Extended Audio Sample

Download Strip: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Strip: A Novel Audiobook, by Thomas Perry Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (624 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Thomas Perry Narrator: Michael Kramer Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2010 ISBN: 9781400182572
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

An aging but formidable strip club owner, Claudiu "Manco" Kapak, has been robbed by a masked gunman as he placed his cash receipts in a bank's night-deposit box. Enraged, he sends his half-dozen security men out to find a suspect who is spending lots of cash and is new enough to Los Angeles not to know he was robbing a gangster. Their search leads them to Joe Carver, an innocent but hardly defenseless newcomer who evades capture and sets out to make Kapak wish he'd chosen someone else. Meanwhile, the real culprit, Jefferson Davis Falkins, and his new girlfriend, Carrie, seem to believe they've found a whole new profession: robbing Manco Kapak. Lieutenant Nick Slosser, the police detective in charge of the puzzling and increasingly violent case, has his own troubles, including worries about how he's going to afford to send the oldest child of each of his two bigamous marriages to college without making their mothers suspicious. As this odd series of difficulties explodes into a triple killing, Carver finds himself in the middle of a brewing gang war over Kapak's little empire, while Falkins and Carrie journey into territory more strange and violent than either had imagined. Download and start listening now!

be8n

Quotes & Awards

  • “Perry’s exquisite timing and finesse provide near perfect endings to the multiple story lines and make this escapist reading at its best.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • Michael Kramer clearly appreciates and plays along with the author's sense of humor, and he understands the characters' gray-area approach to morality. Publishers Weekly Audio Review
  • “Perry’s talent in weaving together seemingly loose strands makes the book an unqualified success…intriguing, action-oriented characters…The action is packed, and the denouement is a small masterpiece.”

    Bookmarks Magazine

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Coki | 2/19/2014

    " Very interesting ending -- not what I expected. Definitely readalike for Elmore Leonard, little bit Hiaasen but not as funny, noir-ish "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Serge | 2/10/2014

    " In "Strip", Thomas Perry tries to take the crime novel into a different direction, but for me, it left me mainly puzzled. I found that the characters were not that interesting or believable, nor were the situations particularly intriguing. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Victoria | 2/10/2014

    " Joe Carver is never explained very well. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rosa | 2/2/2014

    " Not boring, and particularly interesting for fans of twisty crime thrillers in the "Get Shorty" Elmore Leonard vein. But why is every woman in this universe either a mirthless unyielding judge, a scheming gold digger, a hapless victim, or just completely insane? "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Eli | 1/27/2014

    " Was entertaining, but pretty derivative "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tif Mulally | 1/24/2014

    " I thought this was a good read but it wasn't a great read. It kept me interested but it will not leave any lasting impression in my mind. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Norm | 1/19/2014

    " Mediocre summer read. Good start. The end was too tidy. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jenn | 1/12/2014

    " This was a decent little book, but it was a bit too masculine for me. It was very macho. I probably wouldn't read any more of these, but this one was decent. This is another one I heard recommended somewhere, but I don't remember where. The library actually had it, so I gave it a shot. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Will | 1/1/2014

    " a bit of a change for Perry - a much larger cast of characters, more sympathetic portrails of all the characters and a very noirish ending... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Greg Mills | 2/26/2013

    " Fast paced, well narrated. An action novel with good character development and some surprisingly fresh observations on the nature of men, women and the criminal mind. Excellent as an audiobook. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kat Warren | 12/30/2012

    " I'm hanging onto this one for a bit so Jim can read it during our summer respite. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ellen Mandly | 12/3/2012

    " I enjoyed this! A lot of characters to keep track of at first, and some minor plausability issues (leaving the detectives bigomy storyline hanging for so long) but overall a fun robbery story with some interesting characters. I liked the ending too! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Julie | 1/17/2012

    " Can't remember when I enjoyed listening to a mystery-crime story this much. The story itself was pretty tight, had some great characters. The reader brought it home, made me laugh and created another dimension to the story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andrea | 11/1/2011

    " I kept waiting for this all to go somewhere, and I'm not sure it ever did. But I kind of enjoyed going along for the ride. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephanie | 8/24/2011

    " Thomas Perry's Jane Whitefield novels are addictive; his other thrillers, not so much. This one I flogged myself through because it was due at the library. It's kind of cute, but the characters and situations aren't compelling enough to keep you up all night, and why else would you read it? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Barbara Amago | 6/4/2011

    " The LA club scene provides some scope for Perry's ability to create fascinating characters, wind them up, and let them run wild. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Beau | 3/29/2011

    " Thomas Perry has just hit my "Always Read" list. STRIP is a hook from the first chapter. Full of fun original crime stuff that you will truly enjoy.

    Beau Smith
    The Flying Fist Ranch "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vincarter | 3/22/2011

    " Superb gritty but at times humorous underworld tale set in contemporary LA. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jeremy | 2/6/2011

    " Warmed over Elmore Leonard is not as good as Elmore Leonard. The endings were a bit too out of nowhere, and the author loves his characters too much. Still: shooting, robbing, sex. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Alison | 1/3/2011

    " An edgy romp through unknown territory, led by a collection of ambitious, though misunderstood characters. A light read, despite some of the content. Impressive character and plot development, and twists. I'm off to find more by Thomas Perry, and I hope they are just as quirky. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Katigie | 12/9/2010

    " Not one of his better novels--perhaps too diffused a character focus. Still, he can't write a bad book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Pat | 11/9/2010

    " This was the first Thomas Perry book that I read. I loved it ... well written, funny, just the kind of capter/crime book that I enjoy. So glad to have discovered this author and glad he has lots of books. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Dgrady23604 | 11/8/2010

    " Not overly impressed with story or characters in this commercial feeling drama. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jonathan | 10/16/2010

    " This book is a real page-turner populated by an array of interesting characters.
    "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rick | 10/16/2010

    " A dissapointment from a usually reliable thriller writer- very hard to get to know any of the characters except for Kapak- disjointed and not up to Perry's usual page turner standards "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Thomas Perry

Thomas Perry received a BA from Cornell University and a PhD in English from the University of Rochester. He won an Edgar for The Butcher’s Boy, and Metzger’s Dog was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. He lives in Southern California.

About the Narrator

Michael Kramer has narrated many audiobooks over the last twenty years; his favorite authors include Donald E. Westlake, Thomas Perry, and Robert Jordan. He has received fifteen AudioFile Earphones Awards for his work. He lives in the DC area, where he also works in theater as an actor and director.