Beyond the Beats: Rock & Roll’s Greatest Drummers Speak! Audiobook, by Jake Brown Play Audiobook Sample

Beyond the Beats: Rock & Roll’s Greatest Drummers Speak! Audiobook

Beyond the Beats: Rock & Roll’s Greatest Drummers Speak! Audiobook, by Jake Brown Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Jake Brown, various entertainers Publisher: Jacob P. Brown Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 7.83 hours at 1.5x Speed 5.88 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: June 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781538485538

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

105:09 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

28:55 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

58:45 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Jake Brown: > View All...

Publisher Description

When Rolling Stone Magazine publishes its List of the Greatest Drummers of All Time, and a book’s entire Table of Contents is included, you know you’re onto something truly great. “BEYOND THE BEATS: Rock & Roll’s Greatest Drummers Speak!” hits with the loudest bang as the FIRST definitive book of its kind. A book BY drummers FOR drummers, featuring exclusive, chapter-length interviews with Rock & Metal’s most popular players of the past 40 years, this Rock & Roll Royalty includes TOMMY LEE of MOTLEY CRUE, LARS ULRICH of METALLICA, JOEY KRAMER of AEROSMITH, JIMMY CHAMBERLIN of THE SMASHING PUMPKINS, TICO TORRES of BON JOVI, CHAD SMITH of THE RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS, TAYLOR HAWKINS of THE FOO FIGHTERS, STEPHEN PERKINS of JANE’S ADDICTION, DOUG ‘COSMO’ CLIFFORD of CREEDENCE CLEARWATER REVIVAL, STEVE SMITH of JOURNEY, KENNY ARONOFF of JOHN MELLENCAMP/JOHN FOGERTY, and MATT SORUM of GUNS N ROSES/VELVET REVOLVER.

For rock and metal drummers of any generation, this is their holy grail, featuring the stories behind literally hundreds of their favorite beats, from popular Classic Rock Radio hits like “Walk This Way” by Aerosmith, “Down on the Corner” by Creedence Clearwater Revival,” and “Living on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi to “Hurts So Good” by John Mellencamp and “Don’t Stop Believin’" by Journey, and for the heavier metal fans, everything from Metallica’s Greatest Hits, from “Master of Puppets” to “One” and “Enter Sandman,” Motley Crue’s “Kickstart My Heart” or Guns N Roses’ “You Could Be Mine,” or “Give it Away” by the Red Hot Chili Peppers, “Three Days” by Jane’s Addiction, “Times Like These” by the Foo Fighters or “Today,” “Bullet with Butterfly Wings” or “I am One” by Smashing Pumpkins and hundreds of other hits across every generation and sub-genre of Rock & Roll were created from behind the kit.

Download and start listening now!

“I just consider myself very lucky, quite frankly, to be in the company of the drummers in this book.”

— Doug “Cosmo” Clifford, Creedence Clearwater Revival 

Beyond the Beats Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Jake Brown

Jake Brown is an award-winning Nashville based music biographer of over 40 books including authorized collaborations including Joe Satriani, Heart, Moorhead, 2Pac, and author of the trademarked “In the Studio” book series (Rick Rubin, ACDC), the Nashville Songwriter book series and others including Beyond the Beats, HIP HOP HITS and Behind the Boards.