Extended Audio Sample

Download The Art of Racing in the Rain Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Art of Racing in the Rain, by Garth Stein Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (153,973 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Garth Stein Narrator: Christopher Evan Welc Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $18.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul—and an obsession with opposable thumbs—he has educated himself by watching television extensively and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver.

Through Denny, Enzo has gained tremendous insight into the human condition, and he sees that life, like racing, isn’t simply about going fast. Using the techniques needed on the race track, one can successfully navigate all of life’s ordeals.

On the eve of his death, Enzo takes stock of his life, recalling all that he and his family have been through: the sacrifices Denny has made to succeed professionally; the unexpected loss of Eve, Denny’s wife; the three-year battle over their daughter, Zoë, whose maternal grandparents pulled every string to gain custody. In the end, despite what he sees as his own limitations, Enzo comes through heroically to preserve the Swift family, holding in his heart the dream that Denny will become a racing champion with Zoë at his side. Having learned what it takes to be a compassionate and successful person, the wise canine can barely wait until his next lifetime, when he is sure he will return as a man.

A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope, The Art of Racing in the Rain is a beautifully crafted and captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life—as only a dog could tell it.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and—best of all—the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.”

    Wally Lamb, #1 New York Times bestselling author

  • “This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.”

    Sara Gruen, New York Times bestselling author of Water for Elephants 

  • “Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.”

    Entertainment Weekly 

  • “If you’ve ever wondered what your dog is thinking, Stein's third novel offers an answer.”  

    Publishers Weekly

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Indie Next List
  • AudioFile Earphones Award
  • An Audie Award Finalist
  • Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Award
  • A #1 Book Sense Pick
  • A San Francisco Chronicle Bestseller
  • A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller
  • A Publishers Weekly Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kimberly | 2/16/2014

    " MUST READ. Especially if you are a Dog person, this is the most amazing book I have ever read. I could read it a thousand more times. Completely changed the way I look at life, and dogs. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kelley | 2/15/2014

    " Through a dog's eyes. Loved it! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Samantha | 2/4/2014

    " Pleasantly surprised by this book. A quick read, but poignant. And who can resist a canine narrator? "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Carmen | 1/31/2014

    " It started off great, but I lost interest about 1/2 way through. I finished it, but wouldn't read it again. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations