Extended Audio Sample

Download All the Bright Places Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample All the Bright Places, by Jennifer Niven Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jennifer Niven Narrator: Ariadne Meyers, Jennifer Niven, Kirby Heyborne Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die. 

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: it’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, and John Green, from a talented new voice in young-adult literature, Jennifer Niven.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “This heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters—or her audience.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  •  “Pick up this heartrending novel about a girl who vows to live with purpose after bonding with a boy who plans to end his own life.”

    SELF magazine

  • “At the heart—a big one—of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “In her YA debut, adult author Niven creates a romance so fresh and funny…The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities—and limits—of love in the face of mental illness.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Many teen novels touch on similar themes, but few do it so memorably.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “The writing in this heartrending novel is fluid, despite the difficult topics…Finch in particular will linger in readers’ minds long after the last page is turned.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Violet, a popular girl who is still reeling from the death of her older sister in a car accident that she survived, and Finch, a ‘freak’ who is struggling to cope with bipolar disorder, met on the ledge of the school’s bell tower. Who saved whom? Kirby Heyborne is outstanding as Finch, using pacing and tone to make the young man believable as he navigates his mania and depression, dreaming up ways to die, then finding reasons to embrace life. Ariadne Meyers projects the voice of a well-loved but damaged teenager who is afraid to re-enter life but is drawn to this new friend who needs her as much as she needs him. The story—dark and sad yet clever and funny—shines a light on the timely and important issue of teen mental illness.”


Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations