Extended Audio Sample

Download Marty McGuire Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Marty McGuire, by Kate Messner Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (591 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kate Messner Narrator: Cassandra Morri Publisher: Scholastic Inc Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Marty McGuire Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $13.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Meet Marty McGuire! Marty would rather spend recess catching frogs in the pond than playing dress-up with the other girls in third grade. So when her teacher casts Marty as the princess in the class play, Marty’s absolutely, positively sure that there’s been a huge mistake! But after a special lesson in the art of improvisation, Marty comes up with her own plan to improve the play. Maybe a princess in muddy sneakers can live happily ever after, after all! Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Morris is terrific at portraying the characters—snooty girls, chummy boys, and patient adults—and her depiction of Marty’s transformation is especially elegant. Morris has the nuances and personalities of kids down pat as she shares subtle lessons about friendship and self-discovery with humor and grace.” 


  • “Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona.” 

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Stacey | 2/13/2014

    " This book is probably just right for a third grader. I love Marty--what a delightful heroine in the vein of Ramona or Clementine. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Clare Cannon | 2/10/2014

    " The easy to read adventures of a girl who prefers frogs to frilly dresses, but who learns to get along with her girly friends too. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Jenn O'Brien | 2/8/2014

    " I love the spunkiness of Marty - she reminds me a little of Beverly Cleary's Ramona. I love that this book showcases girls who enjoy sneakers and frogs but can still find room to wear a tiara in there. The dialogue between the teachers and students is so realistic and I love that Marty's parents let her show her creativity, but still give her guidelines. I'm so excited for the next book in this series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Leslie | 2/3/2014

    " I'm excited to add this series to the library. Marty is a well-rounded, interesting character that is sure to connect with young readers. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Kate Messner

Kate Messner is the award-winning author of more than a dozen current and forthcoming books for young readers. Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family, where she enjoys spending time outside biking, hiking, swimming in the summer, skiing and skating in the winter. Of course, she also loves curling up with a good book any day of the year.