Finding Meaning: The Sixth Stage of Grief Audiobook, by David Kessler Play Audiobook Sample

Download Finding Meaning: The Sixth Stage of Grief Audiobook

Finding Meaning: The Sixth Stage of Grief Audiobook, by David Kessler Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
Author: David Kessler Narrator: David Kessler Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Audio Length: Release Date: November 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781508280057

Publisher Description

In this groundbreaking new work, David Kessler—an expert on grief and the coauthor with Elisabeth Kübler-Ross of the iconic On Grief and Grieving—journeys beyond the classic five stages to discover a sixth stage: meaning.

In 1969, Elisabeth Kübler Ross first identified the stages of dying in her book On Death and Dying. Decades later, she and David Kessler wrote the classic On Grief and Grieving, adapting those well-loved stages for those in grief. Now, based on hard-earned personal experiences, as well as decades of knowledge from work with the grieving, Kessler introduces a critical sixth stage.

Many people look for “closure” after a loss. Kessler, however, argues that it’s finding meaning beyond the stages of grief most of us are familiar with—denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance—that can transform grief into a more peaceful and hopeful experience.

In this book, Kessler gives readers a road map to remembering those who have died with more love than pain by moving forward in a way that honors our loved ones. Kessler’s insight is both professional and intensely personal. His journey with grief began when, as a child, he witnessed a mass shooting at the same time his mother was dying. For most of his life, Kessler taught physicians, nurses, counselors, police, and first responders about end of life, trauma, and grief, as well as leading talks and retreats for those experiencing grief—but despite his knowledge, his life was completely turned upside down by the sudden death of his twenty-one-year-old son. How does the grief expert handle such a tragic loss? He knew he had to find a way through this unexpected, devastating loss that would honor his son. That, ultimately, was the sixth state of grief—meaning. In Finding Meaning, Kessler shares the insights, collective wisdom, and powerful tools that will help those experiencing all types of losses.

Finding Meaning is a necessary addition to grief literature and a vital guide to healing from tremendous loss. This is an inspiring, beautifully written, deeply intelligent must-read for anyone looking to journey away from suffering, through loss, and towards meaning.

Download and start listening now!


  • “A trailblazing expert on grief…If you want to find purpose and meaning in your life after loss, you can’t miss this book.”

    - Tony Robbins, New York Times bestselling author
  • “David Kessler writes of a world that is rarely examined with such sensitivity. Now he has gone to an even deeper and more soulful place. He is a healer par excellence to others who are in pain.”

    - Marianne Williamson, author of Return to Love

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

David Kessler is one of the world’s foremost experts on healing and loss. His experience with thousands of people on the edge of life and death has taught him the secrets to living a happy and fulfilled life. He is the author of five bestselling books, including You Can Heal Your Heart: Finding Peace after Breakup, Divorce, or Death with Louise Hay. He coauthored two bestsellers with the legendary Elisabeth Kübler-Ross: On Grief and Grieving and Life Lessons. His first book, The Needs of the Dying, a #1 bestselling hospice book, received praise by Mother Teresa. His services have been used by Elizabeth Taylor, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Marianne Williamson when their loved ones faced life-challenging illnesses. David’s work has been featured on CNN, NBC, Fox, PBS, and Dr. Oz.