Extended Audio Sample

Download Seconds Away: A Mickey Bolitar Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Seconds Away: A Mickey Bolitar Novel, by Harlan Coben Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,746 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Harlan Coben Narrator: Nick Podehl Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Mickey Bolitar Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Seconds Away is the second book in the Mickey Bolitar young adult series by Harlan Coben. Mickey is the nephew of Myron Bolitar, who is the protagonist of Coben's adult mystery series. In Seconds Away, Mickey lives with his uncle even though their relationship is strained. Mickey's sidekicks are his friends, Ema and Spoon, who help him to solve the mysteries he frequently runs into.

In Seconds Away, there are two plotlines going on simultaneously. One of them is resolved by the end of the book but the other is an overarching plotline that begins in the first novel of the series and continues with this book. This plotline has to do with Mickey's father who died in book one, apparently at the hands of a 90-year-old Nazi who doesn't seem to have aged. In Seconds Away, Mickey confronts the Bat Lady who corroborates his claim about the Nazi's involvement and then relays some truly stunning information that completely changes things for Mickey.

The main plot of the book centers around Rachel, a girl at Mickey's school with whom he has felt some sparks but who already has a boyfriend. There is some jealousy between Mickey and the boyfriend and some rivalry on the basketball court as well. But these issues become secondary when Rachel and her mother are attacked in their home. The mother is shot and dies while Rachel is wounded in the head. Concerned for Mickey's wellbeing, Rachel warns him not to get involved in finding out what happened but Mickey is determined to uncover the truth. A couple of other adults also warn Mickey to stay away and since Rachel's boyfriend's father is the chief of police, he doesn't look very kindly on Mickey's involvement. Eventually, another of Mickey's friends also lands in hospital which only makes Mickey more determined to find out the truth. There are many riveting twists and turns in the plot before the mystery is finally uncovered.

Coben grew up in Livingston, NJ and went to Amherst College, where he realized in his senior year that he wanted to be a writer. While at Amherst, he was a member of the Psi Upsilon fraternity, along with Dan Brown. He published a couple of stand-alone novels at first and then started working on a series featuring Myron Bolitar, following this with more stand-alone novels including Long Lost which debuted at the top of the NYT bestseller list. His latest work includes the two Mickey Bolitar young adult novels. He has won an Edgar award, a Shamus award, and an Anthony award. He lives in Ridgewood, NJ with his wife, Ann Armstrong-Coben, a pediatrician and four children.

Download Seconds Away from The Audio Bookstore and get engaged in the lives of these three likable teen characters and the ingenious way they solve mysteries.

When tragedy strikes close to home, Mickey Bolitar and his loyal new friends—sharp-witted Ema and the adorkably charming Spoon—find themselves at the center of a murder mystery involving their friend Rachel. Now, not only does Mickey have to continue his quest to uncover the truth about the Abeona Shelter and the Butcher of Lodz, he needs to figure out what happened to Rachel—no matter what it takes.

Mickey has always been ready to sacrifice everything to help the people he loves. But how can he protect them when he’s not even sure who—or what—he’s protecting them from?

Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_004163

Quotes & Awards

  • “The character development is solid…and readers will enjoy Mickey’s internal dialogue as well as his relationships with Ema and Spoon…Recommend this for readers who enjoy Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series or Charlie Higson’s Young James Bond novels.”

    VOYA

  • “Mickey’s fast-paced, first person narration won’t disappoint his growing fan base. The satisfying conclusion leaves enough open-ended questions to continue this gripping series.”

    Booklist

  • “Coben deftly weaves these multiple plot threads into a compelling whole…An involving thriller that moves like lightning.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • Finalist for the 2012 Agatha Award for Children's/Young Adult Novel
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Nancy Ellis | 2/15/2014

    " I don't usually read YA books, but since I love Harlan Coben, I read the first book in this series. It was very enjoyable, so I read the second. It was good but not as good as the first. That's okay.....it was still good enough that I'll read the next one when it comes out! Besides, he's such a fantastic writer, I don't think he could write anything NOT good! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Andreas Strom | 1/31/2014

    " A good follow-up to Shelter finds Mickey and friends just a few days after the events in the first book. The Batlady and Shaved Head are back, and there's more mysteries surrounding the Abeona shelter. The book flows along at a fast pace, and there's plenty of laughs along the way. We don't get all the answers here though, so expect a third one in the not too distant future. I still prefer Myron to Mickey, but these are pretty good too. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Mandy Fogleman | 1/31/2014

    " Awesome book! Can't wait until #3 comes out! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Rohan | 1/18/2014

    " After this I may have to give Mr Coben a rest for a while.. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations