I See You Audiobook, by Clare Mackintosh Play Audiobook Sample

Download I See You Audiobook

I See You Audiobook, by Clare Mackintosh Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
Author: Clare Mackintosh Narrator: Rachel Atkins Publisher: Penguin Audio Audio Length: Release Date: February 2017 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780804195133

Publisher Description

“[A] well-told suspense story...refreshingly realistic.”—The New York Times Book Review

 

“Danger feels real in the brilliant I See You…Mackintosh seems destined to do important work for many years to come.”—The Washington Post

 

“Mackintosh allots her characters the perfect amount of back story, allowing them to carry their own weight throughout the investigation. She also casts enough extras to keep readers guessing who could be behind these attacks…readers may find themselves wanting to reread this one.”—Associated Press

“[A] deliciously creepy tale of urban paranoia.”—Ruth Ware, New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin 10

The author of the New York Times bestseller I Let You Go propels readers into a dark and claustrophobic thriller, in which a normal, everyday woman becomes trapped in the confines of her normal, everyday world...


 

Every morning and evening, Zoe Walker takes the same route to the train station, waits at a certain place on the platform, finds her favorite spot in the car, never suspecting that someone is watching her...

 

It all starts with a classified ad. During her commute home one night, while glancing through her local paper, Zoe sees her own face staring back at her; a grainy photo along with a phone number and a listing for a website called FindTheOne.com.

 

Other women begin appearing in the same ad, a different one every day, and Zoe realizes they’ve become the victims of increasingly violent crimes—including murder. With the help of a determined cop, she uncovers the ad’s twisted purpose...A discovery that turns her paranoia into full-blown panic. Zoe is sure that someone close to her has set her up as the next target.

 

And now that man on the train—the one smiling at Zoe from across the car—could be more than just a friendly stranger. He could be someone who has deliberately chosen her and is ready to make his next move…

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • Wonderfully sinister. Had me looking over my shoulder every time I traveled on the tube.

    - Fiona Barton, New York Times bestselling author of The Widow
  • A brilliant second novel by one of Britain’s most exciting newcomers.

    - Jeffrey Archer
  • Accomplished, addictive, and thought-provoking.

    - B. A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors
  • An intense psychological thriller that I inhaled with my heart in my mouth…Unsettling and claustrophobic read. Truly shuddersome.

    - Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl
  • Mind-bending…[This novel] makes you reevaluate every step you take, and you will see the world in a different light. And that is genius.

    - Alexandra Burt, author of The Good Daughter
  • Mackintosh scripts a hair-raising ride.

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • [A] well-crafted blend of calculated malevolence, cunning plot twists, and redemption that will appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah, Ruth Rendell, and Ruth Ware.

    - Booklist (starred review)
  • [Mackintosh's] meticulous detail to investigative accuracy and talent in weaving a thrilling tale set her work apart from others in the field.

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • Chilling, compelling, and compassionate, I Let You Go is a finely crafted novel with a killer twist.

    - Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train
  • Astonishingly good.

    - Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Make Me
  • The big plot twist in Clare Mackintosh’s first novel, I Let You Go, is genuinely shocking. The jolts that follow, right up until the last page, are pretty good too…[A] cunning psychological thriller.

    - Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review
  • An intense psychological thriller…[that] revels in surprises and twists…Outstanding.

    - The Associated Press
  • I Let You Go is a master class in plotting, with a killer twist. I could not put it down.

    - Jojo Moyes, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You
  • “Atkins’ haunting tones immerse listeners in this harrowing tale of a single mother stalked by a killer.”

    - Booklist (starred audio review)
  • “[A] well-told suspense story…refreshingly realistic.”

    - New York Times Book Review
  • “Danger feels real in the brilliant I See You…Mackintosh seems destined to do important work for many years to come.”

    - Washington Post
  • “Mackintosh allots her characters the perfect amount of back story, allowing them to carry their own weight throughout the investigation. She also casts enough extras to keep readers guessing who could be behind these attacks…Readers may find themselves wanting to reread this one.”

    - Associated Press

Awards

  • A February 2017 LibraryReads Pick
  • A Booklist Pick of the Top 10 Crime Fiction Audiobooks of 2018

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • 3.666666 out of 53.666666 out of 53.666666 out of 53.666666 out of 53.666666 out of 5

    " This is my second Clare Mackintosh and I have enjoyed both of her books thus far. She seems to be a solid psychological suspense author with a tone and pace very similar to that of Ruth Ware, and with a penchant for well-thought-out plot twists. Now, on that same note, if you are hoping for a very fast-paced, edge-of-your-seat thriller, just as with Ware, you will not get that here. Mackintosh writes very character-driven narratives, so in this story, we spend a lot of time getting to know our two main characters, their lives, daily activities, and the primary relationships they have. As mentioned above, this story is told from two perspectives. The first, is Zoe Walker, a middle-aged mom who takes the commuter tube every day to work and then returns home to her live-in boyfriend as well as her two adult children from a previous marriage. One day, while on the tube, Zoe sees an ad in the local paper under the advertisements in the Classifieds for chatlines, and is astonished to find her picture, or what she thinks to be her picture, next to it. The other main character is Kelly Swift, a detective who has been demoted after assaulting a rape suspect and is working with Britih Transit Police. She and Zoe connect after Zoe realizes that a woman who was recently pickpocketed on the tube, also had her photo in the same area of the classifieds. And since Kelly was working as part of the transit authority at the time, she had the case and began to listen to Zoe's theories on the connection between the advertisements and these women being victims of crime. The story progresses from there, as more women become victims and Zoe herself is in danger. On the one hand, I found the overarching plot to be extremely clever. I had never encountered a story similar to this and so it was interesting to follow the journey. Additionally, the revealed perpetrator was quite good. It was not a person I had previously suspected. However, at the very end, within the last page or two, a final twist was revealed, and it is actually one I predicted. So while I do appreciate the way it was inserted into the story, having it be almost an afterthought rather than the big climax, I still have to take away points for the predictability. Even so, I enjoyed my reading experience of this book and will definitely be picking up more from Mackintosh in the futre. "

    - bdtellefsen88, 6/30/2021

About the Author

Clare Mackintosh is an award-winning, international bestselling novelist. She spent twelve years on the police force in the United Kingdom, including time on CID and as a public order commander. She left the police in 2011 to work as a freelance journalist and social media consultant, and now writes full time. Her debut novel, I Let You Go, was a London Sunday Times bestseller and was 2015’s fastest selling title by a new crime writer. It was the winner of the Richard and Judy Book Club readers’ vote.

About the Narrator

Anne de Courcy is the author of many widely acclaimed works of social history and biography, including 1939: The Last Season, Margot at War, The Fishing Fleet, The Viceroy’s Daughters, and Debs at War. Her books Diana Mosley and Snowdon: The Biography became the bases for television documentaries, and The Husband Hunters has been optioned for a feature film.