Extended Audio Sample

Download Void Star Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Void Star Audiobook, by Zachary Mason Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Zachary Mason Narrator: Cassandra Campbell, Tristan Morris, Lloyd James, Michael Braun Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2017 ISBN: 9781504792707
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Not far in the future, the seas have risen and the central latitudes are emptying. But it’s still a good time to be rich in San Francisco, where weapons-drones patrol the skies to keep out the multitudinous poor.

Irina isn’t rich, not quite, but she does have an artificial memory that gives her perfect recall and lets her act as a medium between her various employers and their AIs, which are complex to the point of opacity. It’s a good gig, paying enough for the annual visits to the Mayo Clinic that keep her from aging.

Kern has no such access; he’s one of the many refugees in the sprawling drone-built favelas on the city’s periphery, where he lives like a monk, training relentlessly in martial arts, scraping by as a thief and an enforcer.

Thales is from a different world entirely?the mathematically inclined scion of a Brazilian political clan, he’s fled to LA after the attack that left him crippled and his father dead.

A ragged stranger accosts Thales and demands to know how much he can remember. Kern flees for his life after robbing the wrong mark. Irina finds a secret in the reflection of a laptop’s screen in her employer’s eyeglasses. None are safe as they’re pushed together by subtle forces that stay just out of sight.

Vivid, tumultuous, and propulsive, Void Star is Zachary Mason’s mind-bending follow-up to his critically acclaimed novel, The Lost Books of the Odyssey.

Download and start listening now!

c2pi

Quotes & Awards

  • “Extraordinary…The hallucinatory beauty of the prose is matched only by the book’s velocity and mystery.”

    Emily St. John Mandel, National Book Award finalist

  • “A propulsive adventure story…fascinating characters attempting to survive in a transformed yet strangely familiar world, the only thing that isn’t eerily plausible is just how thrilling this adventure of the artificial mind is.”

    BuzzFeed

  • “A complex and spellbinding tale of a future where self-preservation, in every sense of the word, is a victory.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “A vivid story, complete with a chilling and satisfying ending.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Readers who enjoy Cormac McCarthy and China Mieville but wished they had had more influence from Neal Stephenson might find this book is just what they’re looking for.”

    Booklist

  • “This is the best and most beautiful book about computers since Neuromancer.”

    Michael Clune, author of Gamelife: A Memoir

  • An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick for April 2017
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Zachary Mason

Zachary Mason is the author of the New York Times bestselling novel The Lost Books of the Odyssey. He lives in California.

About the Narrators

Cassandra Campbell, Audie Award–nominated narrator and winner of several Earphones Awards, has performed in regional theaters across the country and in several off-Broadway shows at the Public Theater and the Mint Theater. In addition to narrating audiobooks, acting, and directing, she is a commercial and documentary voice-over artist.

Tristan Morris hails from Seattle, Washington, and currently lives in Denver, Colorado. He received his MFA in acting from the New School for Drama in New York City after studying theater and philosophy at Pacific Lutheran University. His work as a voice actor began in 2011 after training with master teachers Scott Brick, Pat Fraley, and Nancy Wolfson. Tristan works in New York City and Denver creating new theatrical works. He is the winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award.

Lloyd James (a.k.a. Sean Pratt) has been narrating since 1996 and has recorded over six hundred audiobooks. He is a seven-time winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award and has twice been a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award. His critically acclaimed performances include Elvis in the Morning by William F. Buckley Jr. and Searching for Bobby Fischer by Fred Waitzkin, among others.