I Let You Go Audiobook, by Clare Mackintosh Play Audiobook Sample

Download I Let You Go Audiobook

I Let You Go Audiobook, by Clare Mackintosh Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
Author: Clare Mackintosh Narrator: Nicola Barber, Steven Crossley Publisher: Penguin Audio Audio Length: Release Date: May 2016 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780804195096

Publisher Description

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

One of The New York Times Book Review’s 10 Best Crime Novels of 2016!

The next blockbuster thriller for those who loved The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl...“a finely crafted novel with a killer twist.”(#1 New York Times bestselling author Paula Hawkins)


 

On a rainy afternoon, a mother's life is shattered as her son slips from her grip and runs into the street...

 


I Let You Go follows Jenna Gray as she moves to a ramshackle cottage on the remote Welsh coast, trying to escape the memory of the car accident that plays again and again in her mind and desperate to heal from the loss of her child and the rest of her painful past.

 

At the same time, the novel tracks the pair of Bristol police investigators trying to get to the bottom of this hit-and-run. As they chase down one hopeless lead after another, they find themselves as drawn to each other as they are to the frustrating, twist-filled case before them. Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner, says, “I read I Let You Go in two sittings; it made me cry (at least twice), made me gasp out loud (once), and above all made me wish I'd written it...a stellar achievement.”

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • Chilling, compelling, and compassionate.

    - Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Timesbestselling author of The Girl on the Train
  • Astonishingly good.

    - Lee Child, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Make Me  
  • Genuinely shocking...[A] cunning psychological thriller.

    - Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review
  • On the level of the movie The Sixth Sense for its cleverness...This kind of sharp, cunning writing makes one eagerly look forward to Mackintosh’s next novel.

    - Shelf Awareness
  • “Astonishingly good.”

    - Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author
  • An intense psychological thriller…[that] revels in surprises and twists…Outstanding.

    - Associated Press
  • You'll be shocked by the twist in the middle of I Let You Go—just don't spoil it for everyone else!

    - PopSugar
  • Thrilling...a tense psychological thriller.

    - Real Simple
  • Jaw-dropping...the kind of book that sticks in the reader’s mind well after the final sentence.

    - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
  • A wonderfully layered thriller that skillfully builds from that one tragic event. It makes a good match for fans of Sophie Hannah and Erin Kelly.

    - Library Journal (starred review) 
  • Mind-bending.

    - Booklist
  • Addictive...one thrill after another.

    - Samantha Hayes, author of What You Left Behind
  • “Genuinely shocking…[A] cunning psychological thriller.”

    - New York Times Book Review
  • “An intense psychological thriller…[that] revels in surprises and twists…Outstanding.”

    - Associated Press
  • “A wonderfully layered thriller that skillfully builds from that one tragic event.”

    - Library Journal (starred review)
  • “Mackintosh’s excellent writing features both memorable characters and a compelling portrayal of the eccentricities of small-town life in a close-knit community. But the author’s real skill is in the way she incorporates jaw-dropping, yet plausible, plot twists into the already complex story line.”

    - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
  • “In this dual narration, Steven Crossley delivers a third-person account of Detective Inspector Ray Stevens’ campaign to find the hit-and-run killer of a little boy…Nicola Barber performs a first-person Jenna Gray, a young woman shattered by the crime…Mackintosh weaves together police procedural, family drama, and the anatomy of a murder. Deftly performed and pretty terrific.”

    - AudioFile
  • “With its authentic voices, switchback twists, and delicate character studies, this is a rewarding read from a writer with a real understanding of what makes a gripping crime novel.”

    - Sarah Hilary, winner of Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year
  • “A hugely assured and gripping debut and a twist that made me green with envy.”

    - Mark Billingham, author of the Tom Thorne novels

Awards

  • A May 2016 LibraryReads Pick
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month for May 2016
  • Shortlisted for the 2016 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award
  • A New York Times Bestseller

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Clare Mackintosh is an award-winning, international bestselling novelist. She spent twelve years on the police force in the United Kingdom, including time on CID and as a public order commander. She left the police in 2011 to work as a freelance journalist and social media consultant, and now writes full time. Her debut novel, I Let You Go, was a London Sunday Times bestseller and was 2015’s fastest selling title by a new crime writer. It was the winner of the Richard and Judy Book Club readers’ vote.

About the Narrators

Nicola Barber, is an Audie Award and Earphones Award-winning narrator whose voice can be heard in television and radio commercials and popular video games such as World of Warcraft. She is also an Audie finalist in the prestigious category of solo female narrationfor her work on Murphy’s Law by Rhys Bowen and Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth. She has performed on the stage in New York City and at a number of top regional theaters in the United States. Her film and television roles include The Nanny Diaries with Scarlett Johansson, and Law & Order’s 2009 season premiere. Originally from England, she currently resides in New York, a multicultural background that enables her to bring a broad range of accents and characterizations to her role as a full-time voice-over actor.

Steven Crossley, a graduate of the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London, has built a career on both sides of the Atlantic as an actor and audiobook narrator, for which he has won more than a dozen AudioFile Earphones Awards and been a nominee for the prestigious Audie Award. He is a member of the internationally renowned theater company Complicite and has appeared in numerous theater, television, film, and radio dramas.