Extended Audio Sample

Download The Eye of the World: Book One of The Wheel of Time Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Eye of the World: Book One of The Wheel of Time (Unabridged), by Robert Jordan
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (102,220 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Robert Jordan Narrator: Kate Reading and Michael Kramer Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 84 votes

Set in the medieval period, The Eye of the World: Book One of The Wheel of Time starts in Emond's Field, a quiet farming village in the Two Rivers region. Unbeknownst to the villagers, Emond's Field will soon be under attack by a horde of barbarous creatures known as Trollocs, followers of the Dark One. Three young men leave the village, convinced by two strangers that they are the target of the violent attack.

Severed from their lives and the world they know, Rand, Matrim and Perrin begin an incredible epic quest, involving an always growing cast of characters, along with two other villagers: The village's Wisdom, a woman recognized for her knowledge of forecasting the weather and of healing, and Egwene, the mayor's daughter, who possesses her own remarkable gift.

Author Robert Jordan artfully constructs a enthralling fantasy world full of detailed history, extraordinary creatures, political strife, and two kinds of magic: the male and the female. His alternate world is populated by countless unforgettable characters, alien cultures and complex subplots, which keep the enjoyable fantasy moving briskly along towards its climactic conclusion.

First published in 1990, this is the first book in the Wheel of Time series. Originally planned to include six books, the series grew along with its readership to a fourteen book series.

Robert Jordan lived with his wife, Harriet, in Charleston, South Carolina, where he was born in 1948. He began to read at the age of four, and by five was enjoying Jules Verne and Mark Twain. After graduating with a degree in physics from The Citadel, he served two tours with the US Army in Vietnam, and was decorated for his service. In 2007, Jordan died from complications of the rare blood disease amyloidosis.

When their village is attacked by trollocs, monsters thought to be only legends, three young men, Rand, Matt, and Perrin, flee in the company of the Lady Moiraine, a sinister visitor of unsuspected powers. Thus begins an epic adventure set in a world of wonders and horror, where what was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow. Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Kathy | 2/17/2014

    " Not bad. Robert Jordan tends to go into too much details at points making sections drag on "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Gwendolyn Bishop | 2/12/2014

    " Horrific. Complete and painfully obvious rip off of Tolkien. Poorly written. Almost no character development. Makes an intelligent reader want to gouge her eyes out. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Andrea | 2/10/2014

    " i have started to read this a couple of times but put it down, now iam almost finished it and totally engrossed! its a pity it took quite a few chapters to get my interest to grow, looking forward to the next book in this series, now on the third book of this series and really enjoying it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Tom | 1/31/2014

    " This entire series is out of control. I read the first 7 or 8 in high school and can't bring myself to finish. Too much boring detail! "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations