The Book of Life: A Novel Audiobook, by Deborah Harkness Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Book of Life: A Novel Audiobook

The Book of Life: A Novel Audiobook, by Deborah Harkness Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $24.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $32.50 Add to Cart
Author: Deborah Harkness Narrator: Jennifer Ikeda Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Length: Series:The All Souls Trilogy Release Date: July 2014 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780698153615

Publisher Description

The #1 New York Times bestselling series finale and sequel to A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night

Bringing the magic and suspenseof the All Souls Trilogy to a deeply satisfying conclusion, this highly anticipated finale went straight to #1 on the New York Times bestseller list. In The Book of Life, 

Diana and Matthew time-travel back from Elizabethan London to make a dramatic return to the present—facing new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home, Sept-Tours, they reunite with the beloved cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches—with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Download and start listening now!


  • “Pure escapist summer fun.”

    - Parade
  • “Juicy and action packed…Even at 561 pages, this is one hardcover no one will mind lugging to the beach.”

    - People
  • “Weaving an extraordinarily rich story of magic and science, history and fiction, passion and power, secrets and truths, Harkness delivers an unforgettable and spellbinding finale that's not to be missed.”

    - USA Today
  • “There is no shortage of action…and nearly every chapter brings a wrinkle to the tale. The storytelling is lively and energetic, and Diana remains an appealing heroine even as her life becomes ever more extraordinary. A delightful wrap-up to the trilogy.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “The epic and erudite vampire-witch romance comes to a thoroughly satisfying conclusion in the action-packed All Souls trilogy ender.”

    - Entertainment Weekly
  • “Set in Matthew's Sept-Tours château, The Book of Life leads readers down darkened corridors where mysteries will be solved and new threats revealed. A trilogy finale that fulfills the promise of the series.”

    - Barnes&, editorial review
  • “Harkness has immersed and spellbound readers with her alternative universe…Her ambitious melding of scientific and historical detail is inventive and brings surprising depth…The Book of Life brims with sensuality, intrigue, violence, and much-welcome humor.”

    - Los Angeles Times
  • The charm in Deborah Harkness’s wildly successful All Souls trilogy lies not merely in the spells that its creature characters cast as they lurk pretty much in plain sight of humans but in the adroit way Harkness has insinuated her world of demons, witches, and vampires into ours…From the novel’s poignant opening, Harkness casts her own indelible spell of enchantment, heartbreak, and resilience…She is terrific at bringing her magic world to life, maintaining a fast-paced, page-turning narrative.”

    - Boston Globe
  • “This trilogy is a superlative example in a subgenre you could call realistic fantasy—think Harry Potter but for grown-ups or Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. Witches, vampires, and daemons exist, along with time travel. But this world also is recognizably ours, not a wholly made-up setting like George R. R. Martin’s Westeros. When done well, as it is here, this sort of fiction provides characters who are recognizably human in their desires and actions even if most of them are creatures with supernatural powers. Through them Harkness succeeds at the hardest part of writing fantasy: She makes this world so real that you believe it exists—or at the very least that you wish that it did.”

    - Miami Herald
  • “A stirring, poignant saga.”

    - Us Weekly
  • “The eagerly awaited third title in Harkness’ trilogy picks up right after historian/witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return from the past, and the adventure never lets up until the final page…History, science, and the unpredictable actions of paranormal characters with hidden agendas all swirl together to create a not-to-be-missed finale to a stellar paranormal series.”

    - Library Journal
  • “Dedicated scholar, reluctant witch, and seasoned time traveler Diana Bishop returns to wrap up the wildly popular All Souls trilogy…Harkness…proves to be quite the alchemist as she combines elements of magic, history, romance, and science, transforming them into a compelling journey through time, space, and geography.”

    - Booklist
  • “As in the previous two installments, there are healthy doses of action, colorful magic, angst-y romance, and emotional epiphany, plus mansion-hopping across the globe, historical tidbits, and name-dropping of famous artworks and manuscripts. There are few surprises, but it's still satisfying to travel with these characters toward their more-than-well-earned happy ending.”

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • “In the final installment of this trilogy, narrator Jennifer Ikeda reveals the fate of Matthew and Diana, a vampire-and-witch power couple…Ikeda’s liquid voice is perfect for Harkness’s wondrous tale, which spans continents and centuries. Her emphasis and phrasing act as guides to the meaning in Harkness’s complex, interconnected segments. Her narration encompasses dialects and foreign languages with fluent expertise—even though the repeated mispronunciation of “New Haven” is distracting. Ikeda’s insightful portrayals of these beloved characters make for a stellar narration.”

    - AudioFile


  • One of Barnes & Noble's Biggest Books of July 2014
  • A 2014 Library Journal Editor’s Pick
  • A BookPage Top Pick, July 2014
  • A #1 New York Times bestseller
  • A #1 USA Today bestseller
  • A Wall Street Journal bestseller
  • A #1 Chicago Tribune bestseller
  • An iTunes Top Seller
  • An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year for 2014
  • One of Audible’s Best Audiobooks of 2014: Fantasy

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Read the first two and listened to the 3rd book of the series. Left me waiting for the next book.. "

    - Pam4, 3/4/2018

About the Author

Deborah Harkness is a #1 New York Times bestselling author of Shadow of Night and The Book of Life, among other titles. A history professor at the University of Southern California, she has received Fulbright, Guggenheim, and National Humanities Center fellowships.

About the Narrator

Jennifer Ikeda has been narrating audiobooks since 2002. Among her readings are When My Name Was Keoko by Linda Sue Park; Just Listen by Sarah Dessen; and After the Wreck, I Picked Myself Up, Spread My Wings, and Flew Away by Joyce Carol Oates. She has won six AudioFile Earphones Awards.