Extended Audio Sample

Download Where Dead Men Meet Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Where Dead Men Meet Audiobook, by Mark Mills Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Mark Mills Narrator: David Linski Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2017 ISBN: 9781504797764
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris.

Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity—or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding toward war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago.

From the author of the bestselling The Savage Garden, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies.

Download and start listening now!

c2h5

Quotes & Awards

  • “A grand adventure, in the tradition of Graham Greene…a sweeping race through Europe for the highest possible stakes, in the year before the Anschluss.”

    Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author

  • “A riveting, stylish thriller.”

    Bares&Noble.com

  • “A taut thriller…From the opening scene, even the opening line, we know we’re in the hands of a master storyteller…Highly recommended.”

    Historical Novels Review

  • “Like watching a classic Alfred Hitchcock movie…Smart entertainment, a suspenseful escapade across Europe with a dash of romance and involving characters who insist you come along for the unforgettable ride.”

    Shelf Awareness

  • “Set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, Where Dead Men Meet is a compelling and deftly crafted novel by a master of the genre. Rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies, Where Dead Men Meet is a highly entertaining adventure thriller.”

    Midwest Book Review

  • “A pulse-pounding thriller of the first order…Believable characters, a richly detailed historical setting, and a story that keeps the reader’s attention glued until the final page.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Like Alan Furst, Mills has a sure hand with historical thrillers that mix intrigue, setting, and romance, and, after a five-year absence, it’s great to have him back.”

    Booklist

  • “Dramatic and intriguing.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Australian-born reader Linski…[provides] a brisk narration that maintains its energy and compulsive pacing throughout. His Luke seems initially perplexed by his sudden propulsion into an unfamiliar and very dangerous world, but before long there’s strength and self-confidence in his voice that lets listeners glide through this story of international intrigue.”

    Publishers Weekly (audio review)

  • “A powerhouse of a novel, throwing sparks and hissing steam as it traverses the fractious landscape of prewar Europe in the company of vivid and memorable characters.”

    Dan Fesperman, award-winning author of The Letter Writer

  • “The best novel I read this year. Where Dead Men Meet is an exhilarating and hair-raising charge through prewar Europe, with danger at every stunningly beautiful turn. Mills’ descriptions of Paris, Venice, and Zurich are filled with both elegance and lurking menace. Mark Mills is Alan Furst with afterburners, and this book is a powerful tale of revenge, love, and self-discovery, all packed into an utterly compelling historical thriller.”

    Mark Pryor, author of The Paris Librarian

  • “This book hit a lot of the right buttons for me…I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good spy novel with a little pre-WWII intrigue thrown in.”

    Big Bald Books

  • An Audible Pick of Top Mystery of the Week
  • A Strand Magazine Pick of top 12 mysteries of 2017
  • A Barnes & Noble Pick of Staff Favorites for 2017
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Mark Mills is a screenwriter and the author of The Savage Garden and Amagansett. His first novel, Amagansett, was published in a dozen countries and received the British Crime Writers’ Association John Creasy Memorial Dagger Award. A graduate of Cambridge University, he lives in Oxford with his wife and their two children.

About the Narrator

David Linski (a.k.a. David Ligudzinski and David Atlas) is a graduate of the prestigious National Institute of Dramatic Art in Sydney, Australia. He has numerous voice-over credits, an extensive theatrical résumé, and has starred in short and feature films both in the United States and Australia.