Extended Audio Sample

Download Marty McGuire Digs Worms! Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Marty McGuire Digs Worms! Audiobook, by Kate Messner Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (145 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kate Messner Narrator: Cassandra Morris Publisher: Scholastic Inc Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Marty McGuire Series Release Date: July 2012 ISBN: 9780545477628
Regular Price: $13.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A funny, accessible chapter-book series about an irrepressible third grader.

NARRATOR: Cassandra Morris
FORMAT: 2 CDs, Unabridged

Marty McGuire's third-grade class has a special assignment: Save the Earth! Even more exciting, the best project wins a special award. Marty's pretty sure her classmates' ideas won't stand a chance against her plan to turn the garbage from the school cafeteria into fertilizer. All she needs is a little help from her teammate and best friend, Annie--and the earthworms in her grandma's garden.

But it turns out that worms are awfully SLOW eaters. And when the critters escape, the whole class starts grumbling--including Annie. Can Marty save the Earth without losing her best friend?
Download and start listening now!

BK_SCHC_000367

Quotes & Awards

  • “Packed with eco-friendly ideas, this realistic, plot-driven early chapter book is a welcome addition to Earth Day or environmental units.” 

    School Library Journal

  • “Marty’s first-person commentary, sometimes just a tiny bit sarcastic, splendidly conveys the eroding innocence of middle-graders. A quick, amusing read with an easily digestible environmental message; it is a perfect match for its young intended audience.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tpretz | 2/1/2014

    " After reading the second book in this series I can't wait for a third. This will make a great read aloud for the younger grades and once again is a well written chapter book for third grade. I even learned something about raising worms. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Donalyn | 1/24/2014

    " My students and I loved this book as much as we loved the first Marty book. Great characters and interesting science facts, too. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dana | 1/19/2014

    " The character of Marty is really loveable. I enjoyed the sequel and would recommend it as a read aloud in grade 2 and for independent reading in grades two and three and possibly even four. Kate Messner does it again! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jeremy Ruble | 1/17/2014

    " This book is a good intermediate step up from the Junie B. Jones books. It has the advantage of having proper grammar - which as a teacher I consider a plus! The story is simple; explores a little science; displays writing skills in Marty's journal entries. It contains a lot of things a teacher could launch lessons from. It feels "third grade", but I'd definitely suggest it to girls at the beginning of fourth grade! Solid, easy to read chapter book with plenty of pictures to support comprehension! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chris | 1/4/2014

    " Marty will get you thinking about creating a compost bin to help the Earth! Love all the messes Marty gets herself in, and how her lovely grandma helps her out. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 katsok | 1/1/2014

    " Aw, man, I adore Marty! I read the first book last spring and knew Kate was on to something. What a fun book that is accessible for some of my lower readers - and yet one they would still want to read! I was delighted when I heard there was a second volume being created. (And I hope this is the second of many Mary installments.) In this book Marty and her classmates are competing to see who can create the best Earth Day project. I love the lessons embedded in this book - conservation, patience, and a little lesson on Jane Goodall as well. I cannot wait to take this book to my students tomorrow and see who wants to start the reading chain. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sherry | 12/27/2013

    " Enjoyable upper elementary book. I don't read for this age group enough, but I always enjoy it when I do. Now to get the first book, Marty mcGuire! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nitza Campos | 12/21/2013

    " Loved it just as much as the first! I love Marty! Great new series! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Liz | 12/12/2013

    " Love book #2 just as much! (okay maybe they both should be 4.5!). Marty McGuire is the perfect protagonist. Perfect third grade series. Good tie in for Earth Day! Looking forward to more in this series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Susan | 12/10/2013

    " Seriously, I love anything Kate Messner writes! She has a unique talent for creating characters whose voices ring true. I especially love the strong female characters in her books and Marty is certainly no exception! Loved every single page of this one...and my fingers are crossed for a Book 3! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stacy | 12/2/2013

    " You know the parents who don't want their kids reading Junie B. because she's got too much 'tude and sass? Give them Marty McGuire. Cute, innocent, and inoffensive - but therefore lacks the personality of Junie B. or Ivy & Bean or Clementine. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pauline | 11/14/2013

    " Robby and I loved reading this one together! We laughed at the antics of the heroine, Marty and talked about all the science concepts that were presented. As a six year old boy, he also appreciated the fact that she talks about worm poop...that NEVER failed to get a giggle from him! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Barb Keister | 11/10/2013

    " "To the worms!" This series is sure to be loved by readers who enjoyed Clementine and Junie B. Kate Messner captures the essence of Marty through authentic and amusing dialogue. A fun read! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brenda | 10/19/2013

    " A realistic early chapter book filled with eco-frienly ideas. Excellent for reading aloud as part of an Earth Day or an environmental unit. Second in the Marty McGuire series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 John | 8/12/2013

    " Let's cross our fingers that there will be a book three. :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jen | 4/26/2013

    " I love Marty McGuire! She is a tomboy who loves frogs and in this book, she delves into keeping a worm bin at her school for a Science project. I really liked the first Marty book, but I LOVED this one! Can't wait to share it with my students this Fall! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Maria | 3/4/2013

    " Love this book! Marty and her best friend Annie are wonderful. Add in a mom who rescues animals and an amazing grandmother who helps Marty learn about composting with worms and you have a strong women in lit trifecta. Highly recommend this early chapter book for girls and boys. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Deb | 2/15/2013

    " Very instructive, but still realistically from kid's point of view. I love the focused time frame for the action and that Marty is doing Science! My daughter grabbed it and read it first (in one sitting). I really like Floca's illustrations too. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Leslie | 1/18/2013

    " We need more high-quality early chapter books like Messner's! A great curricular connection to Earth Day and the natural world. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Franki Sibberson | 1/3/2013

    " So love this character and these books. I hope there are lots more about Marty coming soon! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dayna | 12/31/2012

    " This is a really nicely written story for middle grade readers. We read this aloud while waiting for the bus in the morning. The characters were believable and fun. This is part of a series and we look forward to looking into the first book next. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Anne | 9/25/2012

    " Inspired me to give composting another try. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sandy | 8/30/2012

    " Marty McGuire is a strong, spunky character who I'm happy to recommend alongside Clementine and the like. Solid. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cindy | 7/23/2012

    " I love Marty!!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Danica Midlil | 5/29/2012

    " I'm glad this sequel still focused on Marty's love of slimy, scaley nature. The beginning had me worried that this was just going to be another "GO GREEN!" book. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Kate Messner
Kate Messner is the author of THE BRILLIANT FALL OF GIANNA Z., winner of the E. B. White Read Aloud Award for Older Readers; SUGAR AND ICE; EYE OF THE STORM; CAPTURE THE FLAG; SEA MONSTER'S FIRST DAY; OVER AND UNDER THE SNOW; and the Marty McGuire chapter book series. A former middle-school English teacher, Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family and loves reading, walking in the woods, and traveling. Visit her online at www.katemessner.com.
About the Narrator

Cassandra Morris has received critical acclaim for her voice-over work from Publishers Weekly and AudioFile magazine. To date, she has narrated over one hundred audiobooks, earned seven Earphones Awards, and twice been a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. Her voice has also been heard on television in commercial campaigns for Samsung, Silk Soy Milk, and numerous Nickelodeon and Disney products. She is the voice of many cartoon characters, including Leo and Luna in Yu-Gi-Oh, Carrie in Barbie: A Fairy Secret, Nathan in Pokémon, and Lola in Angelo Rules.