Extended Audio Sample

Download First Grave on the Right Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample First Grave on the Right, by Darynda Jones Click for printable size audiobook cover
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00 (3 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Darynda Jones Narrator: Lorelei King Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Charley Davidson Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $23.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

First Grave on the Right is the smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper.

Charley sees dead people. That's right, she sees dead people. And it's her job to convince them to "go into the light." But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e., murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she's been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

This is a thrilling debut novel from Darynda Jones, an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense.

First Grave on the Right is the winner of the 2012 Rita Award for Best First Book.

Download and start listening now!

BK_AREN_001174

Quotes & Awards

  • “Sexy, sassy . . . Jones's characters, both living and dead, are colorful and endearing. . . . Cheeky charm . . . sarcastic wit. The Associated Press

  • Jones's wickedly witty debut will delight aficionados of such humorous paranormals as Casey Daniels's Pepper Martin Mysteries and Dakota Cassidy's Accidental Friends series. Booklist (starred review)
  • Jones skillfully establishes the novel's setting and keeps up the pace with plenty of action. And let's be honest--the sex is pretty hot, too. Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and other authors of paranormal romance will love this series debut. Library Journal (starred review)
  • Fast-talking Charley's wicked exuberance and lust for life will appeal to fans of MaryJanice Davidson and Janet Evanovich and maybe fill a hole for those mourning the recently canceled Ghost Whisperer. Publishers Weekly
  • Jones makes a truly memorable debut with her unique tale that is sexy, mysterious, and sarcastically fun! RT Books Reviews
  • It's a fun, sexy, exciting read. Suspense Magazine
  • A true paranormal princess has been proclaimed. Bravo Ms. Jones, you have just hit the big time. . . . A brilliant novel . . . Do not walk; run to get your copy of First Grave on the Right when it debuts. Night Owl Reviews
  • This book is full of surprises and fun to be had for all. I barely finished this book and already can't wait to visit with Charley Davidson again in the next novel, Second Grave on the Left. First Grave on the Rightdeserves nothing less than a Five Angel, Recommend Read status. Fallen Angel Reviews
  • Hold on to your hats and get comfortable, you won't want to get up for a long, long time as Charley Davidson sweeps you in and holds on tight. The Romance Reviews
  • A smashing, award-winning debut novel. Goodreads
  • In the currently crowded paranormal world, First Grave on the Right is a bright beacon of originality. Jones writes with a sharp, addictively acerbic sense of humor, and she combines genres with the carefully controlled precision of a master literary mixologist. Reader to Reader . . .
  • A fast and fun read [that] will leave you begging for more. Second Grave on the Left is due out in August, and I can't wait. Fresh Fiction
  • This book takes a humorous view on the old Grim Reaper cliché. Charley is a smart, enjoyable character with enough snark to keep one laughing even as the plot darkens. Affaire de Coeur
  • The best debut novel I've read in years! Hilarious and heartfelt, sexy and surprising . . . I'm begging for the next one!! J. R. Ward, New York Times bestselling author of Lover Avenged
  • I am furiously envious of Darynda Jones and rue the day she came up with this concept, damn her eyes. First Grave on the Right . . . kidnapped me from the first paragraph, and didn't let go until the exceedingly yummy conclusion. MaryJanice Davidson, New York Times bestselling author of Undead and Unwelcome and Me, Myself and Why?
  • First Grave on the Right is smart, sharp, and wickedly entertaining. Grab this one. Jayne Ann Krentz, New York Times bestselling author of Fired Up
  • First Grave on the Right is witty, darkly thrilling, and oh, so sexy! Gena Showalter, New York Times bestselling author of The Darkest Whisper
  • First Grave on the Right is a phenomenal debut! This series opener has it all--rollicking humor, sizzling sexual tension, and a spine-tingling mystery. I'm eagerly awaiting the next Charley Davidson tale! Kresley Cole, New York Times bestselling author of Pleasure of a Dark Prince

  • Winner of the 2012 RITA Award for Best First Book
  • Winner of Rita Award - Winner, 2012
  • Among shortlisted titles for Audie Award Finalist, 2012

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by JB | 2/24/2017

    " I am writing this review after reading the first 10 books of the series. Main character is a grimm reaper and she falls in love with the son of the devil...can't give much more away!! The story continues as Charlie and Cookie continue working, UB (well I cant tell you what happens), and Reyes aaaahhhhhhhh Reyes. Enjoy if you like supernatural, humorous fiction. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kate | 6/29/2011

    " For me first grave on the right is one of the funniest book I ever read. I find this book really humorous. I love Charley's personality and her interaction's with Cookie. I highly recommend this book to anybody who love's a kickass story with a funny and sarcastic female lead character. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Llwells | 6/24/2011

    " New author got from the public library, if the second book is as good as the first it will be a 'keeper series' and one that I will highly recommend to those who like Sookie, Queen Betsy, and even Anita Blake...... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Ladyacct | 6/22/2011

    " Really enjoyed this funny, different, paranormal 1st in a series. Even though I got this at the library (first book, new author, Hardcover? not me---sorry Mr. Publisher ;-( ) I will purchase for my personal library, and if the second book is as good as this one, ANOTHER new series to follow. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations