Extended Audio Sample

Download Strip: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Strip: A Novel, by Thomas Perry Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (624 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Thomas Perry Narrator: Michael Krame Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

An aging but formidable strip club owner, Claudiu “Manco” Kapak has been robbed by a masked gunman as he placed his cash receipts in a bank’s night-deposit box. Enraged, he sends his half-dozen security men out to find a suspect who is spending lots of cash and is new enough to Los Angeles not to know he was robbing a gangster.

Their search leads them to Joe Carver, an innocent but hardly defenseless newcomer who evades capture and sets out to make Kapak wish he’d chosen someone else. Meanwhile, the real culprit, Jefferson Davis Falkins, and his new girlfriend, Carrie, seem to believe they’ve found a whole new profession: robbing Manco Kapak.

Lieutenant Nick Slosser, the police detective in charge of the puzzling and increasingly violent case, has his own troubles, including worries about how he’s going to afford to send the oldest child of each of his two bigamous marriages to college without making their mothers suspicious.

As this odd series of difficulties explodes into a triple killing, Carver finds himself in the middle of a brewing gang war over Kapak’s little empire, while Falkins and Carrie journey into territory more strange and violent than either had imagined.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Perry’s exquisite timing and finesse provide near perfect endings to the multiple story lines and make this escapist reading at its best.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Perry’s talent in weaving together seemingly loose strands makes the book an unqualified success…intriguing, action-oriented characters…The action is packed, and the denouement is a small masterpiece.”

    Bookmarks Magazine

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Coki | 2/19/2014

    " Very interesting ending -- not what I expected. Definitely readalike for Elmore Leonard, little bit Hiaasen but not as funny, noir-ish "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Serge | 2/10/2014

    " In "Strip", Thomas Perry tries to take the crime novel into a different direction, but for me, it left me mainly puzzled. I found that the characters were not that interesting or believable, nor were the situations particularly intriguing. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Victoria | 2/10/2014

    " Joe Carver is never explained very well. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Rosa | 2/2/2014

    " Not boring, and particularly interesting for fans of twisty crime thrillers in the "Get Shorty" Elmore Leonard vein. But why is every woman in this universe either a mirthless unyielding judge, a scheming gold digger, a hapless victim, or just completely insane? "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations