Behind the Boards: Nashville, Vol. 1: The Studio Stories Behind Country Music’s Greatest Hits Audiobook, by Jake Brown Play Audiobook Sample

Behind the Boards: Nashville, Vol. 1: The Studio Stories Behind Country Music’s Greatest Hits Audiobook

Behind the Boards: Nashville, Vol. 1: The Studio Stories Behind Country Music’s Greatest Hits Audiobook, by Jake Brown Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Jake Brown Publisher: Jacob P. Brown Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 7.50 hours at 1.5x Speed 5.63 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: July 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781538485606

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

77:21 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

02:29 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

45:29 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Jake Brown: > View All...

Publisher Description

If you’re a County Music fan, you’ve seen glimpses perhaps of it on TV shows like Nashville and movies like Walk the Line, but never before have fans of music’s biggest-selling genre been invited inside the heart of the creative nerve centers where their favorite # 1 hits are brought to life, the recording studio! Inside the pages of Behind the Boards: Nashville, Country music fans for the first time ever are given a front-row seat inside Music Row’s most famous recording studios on tours narrated by the town’s biggest record producers. Volume 1 includes Dann Huff, Tony Brown, Michael Knox, Clint Black, James Stroud, Ross Copperman, Byron Gallimore, Josh Leo, Norbert Putnam, Jody Stevens, Frank Liddell, and Jesse Frasure!

Collectively, the book features over three hundred # 1 hits by Country’s biggest stars, including Taylor Swift, Luke Bryan, Lady Antebellum, Chris Stapleton, Carrie Underwood, George Strait, Jason Aldean, Miranda Lambert, Clint Black, Jimmy Buffett’s “Margaritaville”, Florida Georgia Line, Reba McEntire, Lionel Richie’s Tuskegee album, A Star is Born soundtrack starring Lady Gaga/Bradley Cooper, Brad Paisley, Sam Hunt, Blake Shelton, Trisha Yearwood, Kacey Musgraves, Brooks & Dunn, Keith Urban, Alabama, Jason Isbell, George Jones, Jewel, Rascal Flatts, Tim McGraw, Toby Keith, Willie Nelson, Lori McKenna, Midland, Faith Hill, Steve Earle, Hank Williams Jr., Lyle Lovett, Thomas Rhett, Dierks Bentley, Vince Gill, Brett Eldredge, Martina McBride, the Dixie Chicks, the Band Perry, Shooter Jennings, Jake Owen, Big & Rich, Jon Pardi, the Nitty Gritty Band, Scotty McCreery, Darius Rucker, Mo Bandy, the Eagles, and the great Merle Haggard among others.

Download and start listening now!

“A skilled writer and music biographer, Brown brings the reader into the studio by seamlessly oscillating between narration and interview, weaving together the history and context surrounding these classic recordings with the voices of those who were there, behind the boards. Behind The Boards II is a fascinating collection of tales of the technical and human elements behind some of the greatest music of all time.”

— Mix magazine 


  • “Author Jake Brown is a prolific sharer of behind-the-scenes stories. For his 50th book, Behind the Boards: Nashville, he goes into the control room with 30 of country music’s top producers to share intimate stories behind the hits.”

    — Parade Magazine
  • “A new Jake Brown book, Behind the Boards: Nashville…goes deep.”

    — Country Music Television
  • “The latest project by author Jake Brown, invites readers inside for front row, first-hand conversations with 30 of Country music’s most successful and legendary record producers of the past 50 years.”

    — American Songwriter Magazine
  • “A new book by music biographer Jake Brown takes fans into the recording studio to tell rarely heard stories of their favorite hits. Collecting thoughts from thirty of Nashville’s top producers like Dann Huff, Shane McAnally, Michael Knox, Joey Moi, Buddy Cannon…there’s much more to discover in Behind the Boards: Nashville.”

  • “A new book Behind the Boards: Nashville by biographer Jake Brown pulls back the curtain on the Music Row hit-making machine and the producers who create the music. The book explores the in-depth relationships between artists and producers while revealing the compelling stories behind some of the biggest hits to come out of Music City.”

    — Music Row Magazine
  • “This book takes us on a journey behind the scenes of the studio as producer and artists work together to create the songs that become a deep part of our lives.”


Behind the Boards: Nashville, Vol. 1 Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Jake Brown

Jake Brown is an award-winning Nashville based music biographer of over 40 books including authorized collaborations including Joe Satriani, Heart, Moorhead, 2Pac, and author of the trademarked “In the Studio” book series (Rick Rubin, ACDC), the Nashville Songwriter book series and others including Beyond the Beats, HIP HOP HITS and Behind the Boards.