Extended Audio Sample

Download Grifter’s Game Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Grifter’s Game Audiobook, by Lawrence Block Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lawrence Block Narrator: Alan Sklar Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2006 ISBN: 9781482976243
Regular Price: $14.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Con man Joe Marlin was used to scoring easy cash off beautiful women. But that was before he met Mona Brassard and found himself facing the most dangerous con of his career, one that will leave him either a killer—or a corpse.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The narrative is layered with detail, the action is handled with Block’s distinctive clarity of style, and the ending is a stunning tour de force.”

    New York Times

  • “This tale displays Block’s craft as a master storyteller, which later matured into his Matthew Scudder and Bernie Rhodenbarr novels. Veteran reader Alan Sklar, who has performed on other Block audiobooks, is superb, presenting the work in an engaging manner. Highly recommended.”

    Library Journal (audio review)

  • “Sklar, speaking in no-nonsense bass tones, portrays tragic hero Joe Marlin flawlessly, adopting a bravado that comes through loud and clear…Sklar delivers the more vulnerable passages with equal excellence, absent of sentimentality and with a lingering sense of hope. As well, his reading sets just the right tone, conjuring up gritty, dark scenes reminiscent of 1940s films. It is hoped that the resurgent popularity of noir novels will result in more audio versions of other classics. If only Sklar could narrate them all in his seductive tones.”

    Booklist (starred audio review)

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Lawrence Block

Lawrence Block is the recipient of a Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America and a New York Times bestselling author. His prolific career spans over one hundred books, including four bestselling series and dozens of short stories and articles. He has won multiple Edgar and Shamus awards, two Falcon Awards from the Maltese Falcon Society of Japan, the Nero and Philip Marlowe Awards, the Cartier Diamond Dagger from the Crime Writers Association of America, and many others. Aside from being a mystery writer, he has also written a number of episodes for television, including two episodes of the ESPN series Tilt; he also cowrote the screenplay for the film My Blueberry Nights, starring Norah Jones. Block currently lives in New York City with his wife, Lynne.

About the Narrator

Alan Sklar, a graduate of Dartmouth, has excelled in his career as a freelance voice actor. He began narrating audiobooks in 1996, winning seven AudioFile Earphones Awards and earning several “Best Voice” awards. He has also worked as a stage actor and as a promo announcer at WPIX-TV in New York City. His dream is to be an opera singer, a role for which he hones his bass-baritone operatic skills in the upstairs shower of his home.