Extended Audio Sample

Download The Colossus Rises Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Colossus Rises Audiobook, by Peter Lerangis Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 5 3.58 (12 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Peter Lerangis Narrator: Johnathan McClain Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Seven Wonders Series Release Date: February 2013 ISBN: 9780062234308
Regular Price: $22.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

One boy… 

Jack McKinley is an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he’s going to die.

One mission… 

Jack needs to find seven magic loculi that, when combined, have the power to cure him.

One problem… 

The loculi are the relics of a lost civilization and haven’t been seen in thousands of years.

Seven Wonders.

Because they’re hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

The thrills begin in The Colossus Rises, the first installment in the epic seven-book adventure series Seven Wonders, from master storyteller and bestselling 39 Clues series author Peter Lerangis. The highly anticipated series has received early praise from Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series, who says, “A high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets, The Colossus Rises is Lerangis’ most gripping work yet. Young readers will love this story. I can’t wait to see what’s next in the Seven Wonders series!”

Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_003270

Quotes & Awards

  • “Action-packed…A real page-turner…There’s a genuine sense of mystery and even a touch of grandeur to this tale. Lerangis aims squarely at the legions of Percy Jackson fans and hits his target.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “The Seven Wonders series debuts with a bang…Fans of Riordan, Rowling, and ancient myths and legends will welcome this.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kat | 1/24/2014

    " Not one of my favorites, it felt like a wannabe Percy Jackson. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jenny | 1/16/2014

    " I really enjoyed this book. I only wish there had been a bit more closure toward the end, but I can't wait for the rest of the series. If you like Rick Riordan's books, I think you would enjoy this one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Fable | 1/11/2014

    " Far and away better than a couple of the adult books I've read recently, but not nearly as engaging a read as The Book Thief or The Lightening Theif. Sometimes it seemed a bit forced, and the characters were a little 2D, but the story line and events were enough to keep the pages turning. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kmcgann | 1/7/2014

    " My school had the author Peter Lerangis come to visit the day this was released! I was so excited to get a signed copy! Interesting series! Book #2 out in fall. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Thomas | 1/5/2014

    " Kind of annoying at the beginning but it got better "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Brenda | 12/21/2013

    " Jack McKinley is the kind of kid who can take a coffeemaker and papier-mache volcano, and rig it to catapult a plastic dinosaur as an alarm clock to wake him up in the morning. He's also the kind of kid who doesn't believe that he has any hidden talents either though. The Colossus Rises begins with that dinosaur smacking Jack right between the eyes. Peter Lerangis provides some back story on how Jack has au pair's (or a "don't-care-giver") watching over him as his father travels the world. Jump ahead to Jack sticking up for a kid when he gets this feeling like "something had crawled into my head and was kickboxing with my brain." He falls down and the last thing he remembers is a car speeding toward him. When he awakens, Jack is in the hospital with a mysterious doctor examining him and ends up being injected in the arm. I must admit that all sounds horribly sinister. That isn't the worst either, Jack finds that he has been kidnapped, gets holes drilled in his head and is now stuck in some weird Institute. Better yet, Jack has a rare genetic condition that is connected to the lost ancient civilization of Atlantis. Everyone who has this condition is marked by a lambda on the back of their head and usually die before the age of fourteen. Jack isn't the only one either, he's a part of the team of Select which includes Cass (amazing photo recall and can speak backwards), Aly (hacker and movie genius expert), and Marco (strong athletic type). Being connected to Atlantis has some major disadvantages. For instance, the power that controls it was destroyed and hidden all over the world. Hence the title, Seven Wonders. It will be these four children's quest to find these items and bring them back to Atlantis. The Colossus Rises is part science fiction with mythology. Some of the heavier science fiction parts delve into medicine and possessing of a "G7W marker or a piece of genetic code." I found this to be an interesting concept but was lost with some of the more detailed descriptions of "ceresacrum's feeding off of powers from Atlantis." I found the mythology interesting especially when Lerangis was discussing the Atlantean rulers and how the Loculus were first made and why they were separated. Also the parts when they discover ancient paintings on the walls. This is some of the parts that I think would have been wonderful as a Pre-Novella. Although, I realize that Lerangis probably wrote The Select after he had already completed The Colossus Rises, not like you can rip that part out now. I just think it would have made an interesting short story, maybe it comes back later in the series though too. I found that The Colossus Rises could have been a wonderful introductory look into the ancient Seven Wonders of the world. With the first focusing around The Colossus of Rhodes, I think I expected to learn more about this ancient wonder. Even when the children enter a Library in the city of Rhodes to do some research there are only bits and pieces of information given about The Colossus via conversations with the librarian. It seems a missed opportunity to give a little history, but maybe that is just the parent in me talking. If anything maybe if the historical information didn't fit into the storyline it could have been put into an authors note or somewhere in the back of the book? Again it's probably just the parent in me talking. Overall, I felt The Colussus Rises was a wonderful first adventure, science fiction mythology there is plenty of room left for the story to progress further, what with six more Ancient Wonders to visit as well as determining who else is out to locate the Locolus. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pbean | 12/17/2013

    " Jack, Ali, Cass and Marco were ordinary kids until they were told by Professor Bhegad that they all have a genetic trait that will kill them if left untreated. The cure they need depends on their finding the 7 Loculi that were stolen causing a long-lost civilization to sink. An action packed adventure that you will not want to put down. I loved it! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christen | 12/8/2013

    " A vigorous adventure not for the faint of heart. Has a Percy Jackson feel but a grittier and less historic basis. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Jill | 12/2/2013

    " It was so boring. Took half of the book to get out of a cave. The other half of the book the 3 select was in a stupid fight. Serious it was one of the worse book I have ever read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jeanette | 11/2/2013

    " It's Percy Jackson-esque, but with Atlantis instead of Olympus. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carlos Sanchez | 10/19/2013

    " it was good, nothing special "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jakenv | 10/12/2013

    " Mark this as one of authors best. This series is bound to be a winner. Unable to put down until finished. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Peter Lerangis

Peter Lerangis is the author of more than 160 books, which have sold more than five million copies and been translated into thirty different languages. These include The Colossus Rises, book one in the New York Times bestselling series Seven Wonders, and two books in the 39 Clues series. Peter is a Harvard graduate with a degree in biochemistry and has run a marathon and gone rock climbing during an earthquake—though not on the same day. He lives in New York City with his wife, musician Tina deVaron, and their two sons.

About the Narrator

Johnathan McClain is an American actor, voice-over talent, and Earphones Award–winning narrator. He pursued stage acting in New York for a number of years and has appeared in many television series, including Law & Order: SVU, Medium, Scoundrels, and CSI: Miami. He also has several narration credits, including Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series and Jeremy Logan novels by Lincoln Child.