Extended Audio Sample

Download Holding Up the Universe Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Holding Up the Universe Audiobook, by Jennifer Niven Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jennifer Niven Narrator: Jorjeana Marie, Robbie Daymond Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: October 2016 ISBN: 9780735207516
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone—and love someone—for who they truly are.

Everyone knows Libby Strout. She’s the girl who was so heavy she had to be lifted out of her house by a crane. After being homeschooled for years, she’s ready to rejoin the human race, a.k.a. the junior class of MVB High. She’s free, she’s strong, and she’s going to get through this—or so she lies to herself. (Okay, fine, she’s terrified out of her skull).

Everyone knows Jack Masselin, too. He may not be the most popular guy in school, but he’s got swagger. What no one knows is that Jack has a secret: his brain is different, or maybe a little broken, and he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. But he’s made it this far, and he just has to keep it up: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.

Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed … and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

Jennifer Niven delivers another exhilarating, heart-wrenching love story about finding that person who sees you for who you are—and seeing them right back.

Download and start listening now!

bxem

Quotes & Awards

  • “A beautiful reminder of the power of understanding.”

    Jay Asher, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Gorgeously written and oh-so-deeply felt, Holding Up the Universe contains one of my favorite characters of all time!”

    Nicola Yoon, New York Times bestselling author

  • [A] heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids. Entertainment Weekly
  • A novel about love and how important it is to be seen. Popsugar.com 
  • do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe. Justine Magazine
  • Niven’s honest writing shares a story of friendship, confidence, strength, and identity—and it’s not one to be missed. Buzzfeed.com
  • ★ "[Niven] creates two indelible characters and a heart-stopping romance. Publishers Weekly starred review
  • ★ "Written in short chapters of alternating perspectives, this is a thoughtful exploration of identity and self-acceptance, with commentary on overcoming adversities that will hit close to home. School Library Journal starred review 
  • "Moving. . . . The true heart of the tale lies in personal growth and learning to love yourself. Bookish.com
  • “[Narrator] Jorjeana Marie…builds a bridge of empathy between the listener and Libby, emphasizing the girl’s complex feelings about social pressures and dramatizing her growing self-confidence. Daymond portrays the contrast between Jack’s outward swagger and his inner fears as the boy struggles to hide his disability…The narrators’ youthful voices and expressive performances add verisimilitude to the audiobook’s high-school setting.”

    AudioFile

  • A New York Times Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Jennifer NivenAll the Bright Places is Jennifer Niven’s first book for young adult readers, but she has written four novels for adults—American Blonde, Becoming Clementine, Velva Jean Learns to Fly, and Velva Jean Learns to Drive—as well as three nonfiction books—The Ice Master, Ada Blackjack, and The Aqua-Net Diaries, a memoir about her high school experiences. Although she grew up in Indiana, she now lives with her fiancé and literary cats in Los Angeles, which remains her favorite place to wander. For more information, visit JenniferNiven.com, GermMagazine.com, or find her on Facebook.
About the Narrators

Jorjeana Marie has worked extensively as an actress, comedian, writer, and audiobook narrator. As a stand-up comic, she often opens for renowned talents such as Louie Anderson, Richard Lewis, and Louis C.K.

Robbie Daymond was born in Chesterfield, Missouri. He graduated from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, in 2007 with a master’s degree in acting. Daymond works primarily in theater but has made several forays into television, video games, and film. He currently resides in Hollywood with his longtime girlfriend, Megan Strand.