Extended Audio Sample

Download The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy, by Jeanne Birdsall Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (13,328 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jeanne Birdsall Narrator: Susan Denaker Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Penderwicks Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_000317

Quotes & Awards

  • Problems are solved and lessons learned in this wonderful, humorous book that features characters whom readers will immediately love, as well as a superb writing style. Bring on more of the Penderwicks! School and Library Journal, starred
  • Winner of the 2005 National Book Award for Young People's Literature
  • One of the 2005 Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books for Children
  • A 2005 School Library Journal Best Book
  • A 2005 Booklist Editors’ Choice for Children
  • A 2005 Publishers Weekly Best Book for Children
  • A 2006 ALA Notable Book for Children

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Book Him Danno | 2/16/2014

    " We listened to this on a vacation trip in the car. The kids and I listened together and we both enjoyed the story. The relationship between the kids and the boy at the house was so sweet. I cried at the end. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Bekah | 1/29/2014

    " Cute story, but not my favorite. Part of it is that I listened to it on tape and there were parts I just wanted to go faster. :) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Kathryne | 1/22/2014

    " Family book club selection for November 2009 - Mom's recommendation. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kerry Murphy | 1/9/2014

    " Such a good book! Children's lit - each chapter a new adventure from their summer vacation. Reminded me slightly of Mrs. Piggle Wiggle but not a "Learn Lessons" kind of book. Just interesting characters and fun little vacation days. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations