Download At the Edge of Uncertainty: 11 Discoveries Taking Science by Surprise Audiobook

At the Edge of Uncertainty: 11 Discoveries Taking Science by Surprise Audiobook, by Michael Brooks Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Michael Brooks Narrator: Sean Runnette Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2015 ISBN: 9781481508995
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The bestselling author of Free Radicals takes readers on a whirlwind tour of the most controversial areas of modern science

The atom, the big bang, DNA, natural selection—all are ideas that have revolutionized science; and all were dismissed out of hand when they first appeared. The surprises haven’t stopped in recent years, and in At the Edge of Uncertainty, bestselling author Michael Brooks investigates the new wave of radical insights that are shaping the future of scientific discovery.

Brooks takes us to the extreme frontiers of what we understand about the world. He journeys from the observations that might rewrite our story of how the cosmos came to be, through the novel biology behind our will to live, and on to the physiological root of consciousness. Along the way, he examines how it’s time to redress the gender imbalance in clinical trials, explores how merging humans with other species might provide a solution to the shortage of organ donors, and finds out whether the universe really is like a computer or if the flow of time is a mere illusion.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Brooks, a consultant at New Scientist, highlights numerous areas of research that give pause to many scientists and throw lay readers into confusion in this challenging and mind-bending work…His goal isn’t always to make sense of things, as some scientific work has only reached the stage of pointing out the problems in previously held theories. Perhaps he sums his work up best when he writes ‘common sense is not a useful guide to reality.’”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • New Statesman columnist Brooks details research being conducted on the extreme frontiers of science…The edgy edge of scientific investigation presented with verve.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Physicist and writer Michael Brooks wants readers to take a new look at things we think we already understand, and he has an engaging way of making his point…His book touches on advanced computing, essential differences between men and women, the power of the will to live, mysteries of the cosmos, and more…He hopes that you, like the ever-questing scientists he applauds, will want to know more.”

    Washington Post

  • “Sean Runnette proves an excellent choice for listeners to follow the disruptions to the fundamentals of science. With a clear and emphatic voice, he provides an aural spotlight to help listeners navigate through complex ideas such as the environmental influence on genes, the inconsistency of time, and how the universe operates as a computer. Runnette is comfortable with the material and careful with his tone; it’s clear he doesn’t want to lose listeners. His attitude seems reassuring, which is helpful for an intellectually demanding book like this.”


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Michael Brooks, who holds a PhD in physics, is an author, journalist, and broadcaster. He is a consultant at New Scientist, a magazine with over three quarters of a million readers worldwide, and writes a weekly column for the New Statesman. Brooks is the author of At the Edge of Uncertainty, The Secret Anarchy of Science and the bestselling nonfiction title 13 Things that Don’t Make Sense. His writing has also appeared in the London Observer, Guardian, and Independent, as well as many other newspapers and magazines. He lives in England.

About the Narrator

Sean Runnette, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, has also directed and produced more than two hundred audiobooks, including several Audie Award winners. He is a member of the American Repertory Theater company and has toured the United States and internationally with ART and Mabou Mines. His television and film appearances include Two If by Sea, Cop Land, Sex and the City, Law & Order, the award-winning film Easter, and numerous commercials.