Extended Audio Sample

Download Sky of Stone: A Memoir Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Sky of Stone: A Memoir, by Homer Hickam Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (378 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Homer Hickam Narrator: Dick Hill Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the summer of ’61, Homer “Sonny” Hickam is dreaming of sandy beaches and rocket ships. But before Sonny can reach the seaside house where his mother is spending the summer, a telephone call sends him back to the place he thought he had escaped: the gritty coal-mining town of Coalwood, West Virginia.

There, Sonny’s father, the mine’s superintendent, has been accused of negligence in a man’s death. Sonny’s mother, Elsie, has commanded her son to spend the summer in Coalwood to support his father. But within hours of his arrival, Sonny realizes two things: his father, always cold and distant with his second son, doesn’t want him there…and his parents’ marriage has begun to unravel.

For Sonny, so begins a summer of discovery—a time when he will learn about love, loss, and a closely guarded secret that threatens to destroy his father and his town. As the days of summer grow shorter, Sonny finds himself changing in surprising ways, taking the first real steps toward adulthood. But it’s a journey he can make only by unraveling the story of a man’s death and a father’s secret—the mysteries that lie at the heart of Coalwood.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Patty | 2/15/2014

    " Homer Hickam continues to astound me with the touching and funny and marvelous writing he does about his life as a coal town "boy". This episode, the last in his trilogy about Coalwood, WV, is set the summer of 1962. This is the summer after his first year of college and it is an amazing tale involving secrets, lies, growing and learning. Sonny (Homer's boyhood nickname) does most of the growing and spends a lot of time trying to uncover the secrets and the lies. Anyone who wants to see the good in life, even in hard times, should read this trilogy - it is a wonderful journey from someone who went from a coal mine in West Virginia to an engineer for NASA who has traveled the world. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Rj Roles | 2/12/2014

    " an awesome end to the coalwood series "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Cheryl S. | 2/11/2014

    " This is the third book in Homer (Sonny) Hickam's Coalwood trilogy and I would be hard pressed to say which is my favorite of the three. The author is so adept at bringing back a bygone era and depicting the confusion of a young man trying to figure out his place in the world and at the same time having a sense of humor about himself. If I am ever asked if I could invite any three people in the world living or dead to dinner one choice would definately be Elsie Hickam, Sonny's mother. Now there was a lady! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Scott Archer | 2/8/2014

    " I just don't care much for Homer. It made it tough for me to root for him and stay interested in the book. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations