The Screaming Staircase: Lockwood & Co. Book 1 Audiobook, by Jonathan Stroud Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Screaming Staircase: Lockwood & Co. Book 1 Audiobook

The Screaming Staircase: Lockwood & Co. Book 1 Audiobook, by Jonathan Stroud Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $19.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $24.00 Add to Cart
Author: Jonathan Stroud Narrator: Miranda Raison Publisher: Listening Library Audio Length: Series:The Lockwood & Co. Series Release Date: September 2013 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780804123150

Publisher Description

A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city, and they aren't exactly friendly. Only young people have the psychic abilities required to see-and eradicate-these supernatural foes. Many different Psychic Detection Agencies have cropped up to handle the dangerous work, and they are in fierce competition for business. In The Screaming Staircase, the plucky and talented Lucy Carlyle teams up with Anthony Lockwood, the charismatic leader of Lockwood & Co, a small agency that runs independent of any adult supervision. After an assignment leads to both a grisly discovery and a disastrous end, Lucy, Anthony, and their sarcastic colleague, George, are forced to take part in the perilous investigation of Combe Carey Hall, one of the most haunted houses in England. Will Lockwood & Co. survive the Hall's legendary Screaming Staircase and Red Room to see another day? Listeners who enjoyed the action, suspense, and humor in Jonathan Stroud's internationally bestselling Bartimaeus books will be delighted to find the same ingredients, combined with deliciously creepy scares, in his thrilling and chilling Lockwood & Co. series.

Download and start listening now!


  • A 2013 Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist for Young Adult Literature
  • Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A 2014 Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominee for Best Juvenile Fiction

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Jonathan Stroud is the author of the New York Times bestselling Bartimaeus Trilogy, as well as The Leap, The Last Siege, Buried Fire, and Heroes of the Valley. He lives in England with his family.

About the Narrator

Miranda Raison is an English actor who has appeared in the television series Merlin, Doctor Who, and Plus One, as well as the film Match Point.