Extended Audio Sample

Download Cold Barrel Zero Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Cold Barrel Zero, by Matthew Quirk Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Matthew Quirk Narrator: Peter Coleman Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Clancy meets LeCarré in Matthew Quirk’s action-packed new thriller.

Former combat medic John Byrne’s vacation in southern California is interrupted when FBI agents bring him in for questioning and charge him with burglary, grand larceny, the use of weapons of mass destruction, and a litany of other felonies. It’s a case of mistaken identity, but the FBI isn’t taking any chances, freezing Byrne’s bank accounts and adding his name to the no-fly list. Byrne is left with nowhere to turn—until he’s picked up by the very man the government seeks: Thomas Hayes.

Byrne recognizes Hayes from the early days of his military service. In the years since, Hayes has become a special ops squad leader as formidable as he is infamous. He claims he and his teammates have been wrongly accused of terrorist acts, and the series of heists they’re planning will yield enough evidence to clear their name. But Byrne sees another possibility: these daring heists could lead to a catastrophic attack on American soil.

Byrne isn’t sure who to believe—Hayes, his former brother in arms, or Colonel Riggs, the leader of the task force charged with bringing Hayes down. Byrne must decide where his allegiances lie—or he and the entire country will face the consequences.

Download and start listening now!

bs3u

Quotes & Awards

  • [Quirk's] best book yet . . . Quirk delves deep into the world of international terror and covert operations, and writes with such authority you half expect his prose to be riddled with redactions. The action dazzles. The characters feel authentic and fully fleshed. The threats seem all too real. Los Angeles Review of Books
  • Adrenaline junkies need look no further than Matthew Quirk's Cold Barrel Zero for their next fix. The action is relentless and exceptionally inventive. . . . This is a must-read for fans of Jason Bourne or Jack Reacher. BookPage
  • Quirk's fast-paced plot keeps the pages turning as readers journey with Byrne on a dangerous adventure. Highly recommended for fans of rapid action with down-to-the-wire conclusions. Library Journal (starred review)
  • A lethal game of cat and mouse fuels Quirk's third and best novel, a military spy thriller in which one all-out conspiracy is met by another. . . . The story is expertly stripped down, the action relentless, and the characters multilayered. . . . [Quirk] takes a major step forward. Kirkus Reviews
  • Matthew Quirk's Cold Barrel Zero is an unputdownable blast! The writing is spare and masterful, you care about the characters, and the action is hair-raising, authentic, at times even mesmerizing. Cold Barrel Zero is one of the must-read thrillers of the year! Ben Coes, bestselling author of Coup D'Etat and Independence Day
  • What separates Matt Quirk from other military thriller writers is his insider chops as a journalist who has covered the real-world versions of the stories he tells. Cold Barrel Zero is gripping and utterly convincing. It's the tale real agents and operators would tell if they had Matt Quirk's storytelling genius. Steven Pressfield, bestselling author of The Afghan Campaign and The Legend of Bagger Vance
  • "Quirk's writings drips with the kind of eye for the telling detail that only a canny reporter, detective, or spy possesses....If you like Ludlum you are certain to like Quirk.
    Ralph Benko, Forbes
  • A relentlessly paced military thriller . . . Sophisticated storytelling [and] whiplash pacing . . . Cold Barrel Zero delivers some clever twists and startling surprises. . . . There are layers of moral ambiguity and questions at every turn. Art Taylor, Washington Post
  • Matthew Quirk has elevated to must-read thriller status faster than seems possible. Cold Barrel Zero is a brilliantly researched and written tour de force from an author who understands both high-stakes action and fine writing. Michael Koryta, bestselling author of Last Words and Those Who Wish Me Dead
  • Thriller Award-winner Quirk goes flat-out explosive in this superior military adventure novel. . . . There's plenty of cool cutting-edge technology, but in the end it comes down to action, and the riveting battle scenes are among the best in the business. Readers will look forward to seeing more of the skilled and deadly John Hayes. Publishers Weekly (starred boxed review)
  • Deadly. High-tech. Characters are well drawn and motivated, and their exploits are hair raising. Quirk spins an adrenaline-fueled, military-based action adventure skillfully. Another hard-to-put-down adventure from Quirk .... even more chilling for its air of plausibility. A fine thriller. Booklist (starred review)
  • [Quirk's] best book yet . . . Quirk delves deep into the world of international terror and covert operations, and writes with such authority you half expect his prose to be riddled with redactions. The action dazzles. The characters feel authentic and fully fleshed. The threats seem all too real. Los Angeles Review of Books
  • Adrenaline junkies need look no further than Matthew Quirk's Cold Barrel Zero for their next fix. The action is relentless and exceptionally inventive. . . . This is a must-read for fans of Jason Bourne or Jack Reacher. BookPage
  • Quirk's fast-paced plot keeps the pages turning as readers journey with Byrne on a dangerous adventure. Highly recommended for fans of rapid action with down-to-the-wire conclusions. Library Journal (starred review)
  • A lethal game of cat and mouse fuels Quirk's third and best novel, a military spy thriller in which one all-out conspiracy is met by another. . . . The story is expertly stripped down, the action relentless, and the characters multilayered. . . . [Quirk] takes a major step forward. Kirkus Reviews
  • Matthew Quirk's Cold Barrel Zero is an unputdownable blast! The writing is spare and masterful, you care about the characters, and the action is hair-raising, authentic, at times even mesmerizing. Cold Barrel Zero is one of the must-read thrillers of the year! Ben Coes, bestselling author of Coup D'Etat and Independence Day
  • What separates Matt Quirk from other military thriller writers is his insider chops as a journalist who has covered the real-world versions of the stories he tells. Cold Barrel Zero is gripping and utterly convincing. It's the tale real agents and operators would tell if they had Matt Quirk's storytelling genius. Steven Pressfield, bestselling author of The Afghan Campaign and The Legend of Bagger Vance
  • "Quirk's writings drips with the kind of eye for the telling detail that only a canny reporter, detective, or spy possesses....If you like Ludlum you are certain to like Quirk.
    Ralph Benko, Forbes
  • A relentlessly paced military thriller . . . Sophisticated storytelling [and] whiplash pacing . . . Cold Barrel Zero delivers some clever twists and startling surprises. . . . There are layers of moral ambiguity and questions at every turn. Art Taylor, Washington Post
  • Matthew Quirk has elevated to must-read thriller status faster than seems possible. Cold Barrel Zero is a brilliantly researched and written tour de force from an author who understands both high-stakes action and fine writing. Michael Koryta, bestselling author of Last Words and Those Who Wish Me Dead
  • Thriller Award-winner Quirk goes flat-out explosive in this superior military adventure novel. . . . There's plenty of cool cutting-edge technology, but in the end it comes down to action, and the riveting battle scenes are among the best in the business. Readers will look forward to seeing more of the skilled and deadly John Hayes. Publishers Weekly (starred boxed review)
  • Deadly. High-tech. Characters are well drawn and motivated, and their exploits are hair raising. Quirk spins an adrenaline-fueled, military-based action adventure skillfully. Another hard-to-put-down adventure from Quirk .... even more chilling for its air of plausibility. A fine thriller. Booklist (starred review)
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations