Extended Audio Sample

Download A Kingdom Besieged Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Kingdom Besieged, by Raymond E. Feist Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,423 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Raymond E. Feist Narrator: John Meagher Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Chaoswar Saga Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

After nearly thirty years and more than two dozen novels, Raymond E. Feist’s Riftwar Cycle has become one of the most iconic, beloved, and enduring sagas in modern fantasy. The Riftwars were epic battles between Good and Evil whose ramifications have echoed through generations. The latest entry in the epic, A Kingdom Besieged, ushers in the most fearsome threat the Kingdom has yet faced: the Chaoswar—a magic apocalypse with cataclysmic results.

Years ago, the Empire of Great Kesh failed in its attempt to conquer Krondor after the Serpentwar, thanks to the bravery, cunning, and magic of the sorcerer Pug and the Conclave of Shadows. Since then, peace has benefitted both nations, and the Kingdom has been free from the threat of another Keshian invasion. Yet now, the dark clouds of war gather again.

From the Far Coast in the west to the frontier with the Eastern Kingdoms, rumors, uncertainty, and political instability are rampant. Spies have gone missing—some were murdered, others have turned traitor. Factions are rising, powerful legions from the Keshian Confederacy have been mobilized, and an attack on the kingdoms of the Isles and Roldem is all but certain.

As the men of the Western Realm begin to mount a defense, Martin conDoin, the middle son of Lord Henry, Duke of Crydee, finds himself leading the charge against the invaders—like his legendary ancestor, Prince Arutha. But Arutha had an entire army at his command. Martin has just a ragtag force comprised of a few old men and some young boys.

As Kesh’s invading hordes once again descend upon the Kingdom, no one is safe—not experienced masters of intrigue Lord James Dasher Jamison and the beguiling and deadly Lady Franciezka; not the brave warrior Knight-Adamant Sandreena and a new generation of loyal yet untested defenders; not even the great Pug himself, the most powerful magician the world of Midkemia has ever known.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Feist has a natural talent for keeping the reader turning pages.”

    Chicago-Sun Times

  • “A promising start to what looks like a strong, dire trilogy of fantastic adventure.” 

    San Diego Union-Tribune

  • “Feist has the universe firmly under his control.”

    Contra Costa Times

  • “Originality and wit a rollicking tale Feist’s narrative skill, ingenuity at creating systems of magic, and eye for plausible militaryscenarios stand him in good stead. His many fans will be pleased.”        


  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jessica | 2/12/2014

    " Now to find the next one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Dawn Brown | 1/7/2014

    " Love, love, love these books! :-) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Rich Carducci | 1/6/2014

    " Excellent read, Feist has come back with a great story. His last two book cycle lacked a bit but he has come back much stronger and the twist at the end was fantastic and has me wanting for the next book. For those criticizing the book because they have not read the others, that is unfair and I recommend reading the other books and you will appreciate the story more. I feel he does just the right amount of retellng to refresh those who have been reading the series for years without delving too far into the past. I must admit I still favor the sections that focus on Pug as he is by far my favorite character, probably because he has been around since the beginning. Followers of the series will not be disappointed, newcomers I recommend starting with the beginning of the series. I really is a fantastic tale. Last comment: why only four stars? The book could have been longer and the story expanded on more. I am not necessarily a fan of 900 page over written epics (a la GRR Martin) but he certainly could have expanded this 350 page entry by about 100 pages or so and added some more richness to the tale. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Bill Peterson | 1/2/2014

    " The ending was a bit anti-climactic. Not his best work, but it was OK "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Raymond E. Feist

Raymond E. Feist is the New York Times and Times of London bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including Magician, Silverthorn, and A Darkness at Sethanon, the three novels comprising the Riftwar Saga, the first series in the Arc that has become known as the Riftwar Cycle. A Southern Californian by birth and a San Diegan by choice, he was educated at the University of California, San Diego, where he received his BA in communication arts with honors in 1977.