plot kept you engaged and guessing at what was next. Great twists and turns "

    - Linda, 5/25/2019
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I enjoyed listening to this audiobook. Well read and performed. The story was good but I think for all the main character went through the ending good have been more intense. A lot of work to get out of a marriage. "

    - JoAnn, 3/6/2019
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " This was a great story if you like twists and surprises "

    - Posmama, 9/18/2018
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Best book!!! I listen in my car and I never wanted to get out. During lunch I sat in my car. You will think everyone is crazy!! Awesome book! I could not find another book by this author. Well written "

    - jenan , 6/27/2018
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " This book confused me about halfway through. I found myself listening to several segments again to make sure I was understanding the story. I think using two narrators might've eliminated the confusion. I'm almost finished with the book, but don't wanna give away too much info because it is fictional suspense. I would recommend this book for anyone enjoying a thrilling read. "

    - Julie, 5/11/2018

About the Author

Greer Hendricks spent over two decades as an editor at Simon & Schuster. Prior to her tenure in publishing, she worked at Allure magazine and obtained her masters in journalism from Columbia University. Her writing has been published in the New York Times and Publishers Weekly.

About the Narrator

Julia Whelan, winner of numerous Earphones Awards, won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Romance Narration in 2013 and has also been a finalist for an Audie Award in other years. She was named one of AudioFile magazine’s Best Voices of 2010, and two of her audio narrations were shortlisted for the American Library Association’s notable recordings of 2010. Her narration of Jandy Nelson’s The Sky Is Everywhere earned a place in the first round of 2011 Grammy nominations for Best Spoken Word Album. She is a former child actor who has appeared in multiple films and television shows, most notably ABC’s Once and Again. After receiving her college degree, she returned to the film industry and is also a writer.