Extended Audio Sample

Download The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy Audiobook, by Jeanne Birdsall Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (13,328 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jeanne Birdsall Narrator: Susan Denaker Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Penderwicks Series Release Date: January 2006 ISBN: 9780307284525
Regular Price: $19.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_000317

Quotes & Awards

  • Problems are solved and lessons learned in this wonderful, humorous book that features characters whom readers will immediately love, as well as a superb writing style. Bring on more of the Penderwicks! School and Library Journal, starred
  • A 2005 Booklist Editors’ Choice for Children
  • A 2005 Publishers Weekly Best Book for Children
  • A 2006 ALA Notable Book for Children
  • One of the 2005 Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books for Children
  • Winner of the 2005 National Book Award for Young People's Literature
  • A 2005 School Library Journal Best Book

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Book Him Danno | 2/16/2014

    " We listened to this on a vacation trip in the car. The kids and I listened together and we both enjoyed the story. The relationship between the kids and the boy at the house was so sweet. I cried at the end. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bekah | 1/29/2014

    " Cute story, but not my favorite. Part of it is that I listened to it on tape and there were parts I just wanted to go faster. :) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathryne | 1/22/2014

    " Family book club selection for November 2009 - Mom's recommendation. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kerry Murphy | 1/9/2014

    " Such a good book! Children's lit - each chapter a new adventure from their summer vacation. Reminded me slightly of Mrs. Piggle Wiggle but not a "Learn Lessons" kind of book. Just interesting characters and fun little vacation days. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jamie | 1/4/2014

    " I didn't love this book, but my kids did (I read it aloud to them). I kept expecting the bad guys to have some redeeming qualities in the end. Nope: first impressions basically stand through the end of the book. Still, it was fun. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rebecca Turner | 12/18/2013

    " I read this aloud to my first-grade daughter, and I loved it as much as she did... "Don't stop yet, Mommy, I want to know what happens next!" Music to my ears. It was a privilege to be there to watch my little-girl's eyes opened to the possibilities of good story, engaging characters, and descriptive writing. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carol | 12/14/2013

    " A must read! It creates a sense of nostalgia and a longing for your childhood. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lia | 10/17/2013

    " A wonderful recommendation for girls who like Ivy and Bean, Little Women, Little House books, Clementine, etc. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Thayer Smock | 5/18/2013

    " we listened to this on CD during all our spring-break driving around, kept my 3, 6, and 9 year old (and me) interested the whole time. sweet and fun. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jenny | 5/15/2013

    " It was just delightful! Made me laugh, made me tear up. I loved all the sisters, especially Skye and Jane. I can't wait to read the next two books in the series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Enola | 5/3/2013

    " It was the most adorable story of this Family. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ally McKinnis | 4/12/2013

    " REALLY GOOD BOOK WITH AND AWESOME STORY AND CORKY GIRL, JUST GREAT! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Beth | 11/28/2012

    " Nice clean sweet book but I was kind of glad when I was finished. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Yessica P | 6/29/2012

    " Light, funny, full of sunshine. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lori | 6/19/2012

    " A great story of four very independent, but very loving and loyal sisters! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Charlotte | 4/20/2012

    " I love this book so much! I have it 8 times it is the best book ever "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joanna | 3/29/2012

    " Patti... did you read this yet? LOL "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Amy Bearce | 3/28/2012

    " Very sweet. A wide range of girls can enjoy this as a read-aloud because the four sisters have a wide range of ages and personalities. Plus, there's the boy. :) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kathryn | 1/9/2012

    " Read out loud with the boys. I enjoyed it, but didn't love it. I think my expectations were too high. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amanda | 10/17/2011

    " great little summer read with a happy ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 moroccanadian | 9/21/2011

    " This is a delightful little book. I particularly fell in love with Batty and Hound. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Deidra | 8/7/2011

    " It probably would have been more enjoyable if I hadn't gotten confused and read the third book in the series first. It ruined a lot of things about this one. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ariana | 8/3/2011

    " Really good for 4th and 5th graders who feel like they are reading below there grade level. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Melanie | 6/30/2011

    " I trult enjoyed the characters in this book. Though there were 4 daughters, the author gave them such individual personalities that I never confused them. It was a great book to read aloud to my son and my daughter enjoyed reading it on her own. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Chimpy | 6/10/2011

    " AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and funny "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Wendy Denison | 6/1/2011

    " Cute, quick read with that Little Women feel. Will for sure be reading the other ones. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sam | 5/21/2011

    " I read this book a long time ago, and I simply could not get enough of it. I loved the characters, even though now they might appear to be somewhat fake, and their love for their family. I loved the subtle inclusion of a romance. I simply could not put this book down. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amy | 5/19/2011

    " I read this and then recommended it to Vic & Joseph. This was not their absolute favorite but still it was read start to finish. The book was written with intentioanl old fashioned charm, just as I remember from my own childhood. Can we really argue w a National Book Award Winner?z "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mackenzie | 5/15/2011

    " I love this book! It is the first Penderwick book out of the currently adding series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cindy | 5/14/2011

    " Read for the Hawthorne Library. Very good. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Emily | 5/14/2011

    " Each of several child characters solved a problem, learned something about life, or grew in some way. Believable and enjoyable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Keri | 5/10/2011

    " This book was well-written, interesting, and original. These are pretty much my only requirements for young adult fiction, but in addition the characters were lovable and concerned with virtue. I guess there's something to be said for reading award-winners. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sharon | 5/10/2011

    " This was a fun book. As I was reading, I felt like it was a cross between Little Women and the Secret Garden. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Jeanne Birdsall

Jeanne Birdsall promised herself when she was young that she would be a writer someday so that she could write books for children to discover and enjoy, just as she did at her local library. She is the author of The Penderwicks, which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, as well as more books in the Penderwicks series and two picture books.

About the Narrator

Susan Denaker is an actress and Earphones Award–winning narrator. Her extensive theater credits include numerous plays in the West End of London, national tours, many English rep companies, including a season with Alan Ayckbourn’s company in Scarborough. In the US, she has appeared in Our Town and Sweet Bird of Youth at the La Jolla Playhouse and Breaking Legs at the Westport Playhouse.