Extended Audio Sample

Download Marty McGuire Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Marty McGuire Audiobook, by Kate Messner Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (591 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kate Messner Narrator: Cassandra Morris Publisher: Scholastic Inc Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Marty McGuire Series Release Date: July 2012 ISBN: 9780545383721
Regular Price: $13.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A fun, accessible chapter-book debut from an exciting new talent--simultaneous hardcover-paperback and audio launch!

FORMAT: 2 CDs, Unabridged
NARRATOR: TBA

Marty McGuire would rather spend recess catching frogs in the pond than playing dress-up with the other girls in third grade. So when her teacher casts Marty as the princess in the class play, Marty's absolutely, positively sure that there's been a huge mistake. But after a special lesson in the art of improvisation, Marty comes up with her OWN plan to IMPROVE the play: Why use stuffed-animal frog onstage when a live one would be so much better? In the end, Marty's one-of-a-kind performance makes for an unforgettable show. Maybe a tomboy princess CAN live happily ever after, after all!
Download and start listening now!

BK_SCHC_000220

Quotes & Awards

  • “Morris is terrific at portraying the characters—snooty girls, chummy boys, and patient adults—and her depiction of Marty’s transformation is especially elegant. Morris has the nuances and personalities of kids down pat as she shares subtle lessons about friendship and self-discovery with humor and grace.” 

    AudioFile

  • “Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona.” 

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Stacey | 2/13/2014

    " This book is probably just right for a third grader. I love Marty--what a delightful heroine in the vein of Ramona or Clementine. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Clare Cannon | 2/10/2014

    " The easy to read adventures of a girl who prefers frogs to frilly dresses, but who learns to get along with her girly friends too. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jenn O'Brien | 2/8/2014

    " I love the spunkiness of Marty - she reminds me a little of Beverly Cleary's Ramona. I love that this book showcases girls who enjoy sneakers and frogs but can still find room to wear a tiara in there. The dialogue between the teachers and students is so realistic and I love that Marty's parents let her show her creativity, but still give her guidelines. I'm so excited for the next book in this series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Leslie | 2/3/2014

    " I'm excited to add this series to the library. Marty is a well-rounded, interesting character that is sure to connect with young readers. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cindy | 1/30/2014

    " What a strong character we have in Marty. Both my friend and I read this book while at camp with our 6th graders. She stated how great it was how in the end the characters overlooked their differences and interests and were able to compromise and find a way to play together. Can't wait for the next adventures with Marty. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Shanshad Whelan | 1/29/2014

    " I don't really read a lot of young reader items with the hope that I will enjoy them as readily as I do a middle grade or young adult book. A lot of young reader stuff just comes across as too potato-chip packaged storylines with no real compelling storyline or characters. Marty McGuire, was a pleasant surprise. Funny, with a delightfully tom-boyish heroine who finds a way to navigate third grade friendships and survive playing a princess in her school play, this one will definitely be on my rec list for up and coming readers! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jessica Hudson | 1/24/2014

    " Marty is a confident, fun, tomboy who dislikes girly things. She is surprisingly chosen to play the lead female role in the class play. After much preparation on the casts part, Marty makes the secret decision to tweak the play just a little to make it more interesting. This was a fun, quick read! I highly recommend it to young readers and young-at-heart readers alike. It will leave you with a smile and a greater appreciation for childish pranks. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jasmine | 1/11/2014

    " This is a great book! She is a lot like me. She likes nature and having adventures outside. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Angie | 12/17/2013

    " Loved, loved, loved. And I am totally allowed to say that! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 B | 11/9/2013

    " Fun read about a tomboy who is cast as a princess in the school play. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Wendy | 10/31/2013

    " Marty is a spunky character with ideas and opinions all her own. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kay | 10/5/2013

    " Fun story with 3rd grader Marty McGuire as the main character. Marty is a bit of a tomboy but her teacher casts her as the princess in the class play, The Princess & the Frog. Marty ends up putting her own spin on the production. Readers who enjoy Judy Moody with also find Marty McGuire fun. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kelly Ickes | 10/2/2013

    " A good quick read for beginning third grade. Well written, a character third graders can relate with, and opens up many discussions with kids. It is amazing how sometimes the most simple and every day ideas get kids thinking and talking! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Gigi | 6/15/2013

    " Marty hates dresses, but loves to catch frogs. This is a great book for tomboys everywhere! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cathy Blackler | 4/24/2013

    " Great story with a heroine the likes of Ramona Quimby. Marty McGuire navigates third grade, friendships, and the art of compromise. Readers will identify with her trials and celebrate her unique spirit. I can't wait to pass this on to a friend who teaches third grade. Fun read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Alyson | 1/15/2013

    " Marty McGuire might be my new favorite book! A great choice for readers new to chapter books. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dawn Little | 8/26/2012

    " An engaging, easy-to-read chapter book for middle grade readers. Girls AND boys will find ways to connect with this exuberant character. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tracie | 5/27/2012

    " For fans of Clementine, etc. Marty thought third grade would be more fun, but with her best friend hanging out with the class snobby girl and with Marty being cast as a princess in the class play, third grade isn't really turning out the way she thought it would. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jess | 5/16/2012

    " An awesome, funny short chapter book that begs to be handed to young tom boys (and maybe the princessy girls, too, to see what life is like for other girls, and I think most boys would enjoy it, too). "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Crystal | 3/28/2012

    " This was a lot of fun! I like the no-princess girl making the whole princess thing work in her own style. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah D'Arco | 12/28/2011

    " Great for grades 2-4 students! Entertaining characters and plot. Love the things that Marty says and does - she's sure to be a favorite of many young readers! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Deb | 10/21/2011

    " Borrowed my nieces' book to read while on vacation. Cute story "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Karen | 10/12/2011

    " Great! My third grader loves to play with (and compete with) the boys, but still wants to be girly, too. Also, she has dyslexia, so this is a great book for us to read together. It builds her confidence as it is a chapter book, but not too difficult. Moving onto "Marty Digs Worms" next. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Donalyn | 8/17/2011

    " A marvelous book with a spunky heroine. I look forward to more Marty books! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Colby Sharp | 7/29/2011

    " Marty McGuire is kind of like Ramona with a tomboy twist. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rachel | 7/29/2011

    " I fell in love with Marty McGuire, and I know many young girls that will too! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mari | 5/9/2011

    " I've been reading a number of good, solid books with 3rd grade spunky girls, and here's one more! Great for kids who want to read fun and funny contemporary fiction, but need books a litle easier than the "Clementine" or "Cinderella Smith" titles. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 katsok | 4/27/2011

    " I've loved meeting Gianna, Claire, and now Marty. Kate Messner creates a perfect book for our young readers. Marty is such an interesting girl, a tomboy at heart, and I throughly enjoyed following her adventure. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lisa | 3/11/2011

    " Marty would rather catch frogs than play princess. When she is cast as the princess in the 3rd grade play, she uses her newly acquired improvisation skills to add some excitement. A fun read which features a smart and spunky heroine. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennie | 12/29/2010

    " Such a great read! I read it with my little girl and we simply adored this one Kate :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Franki | 12/23/2010

    " Love this character and this book. A great book for kids who love Judy Moody, Clementine, Roscoe Riley, etc. The story is told in first person by Marty and she is a character you love almost instantly. A fun read and hopefully the first in a series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kristin | 11/25/2010

    " This new novel is similar to Judy Moody and Junie B. Jones. Younger readers will enjoy it. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Kate Messner

Kate Messner is the award-winning author of more than a dozen current and forthcoming books for young readers. Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family, where she enjoys spending time outside biking, hiking, swimming in the summer, skiing and skating in the winter. Of course, she also loves curling up with a good book any day of the year.

About the Narrator

Cassandra Morris has received critical acclaim for her voice-over work from Publishers Weekly and AudioFile magazine. To date, she has narrated over one hundred audiobooks, earned seven Earphones Awards, and twice been a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. Her voice has also been heard on television in commercial campaigns for Samsung, Silk Soy Milk, and numerous Nickelodeon and Disney products. She is the voice of many cartoon characters, including Leo and Luna in Yu-Gi-Oh, Carrie in Barbie: A Fairy Secret, Nathan in Pokémon, and Lola in Angelo Rules.