Extended Audio Sample

Download Sleeping Giants Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Sleeping Giants, by Sylvain Neuvel Click for printable size audiobook cover
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Sylvain Neuvel Narrator: A Full Cast Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

Download and start listening now!

bp6c

Quotes & Awards

  • Sleeping Giants is a luminous conspiracy yarn that shoots for (and lands among) the stars.”

    Pierce Brown, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Not only is Sleeping Giants one of the most promising series kickoffs in recent memory, it’s a smart demonstration of how science fiction can honor its traditions and reverse-engineer them at the same time.”

    NPR

  • “Neuvel weaves a complex tapestry with ancient machinery buried in the Earth, shadow governments, and geopolitical conflicts. But the most surprising thing about the book may just be how compelling the central characters are in the midst of these larger-than-life concepts.”

    Chicago Review of Books

  • “This stellar debut novel…masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller, and apocalyptic fiction…A page-turner of the highest order.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “The story’s format effectively builds suspense using debriefings and news articles after the fact. Great characters such as prickly pilot Kara Resnik keep the tale grounded, and readers gradually get a picture, complete with the anonymous interviewer as he pulls strings to keep the project afloat and world tensions under control. A remarkable debut.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “This inventively told and intricately plotted story will set your imagination spinning.”

    BookPage

  • “Neuvel develops several interesting characters, particularly Franklin and cranky pilot Kara Resnik. Even the anonymous interviewer, by turns enigmatic and supportive, holds the reader’s attention.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Each performance is expertly crafted and distinct in this engrossing genre-crossing debut…The full cast makes the interview sections easy to follow and gives them a feeling of genuine spontaneity. With a sense of eavesdropping on real events, listeners will be encouraged to piece together the puzzle at the heart of engaging novel.”

    AudioFile

  • A BookPage Top Pick for May 2016
  • A Library Journal Editor’s Pick of the Month for Debut Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Peter | 7/1/2016

    " Authors first books can always be a bit tricky and this book isn't close to perfect, the characters felt a bit flat and the arch felt rushed at times but I still really enjoyed it and will be picking up its sequel the second it comes out. The personal log style story telling might not be for everyone but it also helps explain some of the lack of character depth. The overall plot seems very cool and unique and I really can't wait to see where Neuvel takes it. In the end anyone who likes scifi will hopefully enjoy this, although it might be easier to recommend once the second book is out. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations